We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute grandeur!”
Review of Oheka Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oheka Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Beautifully restored Gold Coast mansion in the chateau style. Lovely rooms and spectacular setting for a wedding. We have been to a wedding and two galas at this venue.The formal gardens have been restored, and you can sit on the portico of the terrace and look out over the Cold Spring Country Cub and the harbor in the distance. They have a terrific restaurant & bar that is open to the public, even if you are not staying at the hotel. This is a piece of the Gatsby era that should not be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed her for a recent wedding, and were amazed by the location. The rooms are beautiful - some smaller than others, but they are all unique and comfortable. Grounds are great to walk around, the many rooms are fun to explore.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccbowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Service great, gorgeous building, landscape beautiful, amazing rooms for weddings and breakfast was super. Excellent golf course as well.

BUT our room was NOT worth $500/night! It was dark (a few light bulbs were out) and dingy. Hardly plush with the exception of the bedding and bed. Biggest complaint was there was only one sink in our bathroom with no shelves or counter tops to place personal items - we had to put our belongings on the floor! There is no fridge and bring your own corkscrew if you want to have a bottle of wine in your room.

Room Tip: be sure the bathroom has two sinks or at the very least someplace to put your personal items!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CinDe56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a spectacular venue. Rooms are huge, well appointed and immaculate. Locale is perfect. A French Chateau in Long Island.French gardens, fountains, etc. A great golf course adjacent to the property. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is a really unique hotel and the grounds are beautiful. We really like this place but the rooms, especially the beds are strange. The kings feel as if they have a bar or something running down the middle of them. Some of the rooms are mildly tattered and one bathroom is all sea green. I mean ALL green. There is different building materials throughout almost as if the proprietor had left over construction materials from other construction projects. The restaurant is good and the service excellent (except for the car parks). If I were back in the 70's I'd say "This place is a trip." It really is.

Room Tip: The rooms have odd shapes probably because of the renovation. Get one with large windows on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RDo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I have lived in Long Island since I was 6 years old. I had "heard" about this Castle in Long Island in recent years and always said I wanted to stay. Well that day had come last week. I had booked this room last year September because in the month of May they have deals for rooms. Well, I was not disappointed. When I arrived I was in AMAZEMENT, it was like you were in a different Country. The entrance is out of a fantasy land. Check in was smooth. Cobblestone hard to walk in with heels on but who cared you were at a Castle - HELLO! Wedding for someone was about to start and that was fine other than the room being a bit noisy with the Reception but I mentioned that to the front desk and BOOM the Manager came to our room and switched it within minutes, can you say Customer Service - wow! The rooms were plush and beautiful. Ernie at the restaurant was wonderful and personable, perfect job for him. Hyacinth the Day Manager and Jamie were SUPER. My boyfriend and I met the daughter of the Owner. Her name is Kelly. She was so kind and patience, no question was too much. My boyfriend and I actually saw her wiping up something off the floor and that actually impressed us because hey her Dad owned this place and she could have said "Hey maintenance come clean this up" but that shows you the type of stature this young Woman was, nothing was to small for her to do. We met the owner Gary and he is one of the most humble Men I have ever met. Thanked us for coming and even signed my Oheka book and took pictures with my Boyfriend during the tour. I could have not asked for a better time. Thank you for making my night and day special, I will never forget the most classy Castle and staff in the WORLD! :)

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th floor if possible. Because if there is a Wedding Reception you will hear a lot of pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IPraise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Personally, I had never stayed in a castle before, but I could really get used to it. What an amazing place! My wife surprised me with a wonderful birthday weekend and what a great present it proved to be. The rooms are amazing, the interior regal and the grounds are magnificent. Dinner was perfect in the dining room, the food well prepared and delicious. The owner, Gary Melius, stopped by at dinner to be sure our stay was going well and wish me a happy birthday. The entire atmosphere is nothing like you've ever seen, much less been an overnight guest. Even the breakfast was special. Be sure to take the castle tour and check out the pictures to see who's been married there and stayed in each room. It's quite the place.

Room Tip: It would be hard to decide which room is best, visit the website to see how each one is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamesnaylorjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntington
2.2 mi away
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel
6.8 mi away
Viana Hotel & Spa, BW Premier Collection
12.4 mi away
Garden City Hotel
Garden City Hotel
#1 of 4 in Garden City
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Glen Cove Mansion and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Best Western Woodbury Inn
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Melville - NY Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oheka Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oheka Castle

Address: 135 W Gate Dr, Huntington, NY 11743-6052
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Huntington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntington
Price Range: £232 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oheka Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OHEKA CASTLE is a majestic historic mansion located on Long Island's famed Gold Coast between New York City and The Hamptons. This French-style chateau is the second largest private residence in America and has undergone $30 million in restoration to transform this stately home back to its former 1920's grandeur. OHEKA is listed on the National Register for Historic Places and boasts 32 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites on the upper floors where guests can sleep like royalty. Guests can enjoy a leisurely stroll around the beautiful formal gardens designed by the Olmsted Brothers, take a mansion tour and learn about the rich history of OHEKA and Otto Kahn, or dine in the OHEKA Bar and Restaurant before retiring to your uniquely designed guestroom for an in-room massage. Breathtakingly beautiful, OHEKA CASTLE is admired around the world as a premier venue for exquisite weddings and gala celebrations and has been the backdrop to many prominent film and photo productions. The refined European atmosphere and the feeling of being transported back in time to the decadence of the Roaring Twenties consistently gives OHEKA the recognition as America's Grandest Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Oheka Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oheka Castle Huntington
Oheka Castle Hotel Huntington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing