We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great outdoor experience”

Caumsett State Park
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Huntington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
L.I.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great outdoor experience”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

awesome views, great bike and walking trails, horses, bathrooms and plenty of places to sit and relax!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PIA666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    35
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful all year around”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I try to get to Caumsett a few times a year as it is a wonderful way to get some exercise in. No pets allowed.

I find the best time is during the week because the weekends tend to be a lot more crowded with cyclists, families and cars. There are horse stables and trails, that creates traffic too when the horse owners come on the weekends to take their horses out on the trails.

BE CAREFUL OF TICKS! Signs are posted all over the park. Wear light colored clothing, use bug spray and don't go poking around in the high grass and heavily wooded areas. My friends & I were careful to stay on the trails and take all the precautions but somehow, a tick was found on my friend's neck. Luckily, it wasn't imbedded and was removed easily - she was lucky.

Pack a picnic lunch. You can walk down to the beach (about 2 miles from the entrance) and you can even fish from the shore (no swimming though!).

There is a lovely, peaceful garden close to the entrance - very tranquil (again, I go on a weekday to avoid cars, bicyclists and lots of children). I will go so far as to take a day off from work to achieve this, it is well worth it.

$8 admission/parking fee unless you're a member.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AsISeeThem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantagh, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely, historic park”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Love walking the paths and trails here. Very scenic. Recommend a visit to Lloyd's Neck Harbor to experience this state park.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Park, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Bike Ride”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Pretty grounds, amazing views. A nice day walk or bike ride, can easily do a few laps around. Bathrooms and water fountains conveniently located.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rokkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hicksville, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect escape from the noise & hustle of the city”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I would recommend every Long Islander and visitor to come spend the day at Caumsett. The drive there is beautiful once you get off the parkway and the back roads take you past some of the most attractive estates that the island has to offer. Driving past the water near the park almost makes it seem like you are in a private getaway rather than NY. During the on season there is a fee to park however that can be avoided depending how early or late you arrive. The trails start right off the parking lot and it could not be a more serene picture. Barns, a museum, horse ranch and trees all lining a path that stretches down to a lovely beach. Perfect for families, bicyclists, runners, etc.. The beauty of the park is a great distraction and I would go there every day if I could.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MariannaHenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caumsett State Park also viewed

 

Been to Caumsett State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing