We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
OHEKA CASTLE Hotel & Estate
Nearby Hotels
US$140
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Huntington Station)
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn At Fox Hollow Hotel(Woodbury)
US$218
US$210
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Norwich Inn(East Norwich)
US$141
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
172
56
27
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
56
27
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstour guidelong islandwhitney roomgrounds are beautifulcharlie chaplinluxury hoteltake picturesfree snacksoff limitsthe gold coastgreat gatsbyopen to the publiccrab cakesguest roomsan appetizeroriginal ownerstay overnight
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

My Fiancé proposed to me on Valentine's day at Oheka castle... It was a surprise beyond all surprises. We had an Amazing dinner in the Charlie Chaplin room where the owner Gary came in and greeted us, then, after dinner, my Fiancé told me that he wanted to give me a tour of the Amazing Carnegie suite which he asked our waiter if we are able to go upstairs ( of course he knew what his plan was since he gave him the room key before dinner ) . Once we walked into room it was magical!!! We walked through the different rooms until we got to the master suite. Candles burning, hearts beating, diamond ring in hand, and I said:" Yes"! So, if you would like to make a unforgettable proposal or spend a weekend and feel like a royalty, Castle it's a perfect place to do so...

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank AlbinaMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were in Huntington to attend a concert and we came across Oheka Castle. The entrance to the hotel is stunning. The check in is a bit impersonal in a side office, but that did not deter from the beautiful staircase. We had a standard room which was spacious and had all the amenities we needed. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large- Molton Brown products are always a plus as well.

The gardens are lovely and are bound to be spectacular in late Spring. Unfortunately we did not get a chance to try out the pool.

The Oheka Sunrise (I think that was what it was called) is delicious. The bar is definitely well stocked.

Breakfast was in the ballroom. It was simple, but sufficient. Unfortunately, only not so great point, there must have been an event on our second morning as we were completely forgotten- the selection was less than the day before and we had to wait a while to ask someone for butter.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StarFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My fiance proposed in the back garden 2 weeks ago, beautiful setting for such a gesture! The proposal package included dinner, wine, champagne, rose petals strewn on the bed in our upgraded room, chocolate covered strawberries: the whole 9 yards. We even met Gary while admiring the art bedecking the halls, and he was very friendly.

Dinner service was excellent; we were not rushed at all. While we were there, an author was having a book signing in the bar area so we have a unique souvenir to mark our engagement night. Gary greeted us in the dining room and really topped off our already deliriously happy evening by surprising us with an upgrade to the Bridal Suite!

The suite was simply astounding. I really felt as though we had been transported to turn of the century luxury. Our first room (320) was great, with a small sitting area, spacious bathroom and nice view. The suite left us speechless, and nostalgia set in before we even left. Everyone "oohs and ahhs" over the photos.

Speaking of photos, one thing that wasn't so amazing: my fiance planned his proposal months in advance. He even hired a photographer to catch the special moments and take pictures on the grounds afterwards. When the photographer arrived ahead of us, he was not permitted without approval from management. When my fiance went inside to sort things out, he was able to get the approval, at the additional cost of $300 (just for the privilege of an outside photographer). The next day, he got a congratulatory email offering to credit the $300 to our catering bill should we host our wedding there. Since we live in Florida with most of our family down here, chances are that won't happen.

However, all in all, it was an amazing setting for a very special day for us. Gary's gracious gift will always be special in our hearts and we look forward to celebrating many happy anniversaries there in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolev550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had seen this place listed in one of our books about historic homels







































We had seen this hotel listed in one of our historic hotels of America books and decided to stay there for one night with our daughter on our way to the Hamptons from NYC. We were late getting there for our dinner reservation since we were in terrible traffic leaving New York. The hotel staff were very nice and understanding and said they would talk to the chef and let him know we would be late. We checked in and immediately went to our rooms to change for dinner and didn't get much of a chance to look around. Dinner was excellent, and Gary Melius, the owner of the property, stopped by our table, introduced himself and talked to other guests before sitting down with them. After dinner, my daughter and I went to the bar and had a martini. The hotel was not crowded, but there was an Indian wedding going on there that was heavily attended. We learned that the Castle is the number one wedding venue in the U.S. I can see why. The grounds are lush and green and well kept. The rooms are very well appointed, and the ballroom is very large yet cozy. The menu is diverse and the food is fun and well prepared. If desired, the entire Castle can be rented out, and all of the guests feel right at home. There were many complimentary snacks in our room and first class bath and grooming products. Breakfast was continental but very filling and tasty. We had a view of the back while eating, and after breakfast took a tour of the entire property with our guide, Laura, who was very knowledgeable and fun. Loved this place and will return eventually. Gary has put a lot of money into the Castle renovating it, and it is a first class destination.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 318 and 319, and 318 had a complete view of the back golf course.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This review is for the Bar/Restaurant - went here for Mother's day dinner and was not impressed with the service nor the food. Had a reservation at 6:15 and when we got there, nobody was paying attention to us. Hubby was at the bar waiting for a maitre d but none. Finally after 10mins, one of the server asked him if there's anything she could do, hubby told her we have a reservation at 6:15 and she goes ok, that's all. After another 10 mins, another server passed by i told her again about our reservation and she said another server is already preparing our table. I mean what kind of service is this?! Then on the way out, the valet parking guy was giving us a different car, i mean really?!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Housemouse901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews