We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place for a friends retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairlawn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairlawn Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hunter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
bangor, pa
1 review
“A great place for a friends retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

our 25 year walker reunion was spectular at the fairlawn. starting with a morning walk followed by one of chuck's magnificent breakfasts. daily side trips to hyde park and the culinary institute were inrertesting and informative.our nightime sing along at the firepit brought back memories of former get togethers. the inn provided a marvelous backdrop for reacquaintances of friends from florida, arizona, and pennsylvania. generous chuck GAVE me a berry bowl i'd admired uponarrival. i'd highly recommend the fairlawn for your next reunion.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler_bangor12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    27
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
29
105
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Schnecksville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Loved this place. Rooms were clean and nicely maintained. Chuck, the owner, was most helpful and provided lots of suggestions about area attractions and dining. The provided breakfast is not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hahns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We love the Fairlawn Inn and feel like Chuck is family. He has a wicked sense of humor and I start laughing and feel very at home on arrival. He is environmental in nature and will ask that you respect that. No problem there!! He offers a wonderful atmosphere, privacy and a beautiful place to relax. We have stayed there twice and had a great experience both times. The breakfast is to die for and I must say, it was the best I ever had! The people staying there all began talking as if we were all old friends. I have traveled all over the world, and this is still one of my favorites. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Talk to Chuck and explain what type of stay desir.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amber5151d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

For the past five years, friends/family and I have stayed at the Fairlawn for four nights and three days during Mountain Jam. The inn is absolutely lovely and the innkeeper, Chuck, couldn't be more accommodating.

Each year, we stay in the Opal Room, which is a large room in the turret of the main house with a claw-footed bathtub . (I recommend it!) The dining room and sitting rooms (one with a pool table) are conducive to relaxation and mingling with fellow guests.

Each year, we look forward to Chuck's sumptuous and delectable breakfasts. He goes out of his way to keep all of his guests happy and comfortable, even keeping us updated with weather reports for the mountain. In the evenings, the patio is always available for conversation around a hand-sculpted fire pit.

If you are planning on being in the Hunter area, don't miss the opportunity to stay at the Fairlawn.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldhippiechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

This is the first B&B I've stayed at, so I feel like it would be wrong to give it 5 stars when I have nothing to compare against.

My wife decided to "surprise" me with a weekend in the Catskill's but, not knowing the area, booked a reservation at Acra Manor. We checked in at Acra Manor (NOT the Fairlawn) and it was such a dump that we didn't even want to stay there and were willing to risk the possibility of losing a $100 deposit just to get out of there, but I digress.

My wife called around to see if we could find a room elsewhere last minute, and one of the B&Bs recommended the Fairlawn. Chuck the Innkeeper took us in on extremely short notice and provided us with directions. We even had two small dogs with us (fairly quiet ones, of course) and he didn't turn us away.

Upon arriving, Chuck gave us a quick tour of the place with some basic rules and tips for things like not locking yourself out of your room, where snacks/sodas were, and so on. We were both very happy to be at a nice and clean place with character in a quaint and relaxing area with some things to do compared to where we had just come from!

Breakfast is 8 - 9am. I usually sleep in late on vacation until around 9am but the breakfast was worth waking up for. We were nearly late for breakfast both mornings, showing up at maybe 8:45am and 8:50am and I was expecting that we might be turned away for the 8:50am "late" appearance, but we were welcomed and served a delightful breakfast both times. My wife mentioned her love of the apple butter that was used one morning, and Chuck the Innkeeper remembered and provided her with a gift of the apple butter he uses when we checked out. We did leave a tip for the cleaning/staff, but felt a little awkward NOT leaving a tip for Chuck during breakfast because it was so good.... a Google search claims you're not supposed to tip B&B owners and many even have a "no-tipping policy"? Again, not familiar with B&Bs but Chuck could probably have something that says "Gratuities NOT Required but Appreciated" and make an extra $5 per couple each morning if that doesn't violate some law of B&Bs. :)

Chuck also gave us tips on where to go, eat, etc. that worked out well.

One night, Chuck shared with us some rather hilarious stories about some of his experiences in the business over pizza. Based on some of those stories, I think there is a need for him to run the risk of coming off as a bit strident to some of the guests now and then! I think some people don't know the difference between "being scolded like a child" and just being asked to do something that is, mind you, a fairly reasonable request. One morning we did leave the lights on in our room (this used to be a terrible pet peeve of mine and I still usually walk around the house turning off lights that my wife leaves on) and we were just sitting outside with the dogs at our feet on the relaxing porch area and Chuck asked if we minded turning off the lights if we're not using them. This is quite a reasonable request, and I was happy to oblige. You are paying and deserve all the excellent things that are provided, but at the same time there should be some level of respect and "I'm a guest in someone else's home" mentality--at least at some level.

Chuck also seems very committed to being "Green". Wireless internet was also available without additional charges.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Our weekend getaway was one of the most relaxing in many years. The Innkeeper was present upon arrival and prepared with snacks and a glass of wine that was much needed after the drive up the mountain. We were given a tour of the main house guest areas and the menu and timetable was explained in full. Any questions in regard to our stay or the house in general were answered in a well-informed and entertaining manner. The beautiful Victorian Lady was decked out in ornate designs and original artworks ranging from Tiffany lamps to signed masters as well as local Catskill artists. It was apparent from the moment we arrived that each piece of furniture and artwork had been chosen with care and an for design. The bedrooms were all different in style and we were indulged in a tour prior to other guests arrivals. The brightest was the Gazebo room and was very gaily decorated, while the largest would sleep three if needed. From the period style billiards table to the ornate carved bar, the house exuded comfort from the moment we arrived until we dallied our leave-taking. The Innkeeper was charming and full of stories about the decor as well as his delicious breakfast recipes. He was extremely knowledgeable about the culture of the Catskills as well as the best times of the year to visit and best hiking and cultural events going on. We spent both evenings enjoying the fire and glasses of wine on the beautifully landscaped patio. All the guests mingled well and there was such a sense of camaraderie brought about by the attentiveness of the Innkeeper. We look forward to returning and making this a yearly event.

Room Tip: Quietest: Gazebo room. All were beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dramamama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walden, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

My husband and I have stayed with Chuck at the Fairlawn Inn for three years in a row during the TAP NY Festival. After our first stay there, my husband and I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. The host is gracious and offers a multitude of ammenities. He's a wonderful cook, making an amazing array of breakfast choices, choosing just one of them each morning could have been the most taxing part of our stay each day. Chuck is ever attentive to his guests needs, even pointing out an article in the local paper he thought would interest our 'homebrewing' husbands. In knowing his guests interests, he was able to steer us to some local places we all absolutely enjoyed visiting. It's a beautiful and scenic area, a great place to visit, with many interesting antique stores and craft shops within walking distance of the inn. If you're looking for a great place to stay in the Hunter Mountain area, this is THE place to book.

Room Tip: We love the room with the whirlpool tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToriGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunter
1.1 mi away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#5 of 6 in Hunter
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#1 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
11.0 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#2 of 6 in Windham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.6 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
5.6 mi away
Xenia Resort
Xenia Resort
#3 of 6 in Hunter
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawn Inn

Property: Fairlawn Inn
Address: 7872 Main Street, PO Box 182, Hunter, NY 12442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hunter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hunter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairlawn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1904 fully restored and updated Victorian Mansion. Nine bedroom B&B all with private baths, free WIFI queen sized beds, Flat Screen TV's with DVD players, includes a full cooked to order breakfast. Centrally located in the Catskills with many attractions, within walking distance to Hunter Mountain a four season Ski Resort. Newest attraction is the Zip line adventure, the tallest and longest in North America. Adjacent to the Hudson Valley and many activities too numerous to mention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Fairlawn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairlawn Hotel Hunter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing