We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the Inn is a vacation in itself”
Review of The Inn at Hudson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Hudson
Ranked #7 of 16 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
“the Inn is a vacation in itself”
Reviewed 2 July 2009

My partner and I visit friends in Hudson several times a year, and occasionally stay with them. More often, though, we book a room with Dini and Windle, who at this point feel more like friends than innkeepers. Even if we had no other reason to visit the area, we would enjoy a stay at the Inn at Hudson as a relaxing getaway. Besides feeling pampered by the truly luxurious accomodations--a bed more comfortable than our own at home, a plant-filled solarium straight out of The Addams Family, a living room/library/music room filled with intriguing curios and photographs, and truly the loveliest dining room I've ever encountered in a b&b--we've come to trust our hosts' tips on the most interesting events to catch in town. And since the Inn is only a couple blocks from Warren Street (ie Main St.), it's easy to check out whatever happens to be happening. Hudson is a surprising town, and a stay at the Inn is one of the best ways to enjoy it.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaVelez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
83
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

On my way up from Manhattan, I received a text message from a colleague who had already arrived at The Inn at Hudson, which read: "I want to see your face when you arrive at the hotel. It is the haunted house of Hudson. I swear!" I'm not sure whether there are actually any ghosts, but there are certainly some spooky puppets. The house itself is interesting architecturally, but with all the dark wood, there's something of a Gothic-y, English castle feel to it. It seems like it's still a little bit of a work in progress and I would say that it's definitely a place for those looking for something a little quirky rather than anyone who wants sleek perfection. The radiator in my bathroom, for instance, had paint peeling off and part of one wall in the dressing room was missing! On the other hand, the bed was really comfortable and the Internet connection very swift. The owners Windle and Dini are really friendly and very upfront. Dini introduced himself at breakfast... and as soon as he'd told me his name, he immediately informed me that he is a drag queen and regaled me with a photo of himself in full feminine regalia. There are also some photos of him looking rather like a mermaid in one of the rooms, which Windle took great pleasure in pointing out. Those used to a bit of bohemia will certainly take to the couple (they certainly seem to have had an interesting past). Still, I couldn't help wondering what an unsuspecting, rather conservative couple would make of the place. I think that they'd probably freak out and then quickly check out. Still, before they do so, they should at least taste one of Dini's breakfasts... which are really excellent.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ianp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windledini, Owner at The Inn at Hudson, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
I was in a fine antique store in Florida when a very glitzy woman came in and said " I like the older style but I don't want anything used" the man behind the counter kept a straight face and answered I'm sorry all of this furniture is used. At the Inn at Hudson our rooms are huge , bright and do have an occasional antique but not at all stuffy. Our gigantic (1905) entrance hall is paneled in American Chestnut and lit by a huge Tiffany sky light. Most people think it''s magnificent but you thought it was dark. As they say "it takes all kinds" Obviously you are more of a Holiday Inn traveler.
You forgot to mention you paid 1/2 price for your room because we were installing the climate controll system at the time. The pink room is now totally renovated and quite popular with many repeat guests. PS I'm sorry you were afraid of our puppets but I'm glad you enjoyed the breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Inn at Hudson. All the rooms are beautiful. It's a great place to relax and let the time pass during the Winter months - lounging in the library, or in front of the fireplace in your room. Dini was the perfect host, cooking a delicious breakfast each morning. They really make you feel like its your home while you are there.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank msnnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

On very short notice, I booked a room at the Inn at Hudson on a Tuesday night. What a lucky accident!!! This place is FABULOUS - from the first reservation phone call to check out. The house and rooms are unique, spectacular, comfortable, spacious and old-world elegant. I could have spent hours in each room, starting with the foyer. The details of the house, the intricate moldings, plasterwork, ceilings and stained glass windows are a treat for the eye and the mind. Each room (public areas and bedrooms) has its own character and layered details which make wandering around and just "looking" such a pleasure. This is a house with history, elegance and depth, chock full of surprises, unique collections, great books, etc. All of this is beautifully restored and cared for by the two exceptional owners and hosts, Dini and Wendill, who have a story and past as richly layered as the Inn. I had a choice of any of the rooms, 3 with working gas fireplaces, big comfortable beds, warm lighting, puffy blankets - what more could anyone ask? On top of all that, Dini offered several incredible breakfast options; all of them enticing but the "croissant french toast with peach schnapps" was just amazing. Even the breakfast place setting in that gorgeous dining room was perfection - beautiful china, great coffee, NY Times, books - there was absolutely nothing wrong with this picture!! I am trying to think of excuses to play hooky and get back to Hudson sooner rather than later, The Inn at Hudson is the first and only place I would call, if they are booked, I would wait until another day when I could get in - it was a great experience, and I recommend it highly to anyone who wants to get away to something special, unique, gracious and simply beautiful!

  • Liked — character of the Inn, decor, hosts
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EGI-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

Spent a night in this wonderful B&B run by two friendly ex rockers. Rooms were clean and the breakfast was unique and lovely. We were made very welcome and given lots of useful tips on places to go. Hudson was quite nice to wander around. Found a tea shop - the first place we'd found in the US which has 'real' tea :)

Much recommended B&B.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsManda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2007

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend at this very unique B&B. A Jacobean mansion dripping with historic detail (stained glass, carved wood, elaborate plaster ceilings) and sumptuous gardens, it's also home to two wonderful guys, Deanie and Wendell, who are as warm and informal as their home is imposing. One's a former drag queen and both were members of a pop band, "Human Sexual Response." (Disapprove? Hudson might not be your destination of choice.) There's also a friendly, small dog, Psyche, in residence.

Our room, the pink room, had character and was very comfortable but not the sumptuous, polished luxury you'd find in a very "twee" inn like The Mayflower in Connecticut or some other marble-bath-and-Frette-linens kind of place. The home also shows evidence of renovation work in progress so if plaster washers in the ceiling are going to ruin your mood, look elsewhere. Breakfast was cooked to order and was unbelievably good--fried tomatoes with poached egg and fried herb "chips" fresh from the garden. Go and enjoy!

Helpful?
5 Thank prettymongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
0.6 mi away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hudson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
14.7 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.4 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#2 of 16 in Hudson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Stewart House
Stewart House
#1 of 1 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
7.2 mi away
1805 House B & B
1805 House B & B
#1 of 2 in Claverack
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Hudson

Property: The Inn at Hudson
Address: 317 Allen St, Hudson, NY 12534-2438
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at Hudson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and newly refurbished, this boutique Inn is adding luxury features as well as continuing the tradition of opulence, elegance and period charm established by previous owners Dini Lamott and Windle Davis. The Inn at Hudson is centrally located in the most elegant and historic neighborhood of Hudson. The Inn is within easy walking distance of several excellent restaurants, as well as Warren Street's renowned stretch of shops and landmark civic buildings. The Inn At Hudson offers five very large bright rooms each with private bath, A/C, Wifi and flat-screen TV. The room rate includes a gourmet breakfast. Massage services are available and need to be booked in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at Hudson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Hudson Hotel Hudson
The Inn At Hudson New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing