We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairlawn Inn
Nearby Hotels
The Sedgwick House B & B(Hunter)(Great Value!)
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sun View(Tannersville)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hotel Vienna(Windham)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Allegria(Windham)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages(Windham)(Great Value!)
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cave Mountain Motel(Windham)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Bear Lodge(Prattsville)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Winter Clove Inn(Round Top)
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
165
30
9
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
165
30
9
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgazebo roomfire pitomelethunter mountainpool tablegourmet breakfastpancakesfrench toastfresh fruitclaw foot tubbeautiful antiquesold victorianthe main houseother guestsmy boyfriendgreat conversationthoroughly enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2013

If you are thinking of this B&B, think no more!!! Book it!!! The Inn is so well maintained and the grounds and so beautiful. Nice and quiet with friendly patrons. Very close and convenient to Hunter Mountain and other towns. The best part of the stay at the Inn was Chuck!! He was very friendly and attentive and he makes one helluva breakfast!! He was very knowlegable on the town and different restuarants to try and even directions on getting to everything. He truly made the experience outstanding!! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

We are looking forward to your return and appreciate the praise and compliments. Hope to see you soon and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My wife and I recently spent a weekend at Fairlawn over the July 4th weekend and the inn was at 75% or better occupancy but it’s spacious enough that folks aren’t in each other’s way. Chuck is a wonderful host and has a spirited sense of world experience humor that isn’t lost on the well-traveled. I admire that he expects his guests to use common sense required in a B&B environment and of well-behaved human beings in general and won’t hesitate to run off undesirables – it’s refreshing to meet a professional innkeeper with that kind of backbone and charm all wrapped up in one overworked individual. The inn was first built in 1904 or so and Chuck is only the third owner of the property; it’s got some history to it. The rooms are unique and well appointed, eclectic with an emphasis on artwork and interesting furniture and ambiance. Many of the rooms are accessed from an outside door via a common covered porch upstairs and down, which we like as opposed to many inns that offer room access only from within the main structure. Obviously, there’s privacy upside to that aspect.

The common areas are delightfully comfortable and it’s the first inn I’ve seen with a nice billiard table available for guests until 10:00 PM. Two of our most important criterion in a B&B is the showers and the beds. And both are wonderful at Fairlawn; especially the showers that have great water pressure and rainmaker heads. Nice. The grounds in the summer abound with well cared for plants and gardens with plenty of quality, comfortable furniture to lounge and pass time in.

The breakfast part of the inn is a delight with multiple choices for discerning guests and food prepared by someone who knows their way around a kitchen. The food is served restaurant style where your order is taken and served at your chosen table as opposed to many inns that chose to serve a buffet style meal. Hunter is a quiet town despite all the summer and winter activity by it being the closest ski resort (Hunter Mountain) to NYC ; and the Fairlawn is directly across the street from that resort and provides easy access to eateries in Hunter proper or to Tannersville or Windham, the two closest towns in either direction.

All these good things said however, it’s not the kind of polished place that a $400 a night inn might provide. Because if you’re expecting 5-star hotel level service and accommodations in a B&B environment then this isn’t the place for you. But if you’re in touch with reality and want clean, comfortable accommodations at budget prices and don’t expect someone to unfold a linen napkin in your lap for you, then try a night or two at the Fairlawn.

Room Tip: See review
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dcp303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

What a great review. I very much enjoyed this couple. They both had a great sense of humor and we shared many laughs. They were a pleasure to have at the Fairlawn and it was pleasant to see them interact with other guests and enjoy the property. I hope they return often as they made the time fly and the innkeeper feel appreciated. Guests like this make the Innkeepers late in life "retirement" career so gratifying. Thanks again and see you during Fall Foliage Season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

I just love this B&B! I have stayed twice and each time met the nicest people. The owner, Chuck is very hands on. He maintains the property and house meticulously! He has many interesting stories and is fun to be around and can cook very well. The area it is in has Antique shops and stores to browse around in besides skiing so you can go up any time and just chill. Just sitting around makes a perfect day to reflect, enjoy and relax!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tere56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2013

Theresa and Robert are a great couple and we enjoy them when they visit. I appreciate the feedback and look forward to their return. This review is coming from someone with many years in the hospitality business is very rewarding for me personally. She has stayed in many five star hotels and so her compliments of the property are greatly valued and appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We have been to this inn before we just love going back we have become friends with other regular guests as well as the inn keeper. Can't wait for our next visit. Highly recommend it at any time of the year. Skiing in the winter, festivals at Hunter Mountain or just a relaxing getaway to the mountains.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveST1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Steve and Janet are wonderful guests. They have become great friends and are always a pleasure to have at the Fairlawn. I look forward to their visits, some time around the fire pit and the breakfast table. Their wedding was a pleasure to host as the guests that attended were every bit as nice as the host and hostess. Thanks for great comments Steve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My husband & I recently spend a weekend at the Fairlawn Inn. It was the last weekend of the skiing season and the crowds had definitely left. We had the inn all to ourselves. Chuck was away for the week and Kathleen took over as the inn keeper and she was great. Very warm and friendly and helpful with her suggestions. The property is very pretty. I loved the interiors. The common areas were good. It was great fun to relax by playing pool at the end of a tiring day of activities. Our room, the Gazebo was very charming. I would highly recommend it to all.

Room Tip: The Gazebo is extremely pretty with great views of the Hunter Mountain
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enthuchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

I wish that I could have been here for your visit but Kathy does a great job in my absence. Come back often and I hope to be here personally when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews