We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hudson
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Adequate.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night to see a band perform at Club Helsinki. Since we were only planning to sleep at the St. Charles Hotel, it met our needs. Nothing fancy, but decent, and definitely unique, just like Hudson. It was quiet, clean, and comfortable. Would stay here again if I ever get back to town. The proximity to Warren Street is ideal and the view of the park is charming.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chick127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    50
    49
    23
    26
See reviews for
41
57
19
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

On a recent visit to Hudson, my 91 year old mom and I were welcomed with genuine kindness and assistance from the staff at the St. Charles Hotel in Hudson, NY. Coming from Oswego, NY on long, slow, slushy, foul winter weather night on the NYS Thruway. We arrived at 11:30 pm that evening, about 3 hours behind schedule. No matter, nas weary as we were, the evening staff greeted us at the door with welcome smiles and much needed assistance. All without being asked. My mom was seated in warmth and comfort. She was reassured by the staff. This is very important to me,. My mom has dimentia. She is a native Hudsonian, having grown up there in the 1920's. She felt comfortable, most at ease and most important, at home! Afterall, the City Park with it's old fountain and peacefulness, is located directly in front of the St. Charles. We were assisted to our room by a patient staff member. Settled in a clean room, one is always assured a quiet, restful sleep at the St. Charles. Continental breakfast in the clean, vintage, tin-ceiled dining area is good and simple....just like old Hudson!

Just so you know, this NOT a place where fleets of staff, clad in matching polyester outfits are running around at full-bore, stressing out guests and themselves alike. Genuine smiles and caring. A uniqueness all its own....It comes from the heart, not some corporate training manual. A jewel in the world of sameness, the St. Charless Hotel is located in the safe haven of uptown Hudson. We look forward to our next visit to Hudson. We will be staying at the St. Charles Hotel. You should too!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I will defiantly be staying at the St.Charles again the staff are very friendly and they went above and beyond to help me and to assist me in anyway possible.The rooms were very clean and the free breakfast is a plus I really enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Star2925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Me and my wife stayed here with our 2-year old for a weekend getaway. It's inexpensive and gets the job done but nothing more. There are a couple of minor quirks to be aware of.

Regarding location the hotel is not on but is a stone's throw from Warren St., which seems to be the main drag of downtown Hudson, NY and where we hung out for most of the weekend. It's not quite centrally located but it's in a decent spot in terms of being walking distance to a few of the many nice restaurants and shops that line the length of Warren St. I saw a couple of comments saying the neighborhood is run down but to me it looked okay. It certainly didn't look much worse than the other parts of Hudson, NY we saw.

Regarding the room there wasn't really anything to complain about as far as amenities go. While on the small side for 2 adults and 1 child it was roomy enough. Furniture was new-ish looking and our king bed was comfortable. For TV you get about 50-60 channels of basic cable, though the TV itself was a 21" CRT that looked like it was made some time in the late 90s. Bathroom was standard, again nothing to complain about. Wi-fi is included and had acceptable speeds, however at around the same time for 2 of the 3 nights it went down for about 5-10 minutes.

There's ample parking at the hotel.

About those quirks:
(1) As I mentioned we had our 2-year old who we still mainly give homemade food. We assumed most hotels had small fridges in their rooms. Big mistake as ours didn't. The clerk said there were only a few in the whole hotel and were given on a first come first serve basis. This could've been a big deal but thankfully she looked around and found one for us and brought it to our room. If you're going to need a fridge be sure to specify that when you reserve a room.
(2) The extent of maid service was to give us new towels daily and nothing more. We didn't really need our towels replaced daily but I would've appreciated a little cleanup and getting our bed made, which didn't happen. While this isn't a big deal I did find it weird as it's something I expect when staying in hotels big or small.

Overall if all you need is a place to stay this isn't a terrible choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I am a regular guest/user of the ballroom facility of the hotel. It is well managed, with a friendly, cheerful and efficient staff. The common areas are clean and well maintained. It is a pleasure to walk through the door because of the welcoming atmosphere at the front desk. Our clients have remarked on the friendly, inviting atmosphere of the facility.

Many friends have stayed at the St. Charles when visiting. For those without cars, Amtrak's riverside train station is just 5 minutes away by taxi. If one feels like strolling from the station, it is a short walk on treelined streets with beautiful homes in a multitude of architectural styles. For those that drive, hotel parking is ample and convenient. All guests have said that the rooms are clean and comfortable and available at a reasonable rate. The hotel is centrally located within the city of Hudson, with a view of the park. Step out the door and find art galleries, antique and home design stores, vintage jewelry & clothing, restaurants, cafes, bistros, bars and entertainment, all within walking distance of the great little hotel! I highly recommend a stay at the St. Charles

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballroomguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We don't usually travel with our two small dogs, but since this hotel took pets, we hoped for the best. The room was extremely clean and quite large. The king size bed was impeccable and we were comfortable. We were a little challenged in the morning because there was not enough hot water, but luckily I had taken a nice hot bath the night before. That did not upset us though because we were pleased with the the level of cleanliness overall. For a place that takes dogs, we did not feel like we were in a second tier room at all. Of course, it's all price relative. The room was reasonably priced, our dog's stay was cheap, and we got our money's worth. We would stay again if our dogs come with us.

Room Tip: Confirm the hot water situation before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyMark2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have used the hotel for about 4 years to conduct NY State training classes and have found
the location and services excellent. Our meeting room is fully prepared when we arrive and
necessary video aids are provided by the hotel. Beverages are provided and the staff has been
found to be professional and ready to meet our needs on request. On occasion when a two day class is presented our students have used the hotel for lodging - all have been happy with their
stay and services provided - thanks to Ricky and Chris, hotel staff members, for their help
and excellent service.
TFN Security Guard Training

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfn708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
10.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Baltimore Inn
BEST WESTERN New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
14.8 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Coxsackie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 16 in Hudson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hudson City Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Hudson
The Inn at Hudson
#7 of 16 in Hudson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Charles Hotel

Property: St. Charles Hotel
Address: 16 - 18 Park Place, Hudson, NY 12534-2532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Charles Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free continental breakfast, free onsite parking, free Wi-Fi, fitness center, meeting room, ballroom, Victorian ceilings, antiques, new lobby with fireplaces. All rooms come with attached bathroom, 32 + " flat screen TV, AC/heat, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and board. 24 Hour front desk staff, Located in the center of the town by Warren Street.beautiful view of park. More amenities available at front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your St. Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Charles Hotel Hudson, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing