We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sedgwick House B & B(Hunter)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunter Inn(Hunter)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Vosilla(Tannersville)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sun View(Tannersville)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hotel Vienna(Windham)(Great Value!)
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Albergo Allegria(Windham)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages(Windham)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
166
30
9
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
166
30
9
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgazebo roomfire pitb bsomelethunter mountainpool tablegourmet breakfastpancakesfrench toastfresh fruitclaw foot tubthe main housebeautiful antiquesold victorianthoroughly enjoyed our stayold friendsevery guest
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

As we were approaching the end of our 6 week trip to USA we made a last minute decision to visit The Catskills. We really wanted a secluded weekend away from it all in the Mountains, we did a search and the only place that appealed to us was Fairlawn. We made a call and Chuck was very helpful and fortunately for us he had a last minute cancellation. We had quite a drive to get there but Chuck welcomed us when we arrived, showed us around and recommended a restaurant for dinner. The Fire Pit was blazing when we got back and we had a fantastic night with all the other guests, plus toasted marshmallows yuuuuum. Our breakfasts were brilliant, Chucks blueberry pancakes are to die for and he went out of his way giving directions of places to visit etc. we would highly recommend Chuck and Fairlawn, an absolutely haven away from it all. Anne and Johnno

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

This was a charming couple from Australia and a lot of fun to have at the Inn. I hope someday to get down under and visit them. Everyone from OZ has been a pleasure to have at the inn and so I hope to experience their hospitality one day. Thanks for the compliments and the great review. I hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The Inn and surrounding landscape are beautiful and not to be missed. My husband and I arrived at an odd hour, but we had let the proprietor,Chuck, know of our plans, so we had access to our room immediately. The room itself was comfortable, clean and charming.

Chuck was very gracious, giving us good advise on where to eat (Vesuvio's), good biking trails and directions for the next stops on our upstate New York journey. He even gifted me a bottle of Hoisin sauce after a discussion we had about asian markets in Albany, NY.

The full breakfast was a nice treat especially the pumpkin pancakes which my husband loved. I appreciated the large selection of teas. Any tea drinker will know how rare it is to actually have choices beyond Lipton and to be able to drink as many cups as wanted!

When in Hunter again we hope to be staying at Fairlawn Inn once again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rammoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

We are always glad to see guests enjoy their time here and we try to offer a little more than regular fare. This couple as with most of the guests that visit were a pleasure to have and it is nice that they took the time to review us. Thanks for the great review and we look forward to your return, hopefully soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

On our trip home we were already planning a return trip for next year. I spent the weekend at Fairlawn with my children and enjoyed every minute of a weekend that ended way too soon. Chuck is a delightful gentleman with a good sense of humor, spunk and energy. To run a B&B of this size is quite the undertaking and he does it flawlessly. The rooms are clean and spacious, breakfast was YUMMY and everything in his home was shared with his guests, including the SMORES on Sat night around the fire.....FUN had by all. Thanks Chuck!!!!!! We will be back.
Gabriele

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Gabrielle was a delight on the phone prior to her arrival. All we did all weekend was laugh and cut up. Her family was entertaining and the life of the party at the Saturday night fire pit. It is guests like this that make my B&B career enjoyable. We have a similar sense of humor and that is always a good thing.

It is nice to see people mingling and getting to know one another in the relaxed social setting on the patio at night. We were able to see the fireworks from Hunter Mountain from the patio without the crowds. I look forward to their return and hope it is soon! Thanks Gabrielle for an entertaining and great weekend and a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We just got back from a weekend trip. The Inn is beautiful; very tastefully appointed and the grounds very well kept. Chuck is clearly an expert gardener! We stayed in the Greene Room, it was very pretty and has an exceptional bathroom (very large, very pretty!). There are multiple spaces at the Inn for sitting alone if you choose but also plenty of space for gathing with the other visitors of the Inn. Chuck is glad to help facilitate this with his blazing garden firepit and everything you need to enjoy a few smores! I choose this Inn not only because the bedrooms are so beautiful (and unique!) but because of the rave reviews about Chuck and his breakfast making talents...let me tell you, he did not disappoint! If you get the chance to visit you must try his French Toast and his Pumpkin Walnut Pancakes! DELISH! I would absolutely recommend this Inn to my friends and family. I would love to go back to visit again sometime soon! Thanks for sharing your lovely Inn Chuck!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

This was another couple that was great to have at the Fairlawn. We conversed at the firepit, saw them visit with other guests and also as she mentioned, enjoyed the S'mores on Saturday night. The weather cooperated everyday - sunny and in the low 70"s but a little nippy at night so therefore the firepit and some throws to keep the chill out. It is nice to be in the middle of summer and need a sweater up here.

The innkeeper loves to cook and breakfast is his favorite time of day. Thanks for coming to stay with us, the great compliments and for wanting to return. You are most welcome at any time. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I just got back from a two night stay at Fairlawn Inn. I have to say that from soup to nuts Chuck is an incredibly warm and wonderful innkeeper. He is very hands on, told us great places to eat, board games to play and is so fun to be around. The outside patio is heavenly and we sat out there all day and chilled by the small waterfall. At night Chuck put on the fire pit and brought out smores! He really thinks of everything.
Our room, the Opal room, was so clean and eco friendly. The bathroom had a claw foot tub and the pressure was great. In the morning you get a wonderful breakfast and its fun to watch Chuck make it himself. After everyone had their breakfast he sat down and ate with us. So fun.
The inn is kept in great shape and you can tell that a lot of love goes into it.
Beautiful views! mini golf and Hunter Mountain around the corner.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Opal room- second floor, quite, great light and great shades. Huge bathroom and big room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ctomajko, Owner at Fairlawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

We appreciate your review and commentary. This couple was a pleasure to have around the inn and also nice to see them enjoy the property. Innkeepers relish the times when they see guests engaged and enjoying time with other guests and also quiet times as a couple. Friendships develop, commonalities come to the forefront and it makes for a good weekend for everyone when everyone interacts over breakfast, around the fire pit or in casual conversation. The inn offers many places to find a quiet area or be with others. We hope this couple returns often and takes advantage of our beautiful area in the Great Northern Catskills.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews