We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brides Review”
Review of Fairlawn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairlawn Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hunter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Brides Review”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

If you are looking for a beautiful location, with a wonderful staff, who will meet your every expectation you have come to the right place, The Fairlawn was perfect venue for us.

August 18th we had the pleasure of having our wedding at the Fairlawn Inn. The Fairlawn was the perfect location for our event. We rented the entire Inn from Friday through Sunday, making it a wedding weekend. When we arrived the Inn was warm and inviting, the grounds were immaculately decorated for us.

Friday night Chuck, the Inn Keeper and his staff prepared a delicious rehearsal dinner for all the guests who arrived early for the wedding, we had 40 guests for this dinner. We enjoyed our dinner throughout the Inn, some sat inside in the antique filled dining room, while others enjoyed the glass top tables on the porches of the Inn where they could enjoy the beautiful view of the gardens. The food was delicious and plentiful.

The wedding day, our ceremony was located in the gardens under tents that Chuck had decorated prior to us arriving. In the early planning stages of the wedding, I told Chuck the theme of our wedding, color choices, but limited too, and from there he created a picture prefect wedding for us.

Chuck and his staff was very attentive to our every need. Before we could think of what we needed Chuck or his staff was there with it for my husband and I. Our day was enjoyable with no stress. Our guests loved the everything about the wedding, the raved about the food and how smoothly the day went. The best part was when the wedding was over the guests continued to enjoy the weekend staying at the Fairlawn.

Each morning they were prepared a gourmet breakfast with multiple choices from he daily breakfast board, fresh fruit, and homemade breads or muffins. The antique filled rooms were very clean, comfortable, and spacious. I personally stayed in the Opal room, the room was bright and sunny that allowed for beautiful pre wedding pictures.

I would recommend the Fairlawn Inn for the bride who wants a custom, worry free wedding.

Thank you Chuck for making our day PREFECT!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Steve and Janet were a pleasure to serve. Their confidence, flexibility and good cheer made the entire weekend easy for the staff and innkeeper. Having mostly a free rein inspires creatives like me and I am glad that we exceeded the expectation of the bride, groom their family and friends.

The weather cooperated magnificently and the inn was the perfect venue for the number that attended. We enjoyed seeing the property put to it's best use, and like to see our guests enjoying themselves. This was about the tenth time the bride and groom visited the inn and I look forward to many happy returns. We are happy they enjoyed themselves, that their party and guests were well served and hope they return often to celebrate their new time together. Congratulations, cannot wait to see the pictures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    29
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
30
115
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, California
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We recently returned from a visit to New York state where we had the pleasure of enjoying a two night stay at the Fairlawn Inn in Hunter, NY. It is a beautiful home decorated with beautiful antiques (furniture, china, crystal, silver, etc.) Our room was comfortable, the grounds were lovely, and the breakfast was delicious, offering more choices than we have ever experienced at a B'nB. Since it was midweek and fairly quiet, we had the pleasure of enjoying great conversations with Chuck. He gave us wonderful suggestions for restaurants and things to do, and since we are from Northern California this was quite helpful. He also fixed a great evening drink, a creamsicle, quite yummy! Chuck is a fantastic innkeeper, always concerned for the comfort and enjoyment of his customers. This was a totally unplanned stay and we are so happy we chose the Fairlawn Inn. It remains a highlight of our New York visit.

Room Tip: We loved the Gazebo room. Great corner location and loved the blue and yellow color scheme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thanks for staying at the Fairlawn and for your compliments and review. I am envious of the part of the country where you live but am glad that you came to the Catskills and enjoyed your stay. Please come back often when you travel in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I recently returned from a 2 night stay with my husband at the Fairlawn Inn. Upon arrival we were greeted by Chuck (the inn keeper) with a brief overview of the Inn's amenities, procedures and policies. I was impressed by the little "extras" that Chuck had to offer, such as the snacks, the bar setups (minus the alcohol of course), the coffee,games, movies etc. Chuck was nice enough to upgrade us to the Willow room as it was available. This room is accessed from the outside on the second floor. I felt like we had a very "private" stay because we were able to get to our room using the rear stairway, it was quite convenient from the parking area. The room was very comfortable, no complaints. The cross ventilation made for perfect sleeping weather. The only thing i could comment about.. .the lack of counter in the bathroom. I found we had nowhere to store our personal items, but this is a result of keeping with period decoration and furnishings.

The Inn is beautiful. The grounds are well kept and manicured. The gardens are lush and the running waterfall pond is soothing. The patio is a big plus for "getting to know your neighbors and the inn keeper"! Chuck joined us one night outdoors, lit his "self designed" fire pit and treated us to some unexpected extras, chips with artichoke dip and s'mores, thanks Chuck! Take some time to look at the furnishings and decor inside as well. There is so much to see, some very special pieces and rare finds.

The Fairlawn is conveniently located, less than a half mile to Hunter Mountain Ski/Zip lining entrance and only minutes from Tannersville where we had dinner at The Village Bistro upon Chuck's recommendation, good choice!

The Breakfast! Perfect! It is obvious that Chuck is a professional and enjoys what he does. Chuck's creations are amazing. I especially enjoyed the "vacation bacon" and the "French French toast". Stay a few nights so you can try more breakfasts!

Some people have commented on Chucks' "rules" and i would say that Chuck runs a tight ship but i believe he does this so that all of his guests have a smooth sail and we did.

We would return for another stay for sure. Good time, good people, great food. Looking back, i didn't have many expectations going in, but i would say that in the end, any expectations i did have were exceeded. Thanks again, Chuck.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
We try to exceed every guests expectations and are glad we did in this instance. I enjoy visiting with each guest while they are here and enjoyed this couple during their stay. Thanks for the compliments and for visiting our beautiful area and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We had our wedding at the Fairlawn and it just couldn't have been any better. Chuck and his staff did an amazing job of taking care of us and our guests. His attention to detail and amazing cooking skills made this an event to remember. The wedding was outdoors and the Fairlawn's gardens were the perfect backdrop. We are already looking forward to our next trip there. An amazing inn in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveST1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
As I indicated in the previous review about the wedding, we all enjoyed serving this bride, groom their family and guests. Their flexibility and confidence in us was what made it easy. We have had the pleasure of their company many times at the Fairlawn and we are glad we made the wedding a special time for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, New York
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I just returned from a 1 night stay at this lovely Inn. The only negative thing I could say is that I should have booked for more than one night.

I stayed in the Gazebo Room, and felt like royalty. The soaps, shampoos and vanilla bubble bath were divine. Chuck was friendly and helpful in assisting me in finding places to go while in town, as well as finding the best places to eat! But of course, the recommendations would only be for lunch or dinner, because the best breakfast in Hunter is the breakfast that Chuck makes for you in the morning. Fresh fruit, scones and the best omelet (cheddar, bacon and avocado) I've ever had!

Lovely landscaping, and plenty of places to sit outside (or in) and read a book, or visit.

Thank you for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cresteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thanks for the wonderful compliments, I too wish you had stayed more than one night and I hope that you return often. I am glad we could be of assistance with recommendations and that your time in our beautiful area was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparta, new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We were at the Fairlawn Inn this past weekend for a friends wedding. It was absolutely outstanding from the time we arrived on Friday afternoon to the time we left on Monday morning. Lets start with the Inn. Chuck, the Innkeeper, had the place beautiful. From the beautiful flowers and the luscious gardens it was simply beautiful. The grounds were absolutely well maintained. The patio was very clean and well kept, we had 2 tents for all the wedding events. A fire pit was also a great touch, we utilized this on Saturday night after the wedding.

The food was absolutely scumptious. We had appetizers on Friday night and then a delicious rehearsal dinner. Everything was great. The food was all fresh and very well prepared. It was set up inside as a buffett and everyone enjoyed it. Breakfast at the Inn is always good. The girls all had salon appointments in the am, and Chuck prepared a wonderful breakfast for us to take with us. We had fresh fruit, croissants, and a blueberry souffle, we also had delicious white chocolate cream cheese which was way tasty. We also had some peach nectar and champagne to get the day going. It was really nice of Chuck to prepare this for us. The guys stayed back at the Inn and had a delicious breakfast that was made to order from a nice menu that was posted in the dining room. The food for the wedding was exquiste. We had a great cocktail hour, with tasty shrmip and other great treats. Then came the beautiful dinner that chuck and staff prepared for us. Delicious chicken that was stuffed with cheese, some cold couscous, and fabulous desserts. The raspberry bars were awesome, so were the cream puffs and eclairs. The wedding was picture perfect for the Bride and Groom. The next morning breakfast was awesome and on Monday before we left, Ihad the banana walnut pancakes, they were the best ever by far, so light and fluffy, the best ..

The Inn itself is very well decorated, the rooms are nice and quaint. We had the room on the first floor that had a jacuzzi tub. It was very nice and relaxing. We had a nice large clean bathroom with awesome peppermnt soap. The Paul Mitchell hair products were nice as well and they all come out a dispenser so not to waste any. The Inn is very nice and quiet.

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and we will definitely come back. Thanks Chuck for an awesome wedding, I know the Bride and Groom enjoyed it and so did we.

Room Tip: First floor first room on right, I think it was Glenwood. Big Jacuzzi tub, awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherbert32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
We all enjoyed the wedding crowd. The bride and groom have been here many times and their family and friends were a pleasure to have at the inn. A good time was had by all, inclusive of the innkeeper and staff.

Innkeepers enjoy seeing everyone have a great time and that the property is used to it's fullest potential. We hope to see them all return many times. Thanks for the kind words and compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alden, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Chuck is a total creep and very, very, rude!.

Our bathroom smelled like urine leading me to believe that the throw rugs are not washed after each guest. The room itself "smelled" like an old closet. No cups in the bathroom and only 2 towels. Shampoo in a large decorative bottle with no top! Trying to be "green" ! No lotion or conditioner , only a "free sample" of deodorant!

Breakfast was mediocre-not like the lavish spreads most all other b&b's I've been to have had. Little "fake" creamer cups and cheap paper napkins. "Green" would have been fabric napkins and real cream on the table for coffee. "Green" or "cheap"!?

No appetizers in the evening or afternoon tea. Railings are all weak and could be quite dangerous if an elderly person or a heavy person used it for support esp the one on the back porch! Paint is peeling .

He "trashed" former guests because they were up late partying on their vacation and he had to clean up the empty beer cans! At the prices he charges for terrible service and just OK breakfast a little noise shouldn't have been a bother !

The Inn itself is quite beautiful as are the gardens. The woman who works for him is a real sweetheart! The Gazebo Room and the Opal room are esp beautiful.

Hard to rate the service as we were afraid to ask for anything!

Oh--the "snack jar" had a bunch of stale and some outdated chips and crackers in it! Yummy!

My terrible review is based primarily on on the Inn Keeper and his rudeness. I also heard in town that he is the "head" of the Chamber of Commerce in Hunter! I don't know how that could possibly have happened!

Room Tip: The rooms on the "outside" second floor are best as they open to a very nice porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deltasunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
First, I apologize to this guest for any level of dissatisfaction they experienced here during their stay. I will respond to every part of the review as it is important for any guest that comes here that we exceed their expectation. We failed miserably in this case apparently. We offer quality accommodations and would have addressed any of these issues had the guest brought them to our attention at any time of their stay.

Each room is cleaned extensively, bathrooms included. After each guest leaves all towels, linens and bathmats are laundered and replaced. We are a green establishment and have pump dispensers on the wall above each shower head. We do have individual amenities if they are requested but a vast majority of guests are happy with the organic fair trade and all natural peppermint soap, Tea Tree Shampoo and Conditioners in those dispensers. I think what this guest was referring to was bubble bath and bath salts in antique stoppered bottles available in each room that has a claw foot tub. We felt that was an amenity that was offered as a bonus not a substitute. We also participate in a marketing program that offers guest free samples, this time it was an attractively packaged deodorant. What we thought this was another plus not a negative.

We offer a lavish and home cooked breakfast. Please read all other reviews to see the rave reviews from our other satisfied guests. We are proud of what we offer and it is of the utmost quality and freshly prepared every day. A vast majority of our reviewers (and guests that do not post reviews) continually rave about what we offer for breakfast and that is followed up in most reviews. We cannot fathom their disappointment. We offer both flavored individual creamers and half and half, none are artificial. We do use paper napkins, they do decompose and are compost-able. We formerly had fabric napkins but thought the laundry was more detrimental to the environment than the paper napkins we do use.

The paint on the rear of the inn was peeling, most had been already scraped and since this review has been posted it has been scraped, primed and is waiting for the proper weather to paint. The historic nature of the inn keeps us on our toes maintaining it. The area this guest refers to was not visible from the street and was in the process of being maintained and repainted. We apologize for that part that was in process. It is part of the process and by the time this response is posted it will have been finished. Projects all take time and this one was in process.

The weekend that this guest visited was a "Warrior Dash" weekend and I offered comments to ALL guests that there would be a 10pm curfew in all common areas for that weekend. I had a mixed group in the house this year and last year the "Warrior Dashers" were up past 3AM celebrating. They disturbed many guests that were too polite to wake me but did comment on the noise that kept them up the next morning. My responsibility it to insure all guests have a good experience here, I thought I was being proactive and apologize to this guest if they found my comment to be rude or inappropriate.

The snacks in the snacks in the "complimentary" snack basket, are freshly purchased as are the complimentary soft drinks, fruit and cookies in the cookie jar. We offer many complimentary things to guests, pride ourselves on our hospitality and the fresh and organic nature of what we offer as part of their experience.

We are disappointed that this guest felt less than valued and do whatever we can to address any shortfall if it is brought to our attention. This review, along with any review will be considered and used to make our inn a better place to visit. We unfortunately did not make this guest happy and for that we apologize. I would encourage all guests to read all the reviews on trip advisor to see that normally we do exceed most of our guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunter
6.2 mi away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
295 reviews
6.6 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
503 reviews
11.0 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 6 in Hunter
436 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mountain Brook
Mountain Brook
#2 of 5 in Tannersville
200 reviews
5.6 mi away
Catskill Lodge
Catskill Lodge
#1 of 8 in Windham
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlawn Inn

Property: Fairlawn Inn
Address: 7872 Main Street, PO Box 182, Hunter, NY 12442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hunter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hunter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairlawn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1904 fully restored and updated Victorian Mansion. Nine bedroom B&B all with private baths, free WIFI queen sized beds, Flat Screen TV's with DVD players, includes a full cooked to order breakfast. Centrally located in the Catskills with many attractions, within walking distance to Hunter Mountain a four season Ski Resort. Newest attraction is the Zip line adventure, the tallest and longest in North America. Adjacent to the Hudson Valley and many activities too numerous to mention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fairlawn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairlawn Hotel Hunter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing