We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stone House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Stone House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hurley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Especially if you appreciate history, this is a real find. The Stone House is comfortably modernized, but always with a view to respecting its 17th century past. The very sweet and friendly hosts, Sam and Nadia, have art backgrounds which are evident in the beautiful decor, tasteful and restrained. And they can cook too: the breakfast was scrumptious -- we enjoyed homemade granola, fresh bread, fruit AND eggs Benedict. No lunch needed!

Couldn't have been nicer. THANK YOU, S and N!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank conguirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
66
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Stone House B&B while in town for my son's graduation from Bard College. I give this B&B the highest recommendation. The owners, Sam and Nadia, are knowledgeable about the area, make guests feel at home, and serve a beautifully presented, huge, impressive, healthy breakfast with interesting people around the table. An early morning walk from the house to the creek is a must for early risers. The bed linens were wonderful, and the very tastefully decorated bedrooms and bathrooms spotless.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

What a lovely experience! The location is peaceful, the house beautifully restored, and the owners couldn't have been nicer. The food was delicious (and abundant)! Convenient to Kingston, Woodstock, Saugerties, Rhinebeck, and many other towns as well as hiking opportunities. If we're in the area again, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Charming, welcoming, heartwarming. The keeper (I am pretty sure his name was Sam) could not possibly have been kinder. He welcomed us in, gave a very brief tour, told us all pertinent info an left us to ourselves. Just the right combination of attentiveness and privacy. When we requested an ironing board he did not hesitate to set it all up for us.

The scenery is beautiful and there is plenty of land to wander about and explore. You will never forgive yourself for not bringing a camera for both interior and exterior pictures!

The food was so delicious. The other couple who shared breakfast were in great spirits too and we shared many laughs. The Spiced Plum Jam was so good we had to buy a jar.

The room was perfect. The provincial feel and modern amenities meshed in perfect complement. It felt like a fairytale.

Given the means I would take a room there full time. It could not have been a better time, highest recommendation!



Jim & Rachel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Geographer" room. It was quaint and cozy. You really could not need mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

The 1668 circa Home Along The Esopus River Is A Vintage Delight-Nicely Appointed with Antique Furnishings-The Quiet Ambiance is Engaging as are the Wonderful Hosts Sam and Nadia.We Thoroughly Enjoyed our stay-Liked the Convenient Location -Near Woodstock-Rhinbeck and Historical Sites.Enjoyed The Creative Breakfasts and Conversations with Interesting Guests. Carmen & Diane.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carmen d s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanfordville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This 1600's Dutch stone house has been lovingly restored by its owners. It overlooks the Esopus River and is within easy distance of several quaint shopping areas, historic Kingston NY and beautiful hiking.The setting is rural and peaceful yet a wide range of restaurants is within a 10 minute drive in several directions. The rooms are named after well known paintings. We stayed in the spacious Girl with a Pearl Room and enjoyed the canopy bed, jacuzzi and flat screen tv. The breakfast is delicious varying from day to day with natural ingredients. We found the hosts most gracious and accommodating during our six night stay.
Although many local tourist attractions are closed at this time of year there is still plenty to do and see, especially outdoor activities at all levels.

Room Tip: Read about each room on their website to be sure you get the amenities you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed for two nights on presidents day weekend and enjoyed the stay greatly. I like reading reviews to get a feel for an inn before booking it and I think that is really important in regards to this inn. If you are looking for a hopping place close to town and lots of activities this is not the inn for you. If you are looking for an extremely relaxing, quiet stay with a great breakfast then the stone house is for you. I really enjoyed the authenticity of the house especially things like the wide yellow pine floors (16" floor boards !), the old time fireplace and the fact that being 300 years old nothing is square anymore.
Our room (the geographer) was comfortable and quiet with a nice private bath. Being February, we did use the space heater in our room which was simple to use and left us control the temperature. If TV is important, there is only one room which has one, but none of the guest I talked to minded the peace and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and we slept great.
Breakfast was outstanding, especially for someone with celiac disease. Sam brought out GF bread each morning and served waffles, apple crisp, and a egg soufle (sp?) over the course of the 2 days all of which we excellent. There was also fruit, non GF granola and orange juice and coffee.
As far as things to do, we took a nice hike on the nearby rail trail which was beautiful even in February. We spent an afternoon in Rhinebeck which has nice shops and some good coffee houses and restaurants. There are also several nice wineries not too far from Rhinebeck. For dinner I strongly recommend the Coulinary Institute of America about 30 minutes south of Rhinebeck. You must make online reservations ahead of time and put down a $20 deposit, but the meal was sensational all made by chefs in training. The service was better than anything I have experienced in Pennsylvania. If you need a funkier experience I think Woodstock is only about 30 minutes north and also has cool shops and good food.
In summary, for a quiet peaceful stay with non intrusive inn keepers, I strongly recommend the Stone House B&B.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeReadingPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurley
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
13.9 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rondout Inn
Rondout Inn
#2 of 8 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Forsyth B&B
The Forsyth B&B
#1 of 8 in Kingston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stone House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stone House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Stone House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 476 Old Route 209, Hurley, NY 12443-5926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hurley
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hurley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Stone House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an award winning B&B located in a 300 year old house built by Dutch settlers in the 1700s, overlooking the Esopus Valley and situated between the Catskill and Shawangunk mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Stone House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing