We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at the Oheka Castle”
Review of Oheka Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oheka Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2013

April 27th my husband and I had the grand experience of attending a wedding at the Oheka Castle. The hotel and its grounds are beautiful, well-groomed in every respect. The bed was wonderful, which was a blessing as the weekend was full and we needed the rest. We understand it is a venue for many weddings. It lends itself well for this. All of our meals, the wedding reception and the formal dinner were excellent. I was very impressed with the service. Everyone was very polite and helpful. I truly felt like Cinderella at the ball. My only negative remark is to note the lighting in the bath room was not conducive for dressing for a formal occasion. While beautifully decorated, the lighting in the room and bathroom could be enhanced to make it easier to see while dressing. All in all, it was a memorable stay at the Oheka Castle.
Lifetime memory!

Room Tip: Choice may be limited by your budget. It is a pricey place to stay.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Oheka Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

Only stayed 1 night, but felt like royalty. Room was big with full bath rain shower head, bed was comfy. We did the tour, it was included in our Groupon, very informative and fun! Continental breakfast was plentiful, although they need to give you more than 2 wedges of butter a time lol.

Room Tip: We had a standard room with no view, but just exploring the castle was enough for us, I'm sure t...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEVE10312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Hotel is historic and magnificent.
There is a lot of history in the way this magnificent structure has changed hands over 100 years and is now in very good hands for last ~ 30 years
We went at the end of Mar... It was a bit cold at that time, but time well spent and a very fulfilling visit
The views are great
Lawns are well maintained
Rooms are not that big and not all of them have views - we stayed at Whitney room for $300
The rooms are great and comfy

The tour of the hotel is great and a must attend
Owner Gary is Very warm and great person to know. I coud not meet - but my family had the chance to say hi

Breakfast is just about ok

Kids loved every bit

Room Tip: View of the front lawns
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amlu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We watch Royal Pains and Oheka is where they shoot a lot. You drive up the driveway you see on TV, and can sit in Boris's chair in the library. Lunch was excellent! Have the shrimp tempura and the poached seafood salad. The Whitney room was a bit of an issue. The mattress sunk terribly, there was no soap dish so the soap just laid on the marble top, and for the room size it should have had a double sink. Take the informative tour.

Room Tip: Ask for a walkin shower
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfbmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Spent two nights at Oheka but wished for one more. The day we left they were filming a Royal Pains episode. Saw 'Hank' and lots of equipment and crew. Almost didn't get out after the hotel staff had moved our car and then closed off the exit. The hotel was amazing. A bit dated but it is an old castle. The staff was great although we seemed to be the only guests there. Just the two of us for breakfast and dinner which made for great service. Would definitely stay at this hotel again if we ever come out from California. Maybe we could meet Hank next time

Room Tip: If you can afford it,get a big room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29miket29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I have a special place in my heart for Castles and Estates, the history and ambiance.
I fell in love the moment we pulled up to the gate. Walking on the red carpet to the entrance to the castle was majestic. We took the tour before checking in and in my opinion this was a great idea.
Learning about the history of this fine estate made our stay that much more complete.
The room was incredible!! stayed in the Gatsby Suite..WOW
We also dined in the restaurant, our compliments to the chef.
The staff was friendly and professional, I felt like royalty.
Best Hotel I've had the pleasure to stay at.
Special thanks to Martin who was most helpful. We will be back.

Room Tip: The Gatsby suite
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beanbag33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We just spent two nights at Oheka Castle. It was lovely and very beautiful!
I did have a few complaints. The first night we noticed a moldy smell and saw what looked like mold on the rug near the door. My second complaint is that the water was not hot!
The bathroom was beautiful and the bed and bedding were great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington
2.2 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
6.8 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Melville Marriott Long Island
12.4 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#2 of 4 in Garden City
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oheka Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oheka Castle

Address: 135 W Gate Dr, Huntington, NY 11743-6052
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Huntington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range: £222 - £369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oheka Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHEKA CASTLE is a majestic historic mansion located on Long Island's famed Gold Coast between New York City and The Hamptons. This French-style chateau is the second largest private residence in America and has undergone $30 million in restoration to transform this stately home back to its former 1920's grandeur. OHEKA is listed on the National Register for Historic Places and boasts 32 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites on the upper floors where guests can sleep like royalty. Guests can enjoy a leisurely stroll around the beautiful formal gardens designed by the Olmsted Brothers, take a mansion tour and learn about the rich history of OHEKA and Otto Kahn, or dine in the OHEKA Bar and Restaurant before retiring to your uniquely designed guestroom for an in-room massage. Breathtakingly beautiful, OHEKA CASTLE is admired around the world as a premier venue for exquisite weddings and gala celebrations and has been the backdrop to many prominent film and photo productions. The refined European atmosphere and the feeling of being transported back in time to the decadence of the Roaring Twenties consistently gives OHEKA the recognition as America's Grandest Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Oheka Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oheka Castle Huntington
Oheka Castle Hotel Huntington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing