We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just nice”

Oheka Castle Mansion Tours
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our Mansion Tour program offers visitors limited access to the Estate and Gardens with a guided tour docent. Tours are available to the public by reservation only. Refer to OHEKA's website for details on Tour types and rates.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Just nice”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We where a group of 9 and we ended going 3. Things to remember is that it cost $25 for an hour tour and that you cant wear jeans. So it's hard for a group of guys in vacations... lol. It has good sights... just not a place to be if you are with the family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jucatra79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    28
    3
    1
    7
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trip back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Visiting Oheka Castle, one gets to see a beautiful location now used for the TV show Royal Pains, and other movies. The best part is hearing the story of Otto Herman Kahn and learning why he built it, and all the famous visitors that came to his parties. The Chaplin room is fascinating.
Tea and coffee are offered at the end of the tour.
The rooms are beautiful and luxurious.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anoka
Level Contributor
157 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Wow what an interesting home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is the second largest private home in the United States and it has a very interesting story behind it. It can be toured if you call ahead and can be there at the time of the tour which is around 11:00AM and if there is nothing else being done at the mansion that the tour would interfere with.The tour was informative and lasted a couple hours. We had lunch following and it was excellent and on the upscale side. You can have weddings etc. there or just stay like a hotel if rooms are available.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SDeuker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
176 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Life of Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

While staying 4 nights on Long Island we booked a tour here.
Oheka Castle is on par with the Newport RI mansions tours. But I enjoyed this one more.
It is a private residence, hotel, and function hall, and a movie set for the program Royal Pains as well as other shows. Because of the expense of the property, this is how the owner raises money to pay for the upkeep.

The tour was $25 which included self serve tea or coffee and cookies after the tour in the main ball room. We enjoyed that and opted for the tour and lunch additional $25 (plus tip and tax)

The tour guide was quite good. We learned about the history and saw many of the rooms which are now common space. Each room was quite elegant. Because the house fell into shambles none of the furnishing are original. The grounds are beautiful. After the tour, we were free to walk around the grounds or rooms to take more pictures. We was one hotel room. WoW.

Lunch was elegant. We could order any two courses. I chose jumbo shrimp wrapped in bacon and grilled. Fantastic. The filet minion sandwich was the best. It was so big I needed to bring half home. We dined in a small room overlooking the gardens. So beautiful. The service was top notch. A 5-Star
The Oheka owner of the castle came and greeted each table. He was so nice!!! Just a regular guy who loves what he does. He has spent 30 years restoring his home, rents out rooms, fancy weddings are held here as well as other functions.

I have been to many historical homes and I truly enjoyed the tour and elegant lunch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingteacher51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“OHEKA - HOLIDAY EVERY DAY !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Long Island! Gold Coast! Oheka ! Three names - one amazing celebration of your soul, whatever you do there - getting tour or dining... If you live in New York or around, if you are a guest in our great and huge city, Oheka must be on a must list. Many thanks to Otto Kahn, who built this unique castle, but even more thanks to the family which had revived the castle which was destroyed. And still working on it. We were lucky to have a tour with a super-professional guide Ms. Lora. Sorry, I could be wrong, because what she did was a great 1 hour show with history, drama and soul involved. If you plan to see Oxeka, make reservation for the tour with a lunch, - you will double your pleasure, because after you've received a big wave of a great mood a lunch in their stylish, well arranged restaurant is amazing koda for hours you spent in Oheka. Not only Ms. Lora ! Many thanks to Mr. Ernie Avallone, the real Master of bar and restaurant service, he added his own magic... Without him we (me and my wife) will never know what is Mozarella En Carrozza or Capellini Frutti. We were on a tour in a middle of May - the weather was perfect, and if you see my photo gallery you'll most probably catch the aura of this place and without any doubt 'll follow our idea.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alftul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oheka Castle Mansion Tours also viewed

 

Been to Oheka Castle Mansion Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing