We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice overnight stay - bought a groupon”
Review of Oheka Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oheka Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence
Massapequa, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice overnight stay - bought a groupon”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

My husband bought the groupon for here for me for a night away for my birthday. I love castles (yes, this is a mansion but he thought it was cute) and we have a 9 month old that doesn't sleep well. So it was a little overnight getaway. We stayed on a Friday night - it didn't even cross my mind to think there would be a black-tie affair going on (yes, yes, this is a huge party venue but silly me didn't think).. and I had never been here so I guess I thought the hotel was more separate than the party venue. Anyway - we arrived around 6:30 pm and it was kind of creepy driving down the winding road toward the mansion and then we were confused when we arrived.. there is no self-park, it is really all valet. But then when we walked in, we were in jeans and sneakers but all these people in black-tie clothes were around! It felt weird checking in and carrying our clunky bag to the elevator when people were dressed so nicely. After we went up to the room we came back down but felt weird exploring the property since we were so under-dressed. My husband wanted to have a drink at the bar but I felt so uncomfortable I said no.. maybe if I had worn nicer clothes I would have felt better about it. Anyway, we stayed in a Whitney room and it was nice. Some of the furniture seems dated but I think that is the idea. One thing that wasn't dated was the bed - holy cushy comfort! They welcomed us with 2 bottles of complimentary Poland Spring, a bag of Terra chips, a bag of pretzels and a pack of Milano cookies. YUM! Nice little snack waiting!! There is free wi-fi and a good selection of TV channels. I didn't take advantage of the gorgeous, huge, claw foot tub, but if you bring a good book - you will love it. We each took a nice, long hot shower - the bathroom was nice. As for the party - we were in room 315 and you could hear the piano from cocktail hour by the door... and then the music from the party in the bathroom. Around 10-something we heard the crowd roar a bit but it wasn't terrible. We're not sure how long the party lasted but we were able to go to sleep without an issue. If you are a light sleeper and don't close the bathroom door, you may be annoyed by the music.
After a good night sleep, we relaxed until the complimentary continental breakfast opened at 8:30 am. At first we wandered into the ballroom where breakfast was set up with hot food until we found out that was for the event the night before and were told to go to the dining room - no hot food. Major bummer. This was probably my biggest gripe about the stay - breakfast. While there was an amazing selection of fruit (not just melon, also 4 different berries), and a good selection of Chobani yogart and Quaker chewy granola bars... the cereal selection was lacking. It was all sugar cereals for the most part. Cocoa Krispies, Frosted Flakes, Apple Jacks... etc. No Cheerios, no plainer cereals. They found a Raisin Bran Crunch for me that I was going to eat until I saw only 1 carafe of milk.. I asked what it was and they said whole because they ran out of all the others last night. Really?!?!?!?!!?!? EW. EW EW EW. I hate whole milk and only drink skim.. would drink 1 or percent if need be. But how can they offer such unhealthy choices? Anyway.. so we sufficed on fruit, yogurt, toast, mini bagels, and finally they brought out instant oatmeal. The pastry selection was nice... but it is a lot of bread products and if you are trying to watch your weight.. this is a bad place to do it! Also, I hate when the attendant hover and as soon as you finish with a bowl they swoop over and take it. We were asked no less than 6 times if we were done with a certain bowl or plate and we weren't... I understand wanting to clear the table for the patrons but it does get a little annoying.. especially since we were trying to relax. We felt rushed a little or pressured. You could have ordered some hot food but it was pricey so we didn't.
Anyway - part of the Groupon was the Castle Tour at 11 and it was very informative. I enjoyed it. We also received a $10 appetizer voucher but we didn't use it because we weren't hungry when we got to the hotel after a big dinner out and we didn't want to stay after the tour because we wanted to get home to the baby. But it expires April 30th so they said we could always use it if we come back for dinner.
All in all I enjoyed the hotel. I wish I stayed on a quieter day because they are very open about letting guests explore and have run of the place. And I wish breakfast was a little different - or they at least had better cereal or healthier milk. I felt like I didn't have enough to eat because I didn't have my cereal.
But if you get a chance to stay here, it's definitely nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akitkat118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    49
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
40
139
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This is a pretty late review - we actually visited in April of this year - but we had a great stay. The castle and grounds really are beautiful. We loved the tour, and both breakfast and the refreshments after the tour were delicious. It was like being in a museum, but not being forbidden to touch things, such as the books in the library.

The front desk was very nice and let me bring up my Groupon on their computers, as I had forgotten to print it myself. Housekeeping was also responsive when we couldn't get the shower door open. Turns out it had gotten jammed after cleaning, and could have been opened with a slightly harder pull; however, we certainly didn't want to break it, given the fees for damages at the castle!

A few things to note/quirks to be aware of if you stay here: 1) It is meant to be historic, so I wouldn't expect all of the modern technological conveniences or appliances that you get at other hotels. 2) Security checked our names and opened the gates upon our arrival in the afternoon, but they were completely gone and the gates were wide open at night? 3) I guess you can ride horses in the area or something, because one had left its business on the open area in the front of the castle where you park... so just look before you step!

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank et723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This is a beautiful Chateau that was once a gold coast mansion, now restored and converted into a catering venue, restaurant, and hotel. It truly is in remarkable shape and reminded me of some of the palatial estates found in Europe. The restaurant was very good and all of the staff were helpful and friendly. Some of the mansions facilities were being used for a wedding the night we stayed there and we're thus off limits, but most of the beautiful public rooms were open. If this is a concern, you may want to inquire if a wedding or other event is scheduled during the days you want to visit.
The only real downside to this being a dual catering facility and hotel was that on arrival, the wedding party were taking photos by the front enterance and we were prohibited from entering the driveway. A minor annoyance, but one that should be corrected.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbarryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on September 25th and 26th and it was an amazing stay which we won't forget. From the time that we first signed in, it was very welcoming and in fact, the owner, Gary Melius, greeted us welcoming us to his home. Our room was the most luxurious of any place we have seen in the world and the bed was just perfect. The next day, before heading to the Hamptons and Montauk, we walked all over the castle just looking at the architecture of the "Gilded Age" that all of us read about in history books. The second morning, we took advantage of the free breakfast in the dining room - it was advertised as a continental breakfast but it was a wonderment of piles of fruit, pastry, and all types of juices that was mind boggling. A special "Thank You" goes to Ms. Hyacinth Waugh, the Day Manager, for her hospitality and attentiveness at breakfast. I would strongly recommend staying here as it is a fabulous experience - how many times can you be treated like Royalty and stay in a castle? By the way, the Castle is recognizable in many TV commercials and has been used as a movie location beginning with the classic "Citizen Kane" in the '40's to the USA TV series "Royal Pains" now currently showing. Mr. Gary Melius should be congratulated for preserving one of our country's most magnificent historical treasures!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PrinceRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We had lunch at the Oheka Castle this past weekend. The place is just magnificent. The owner has done an outstanding job of restoring one of America’s premier historic homes. You do not have to stay at the hotel to eat at their restaurant. The food was excellent and imaginative. The service was the best. In fact all the staff is welcoming and courteous Also during our lunch the owner stopped by to say hello and chat for a while.
It is impossible to understand how some reviewers on Trip Advisor could have written the negative comments they did about the Oheka Castle. It seems some people are just never satisfied, do not know greatness when it is staring them in the face, and evidently are just incorrigibly negative personalities.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneFairCall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freeport NY
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I have never stayed at the Oheka Castle but have been there a number of times for special events. The property is gorgious and the home magnificent!

The service at the events is true to the reputation of a fine catering destination.

i can recommend it.

Room Tip: No restaurant but catered well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank popsrocks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Went here for an event and found an amazing piece of land hidden behind an iron fence. Oheka is the 2nd biggest private home in the U.S. and it's crazy to even think someone lives there but the owner does full-time. The grounds are perfectly manicured and the castle itself is kept unbelievably clean. The castle itself is extraordinary and has a homey and historic feel. The guest rooms are quite nice and luxurious. From our limited interaction with the staff they all seemed friendly and accommodating. It's well worth a look but keep in mind that this piece of history comes with a hefty price tag.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachtravelerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington
2.2 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
6.8 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Melville Marriott Long Island
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
10.2 mi away
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oheka Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oheka Castle

Property: Oheka Castle
Address: 135 W Gate Dr, Huntington, NY 11743-6052
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Huntington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oheka Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHEKA CASTLE is a majestic historic mansion located on Long Island's famed Gold Coast between New York City and The Hamptons. This French-style chateau is the second largest private residence in America and has undergone $30 million in restoration to transform this stately home back to its former 1920's grandeur. OHEKA is listed on the National Register for Historic Places and boasts 32 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites on the upper floors where guests can sleep like royalty. Guests can enjoy a leisurely stroll around the beautiful formal gardens designed by the Olmsted Brothers, take a mansion tour and learn about the rich history of OHEKA and Otto Kahn, or dine in the OHEKA Bar and Restaurant before retiring to your uniquely designed guestroom for an in-room massage. Breathtakingly beautiful, OHEKA CASTLE is admired around the world as a premier venue for exquisite weddings and gala celebrations and has been the backdrop to many prominent film and photo productions. The refined European atmosphere and the feeling of being transported back in time to the decadence of the Roaring Twenties consistently gives OHEKA the recognition as America's Grandest Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oheka Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oheka Castle Huntington
Oheka Castle Hotel Huntington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing