We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant experience”
Review of St. Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hudson
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed at St.Charles with family this summer. I would recommend it to other visitors due to, its central location, spick and span rooms, historic importance, professional and friendly staff. The hotel offers all basic amenities to make your stay comfortable. The front desk personnel was very helpful in giving directions and suggestions to hot spots in town.

Room Tip: depends on personal preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rachel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    50
    52
    24
    26
See reviews for
42
60
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at this location as a last minute option while visiting hudson on a friday night. The hotel is in the center of hudson giving you walking access to major restaurants and antique shops. The staff was nice and accommodating at chaeck in as well as at check out. Though we did have issues with noise due to some party going on in the hotel that night but the management handled it well and we did get a good mightvsleep on a comfortable bed and a nice complimaentary breakfast before we left.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 365adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We arrived at the hotel with some trepidation, as some previous reviews were not flattering. I can assure you that from the moment we entered the hotel, my husband and I were very pleased. The woman at the front desk was warm, gracious and very helpful in orienting us to Hudson. Our room was spotless, and a good size. The bed very sturdy and comfortable. The bathroom and dressing area excellent- great shower and heated light in the shower. We were able to explore Hudson on foot, as the hotel is located within the town, with lots of wonderful restaurants and cafes close by. Not only were we pleased with our accommodations, but the hotel rate was below the average rate of a hotel or bed and breakfast in the town of Hudson.

Room Tip: We did not request any particular room and cannot offer any advice .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 947Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Looks on outside need some work, older building downtown, rooms are very nice.. negotiating prices face to face.. $79 plus tax.. great food and pubs all around.. off of the town square. NO LARGE VECHICLE PARKING. Suv and full size vans and smaller.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Recently stayed at the St. Charles. This was my first time staying at this hotel. It is located in the upper main area of Hudson but close to everything. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and very clean. It is true this is an older establishment but is a great place to stay. I have stayed at various B & B's in Hudson but typically you have to pre pay and stay for two nights. Booking at this hotel allows for the possibility of cancellations when plans change. I will definitely make this fine establishment my first Hudson choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AML848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Located in an older building right off of Warren St. (the town's main st.) the hotel was comfortable and clean. The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful. I would stay there again, mostly as the price was reasonable and location was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dfonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I had to attend a wedding in Columbia county about eight miles from Hudson. Since I live several hours away, I started looking for a place to stay for Saturday night. There is not much to choose from in the area, unless of course you want to spend big bucks for a bed and breakfast. They looked amazing online, but they were not an option.(Especially for one night). So I went to tripadvisor, which I totally trust and starting looking at the reviews for the St. Charles. It was the only hotel within twenty miles of the wedding. The reviews for the most part, did state clean and comfortable. I figured for one night I'd book it. When we arrived, my husband thought I was joking about staying in 'this place". It really is very rundown, but once inside it was okay. It definitely is a work in progress. Our room was decent, clean and updated. However, the king size bed was very hard. We both like firm, but this was uncomfortable. Like I said it was only for one night, it served our purpose. They did have a continental breakfast setup, which was fairly standard. Coffee was good, fresh little danishes, cereal, etc. The staff was very nice, The overall area near the hotel is very impoverished. Other than Warren St., which houses some antique stores and restaurants, there are so many boarded up buildings and abandoned properties. It's really not a place to visit unless you have business or in our case, a wedding to go to.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xraytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
10.0 mi away
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
241 reviews
14.8 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
165 reviews
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Coxsackie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#2 of 16 in Hudson
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Hudson
The Inn at Hudson
#7 of 16 in Hudson
132 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#6 of 16 in Hudson
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Charles Hotel

Property: St. Charles Hotel
Address: 16 - 18 Park Place, Hudson, NY 12534-2532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Charles Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free continental breakfast, free onsite parking, free Wi-Fi, fitness center, meeting room, ballroom, Victorian ceilings, antiques, new lobby with fireplaces. All rooms come with attached bathroom, 32 + " flat screen TV, AC/heat, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and board. 24 Hour front desk staff, Located in the center of the town by Warren Street.beautiful view of park. More amenities available at front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Charles Hotel Hudson, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing