We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Property....rude guests” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaatskill Mountain Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hunter
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kaatskill Mountain Club
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Hunter
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Property....rude guests”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This was my second stay up at Hunter Mountain for skiing/snowboarding. Last year I stayed w/ 2 other fathers and daughters in one of the condo's. That was great. This year my wife, daughter and I did a two night stay in the hotel...the Kaatskill Mountain Club. It was during Christmas/holiday break (maybe THIS was a mistake). The property itself is very nice. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean and inviting. Nice size suite w/ kitchen, etc. What irked me most on this trip was the behavior of other guests and their kids. Kids were allowed to run rampant in the halls...up and down the elevators, etc. without supervision. When I tried to use the fitness center a couple of times, there were kids....YOUNG kids in there playing on the equipment in their wet bathing suits, etc even though the sign says that one must be over 16 OR accompanied by an adult. Also unfortunate is that the fitness center is an access way to the pool/jacuzzi, etc. There was a constant stream of wet adults/kids, etc. passing through the area. The floor was soaking wet. I was also appalled to find wet towels strewn all over the place near the pool, jacuzzi, etc when there is a used towel drop-off conveniently located near the door. Crushed beer cans were also routinely around the hot tub. COme on folks....throw away your OWN trash. I think the staff made an effort to keep things clean for everything was picked up the next day...I just think it's a shame that some folks lose their respect for others when they're on THEIR break.

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th floor/top floor to avoid a noisy/loud guest on top of you. Like other's have me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drewpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    62
    32
    19
    33
See reviews for
90
60
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Spent long weekend at resort in late November. Had a really nice time. Agree with others that noise could be a problem if completely filled but we were on the top floor at the end of the hall so pretty quiet. The outdoor pool is amazing. Nothing better than being able to swim in warm pool outdoors in the winter. They also have 2 hot tubs but one was not working. That is the only complaint- things tend to break and not get fixed right away. We had suite and it was great having access to a full kitchen and separate living room area. It also had a nice balcony which would be great in warmer weather. Will definitely come back in summer.

Room Tip: get suite- much more room and nice fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psgriswold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Saddle River NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Place looks wonderful from the outside and convenient to Hunter for sure. Unfortunately the construction may have been done on a shoestring budget. Every sound travels through the floors and walls. I stayed with 2 young kids and the music from the first floor (we were on 3rd floor) was reverberating to our floor as if it were in our room. Their quiet policy begins at 11pm so don't expect them to attempt to do anything until then. Even after 11 when I complained, nothing happened. Young kids working the front desk are ill equipped to make decisions.

Upon calling to let them know our stay was frustrating to say the least, the manager's response was that they said they offered us tickets to the festival and a late checkout - which never happened.

For the life of me I cannot understand why a hotel would not make any attempt to please a dissatisfied guest.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel that is responsive to guests needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NJ_Greeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hunter hotels

Mt. Laurel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were here for a wedding in September. We found the lodge clean, spacious & nice accommodations. I was concerned that we would not have access to our room prior to the wedding as check-in was at 4:00 and the wedding ceremony was at 4:00. We arrived around 3:00 p.m. and was able to do a fast change in the room but didn't have time to shower, make-up, etc. which had to be done earlier. We did not get to take advantage of any facilities the Lodge had to offer. The room rate was a bit expensive especially off season. Buffet breakfast was average, wish we could have ordered eggs off of a menu so they were freshly made. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattlind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I were first time visitors attending a friends Wedding. The room was clean with a great view. The room did lack extra pillows and a place to set down your luggage. We placed our suitcases on chairs in living room. The Wedding was held at the catering hall. The food and service was very good and the staff was friendly. The view from the Summit was amazing what a great place to hold the Wedding ceremony. The chair lift was a challenge in dresses and a suit due to a stiff breeze. The staff recommended comfortable shoes which was key. My wife and I for the most part enjoyed the visit. We really did not have time to check out all the Facilities. I thought it was a little expensive considering we were attending a wedding onsite. I expected to get a special rate as has been the case with events we have attended out of state.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The heated pool and hot tub were highlights, and we were able to use these facilities after checking out the next day, which was really nice considering checkout was early at 11am, and we had many hours to kill before an evening wedding in the area. We were also able to shower and change in the pool locker rooms, but this was a challenge without getting our wedding clothes wet in the small space.

We were a bit disappointed that the bar closed so early, so we didn't have a chance for an evening drink. Though breakfast was better than average, and the staff was very friendly. Everything else was average - nothing to rave or complain about. Overall, I would say the price was a bit high, but they were booked solid with a number of weddings and a festival in town, so perhaps that was based more on supply/demand in the area. You probably won't be disappointed here, but don't expect to be "wowed" either. Definitely go for a swim if you can!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I throughly enjoyed our stay here, the rooms are nice and clean, the heated pool is a nice bonus, and the restaurant has great food. Must try the Crab Cake! The only weird thing, was that there was no microwave in the rooms, although we were in a suite with a kitchen. The proximity to the slopes is so convenient, and we got to take the Skywalk up to the top of the mountain for some amazing views!
Kaatskill Mountain Club... We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunter
6.4 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
10.6 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
6.0 mi away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#3 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
6.9 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 10 in Windham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaatskill Mountain Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaatskill Mountain Club

Property: Kaatskill Mountain Club
Address: 7740 Main Street, Hunter, NY 12442
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hunter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Hunter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaatskill Mountain Club 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Following the rustic elegance so prevalent in the grand Catskill mountain lodges being constructed in many of the top resorts nationwide, the Kaatskill Mountain Club is set to pamper guests with luxurious lodging accommodations, exceptional services and a full array of four-season mountain amenities. The Kaatskill Mountain Club is the obvious choice when only the best will do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kaatskill Mountain Club Hotel Hunter
Kaatskill Mountain Hotel
Kaatskill Mountain Hunter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing