We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oheka Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oheka Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence
Newtown, connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very special experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

My husband and I spent one night at Oheka castle on a groupon coupon. We were treated like royalty. It was a quiet midweek stay so we had the castle to ourselves. We got a whitney room , room 319 with a king size bed and a two -man whirlpool tub. Continental breakfast was included as was two drinks of our choice from their bar and a tour of the castle the next day. We went to Legal Seafood ( about 10 minute drive ) in Huntington for dinner. Our trip was on Jan. 31,2012 but there wasn't any snow. This is also a slow time for them for weddings. If one could afford it what a place for a wedding. They have 32 rooms for people to stay. I don't think I will forget the experience of staying in a castle , was a museum.. Was wonderfully restored . Great time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank Jeanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    47
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
35
132
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lorton
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

My husband and I just spent two highly enjoyable days at the Castle. We have some comments that may be helpful to others. While clearly this is a place for large parties, weddings and receptions, it is also a highly unusual , but enjoyable hotel.

This is the dead of winter, and there were only a handful of guests there. One of the limited number of mansions left along the Gold Coast, that has survived so many ordeals since the Great Depression, Oheka Castle, is certainly worth a visit.

There is an interesting guided tour, staff was extremely helpful and polite, Paul especially, the room was very comfortable with Frette sheets and a great mattress. The food was excellent but we prefer less emphasis on a prix fixe menu, and would suggest an a la carte options, especially at breakfast.

Perhaps one of the most interesting aspects of the visit is to see the on-going renovations and love of work that the current owner continues to put into the castle. Clearly, there is much to be done, but based on the past, he will complete adhering to his love of design and the property.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanny1Lorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Neck, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

My husband and I got married at Oheka Castle last January, and my mother surprised us by making reservations for us to stay at Oheka for our one year anniversary. At check in we discovered we were upgraded to a fabulous suite. While unpacking, room service surprised us with a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. We had an amazing dinner at their newly opened bar and lounge (also serves lunch). The beautiful decor, delicious food, and impeccable service makes for a magical night! Hope to make this a long-time tradition!

Room Tip: Every room in Oheka has its own charm, but the larger suites are definitely the way to go. If you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Got a great deal on a night here. We got the mid level room and it was certainly not your normal hotel room. Very tall ceilings, about 13 feet I would guess, and very large antique furniture. The bathroom was absolutely spotless, looked like it had never been used. Shower built with glass blocks and old fashioned claw foot iron bathtub.

You can tour yourself around the castle and see everything. The attention to detail is amazing. The owner has gone to great lengths to restore it to its original state. Take the guided tour, well worth it to learn the history of the place. Make sure you get to see room 401, this is the top end room that is about as big as condo and very luxurious.

We ordered room service and the food was outstanding, arrived fast and hot, and was reasonably priced. The included breakfast the next morning was also good with a wide variety of fresh fruit, pastries, and all the usual stuff.

Night we stayed there was a charity fund raiser and two very well known celebrities were there, casually chatted with one in the elevator, that was pretty neat as he was very low key and down to earth.

Staff was very polite and helpful. I actually don't have a single negative thing to say about Oheka. I highly recommend this place, strolling around and dining makes you feel like a character from The Great Gatsby.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WornOutSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

This review is long overdue as we had our babymoon back in November but I felt our stay was pleasant enough to write a review for Oheka. When I first tried to book the babymoon package, I asked the reservation manager whether I could switch out certain items but was told I could not. Tours also were not available on weekends because the castle was booked out for weddings. Basically, I got the feeling that it's either pay up for the package or leave it. Since I really wanted to plan a stay at Oheka for our babymoon, I tried just making a normal reservation and telling the staff that it was to celebrate our upcoming arrival. When we checked in, we were pleasantly surprised with a room upgrade to a Whitney. Although the castle was booked for a wedding, we were able to enjoy walking around the castle grounds, take lots of photos and relax in the beautiful clawfoot tub in the room. The snack basket in the room was a nice touch and turn down service showed attention to detail. We made reservations at a nearby restaurant called Amicale for dinner to celebrate and came back ready to relax. The softness of the down pillows and sheets is unsurpassed - up to par with 5 star hotels like the Omni Berkshire in NYC. I took off one star on this review only because of the unaccommodating staff whom I initially spoke with in trying to book a modified babymoon package. Being in the service industry, It's important to be flexible. And if not, at least be courteous and not pretentious about it. Otherwise, everything else about our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed at Oheka with my girlfriend for a romantic night and for a special place in which to propose. The castle is truly a wonder of refurbishment. The grandeur it has been restored to is incredible and really makes it the Versailles of North America. The staff were also very friendly and we both thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Definitively worth a visit for a night!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocean_mapping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Oheka Castle on December 29, 2011 and found both positive and negative things. The negatives all have to do with the disappointing hotel accommodations.

First let me say that the grounds and the ambiance of the castle are awesome. We really enjoyed the beautiful décor and the groupon deal, which included a tour led by the fabulous Laura. Laura was wonderful and even received a round of applause from our large group at the end. She also was given many compliments for her ability to provide the group with excellent information about the estate in a captivating way. The owner, Gary, really did an amazing job restoring the structure to its original form. It is a great place to visit and I can certainly see why so many people have their weddings there.

Unfortunately, my husband and I were extremely disappointed with our rooms. If you notice, I use the word roomS as plural because we were actually moved after I complained about the first. I actually called the Hotel Manager and spoke to him about my situation after we left, so hopefully you will have a better experience.

First thing you should know is that the photos on the website of the rooms were definitely not what we saw in the two we were in. First we were put in a Chateu room. This was surprising because when I initially made the reservation, I requested a king size bed and a Whitney room. The young lady on the phone told me she had already reserved that for me and I thanked her. When we arrived, we were given a king size Chateu room and the lighting was very dim despite having all the switches to the highest levels. I felt like I was in an attic. When we put on the tv, the doors to the armoire kept closing. We tried several different times to get the doors to stay open, but they would not. We had to use the chairs to prop open the doors so that we could watch tv. I was also disappointed that the tvs were so old especially since the photos on the website show flat screen tvs.

When I called the front desk to ask why I was not in a Whitney room and to report that the doors to the armoire would not stay open, the young man was nice and found a Whitney room for me. I went down and exchanged keys and we moved down the hall. Unfortunately he did not inform me that we would now have a queen size bed, but I overlooked that because we now had a nicer bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub. We unpacked our things and went to dinner.

Dinner was not the best service. It took 20 minutes to get our check. Our waitress, Rosa, was very nice and gave us our two beers on the house due to the lengthy wait. We appreciated her hospitality.

Back in our new room, I decided to try out the bathtub. Unfortunately there was something wrong with the water pressure. The tub took 45 minutes to fill above the jets. You did not misread that. It really took 45 minutes (from 9:45pm until 10:30). When the water finally reached 3-5”above the jets, I pushed the button to start them. Nothing happened, so I tried again. My husband tried too. Even though we figured the switches in the room had nothing to do with the tub, we tried flipping all the switches in an effort to get the tub to work but to no avail. I called downstairs to let them know. The following day when I got home and called to complain, the manager told me that there was a switch to control the jacuzzi and someone should have told me that. Unfortunately, even in the call I made to alert them to the problem, they did not tell me what to do.

So overall I gave this an average rating solely because of the accommodations. If I was just rating a trip to the Oheka Castle for a night on the town, I would say that the food is very overpriced, but I feel like you're paying to just be there which is really nothing short of amazing. It's a really cool bit of history that you learn on the tour as well, so for the tour and the castle grounds and main floors---I'd give this an EXCELLENT. For the accommodations---if you lower your expectations and don't expect it to be superior, you probably wouldn't be as disappointed as I was.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHEKA, Manager at Oheka Castle, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
We regret that the reviewer experienced so many issues with their guestroom and thank them for taking the time to let us know about their experience at Oheka. We have taken appropriate actions within the company to ensure better service is provided in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington
2.2 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
6.8 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Woodbury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
12.4 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#3 of 4 in Garden City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oheka Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oheka Castle

Property: Oheka Castle
Address: 135 W Gate Dr, Huntington, NY 11743-6052
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Huntington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oheka Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHEKA CASTLE is a majestic historic mansion located on Long Island's famed Gold Coast between New York City and The Hamptons. This French-style chateau is the second largest private residence in America and has undergone $30 million in restoration to transform this stately home back to its former 1920's grandeur. OHEKA is listed on the National Register for Historic Places and boasts 32 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites on the upper floors where guests can sleep like royalty. Guests can enjoy a leisurely stroll around the beautiful formal gardens designed by the Olmsted Brothers, take a mansion tour and learn about the rich history of OHEKA and Otto Kahn, or dine in the OHEKA Bar and Restaurant before retiring to your uniquely designed guestroom for an in-room massage. Breathtakingly beautiful, OHEKA CASTLE is admired around the world as a premier venue for exquisite weddings and gala celebrations and has been the backdrop to many prominent film and photo productions. The refined European atmosphere and the feeling of being transported back in time to the decadence of the Roaring Twenties consistently gives OHEKA the recognition as America's Grandest Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oheka Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oheka Castle Huntington
Oheka Castle Hotel Huntington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing