We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Stone House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hurley B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Truly Excellent”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We could only stay one night but I am very glad we came and experienced this place. The house is beautiful, the rooms are carefully and gorgeously furnished appropriately for the historical feel of the house, and all the appointments are just perfect and showed a lot of thought and care. Breakfast was excellent as well. The hosts were the best part of the stay though - both genuinely friendly without the least hint of intrusiveness. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSpivak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
69
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Westport, CT
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Especially if you appreciate history, this is a real find. The Stone House is comfortably modernized, but always with a view to respecting its 17th century past. The very sweet and friendly hosts, Sam and Nadia, have art backgrounds which are evident in the beautiful decor, tasteful and restrained. And they can cook too: the breakfast was scrumptious -- we enjoyed homemade granola, fresh bread, fruit AND eggs Benedict. No lunch needed!

Couldn't have been nicer. THANK YOU, S and N!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conguirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Stone House B&B while in town for my son's graduation from Bard College. I give this B&B the highest recommendation. The owners, Sam and Nadia, are knowledgeable about the area, make guests feel at home, and serve a beautifully presented, huge, impressive, healthy breakfast with interesting people around the table. An early morning walk from the house to the creek is a must for early risers. The bed linens were wonderful, and the very tastefully decorated bedrooms and bathrooms spotless.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

What a lovely experience! The location is peaceful, the house beautifully restored, and the owners couldn't have been nicer. The food was delicious (and abundant)! Convenient to Kingston, Woodstock, Saugerties, Rhinebeck, and many other towns as well as hiking opportunities. If we're in the area again, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Charming, welcoming, heartwarming. The keeper (I am pretty sure his name was Sam) could not possibly have been kinder. He welcomed us in, gave a very brief tour, told us all pertinent info an left us to ourselves. Just the right combination of attentiveness and privacy. When we requested an ironing board he did not hesitate to set it all up for us.

The scenery is beautiful and there is plenty of land to wander about and explore. You will never forgive yourself for not bringing a camera for both interior and exterior pictures!

The food was so delicious. The other couple who shared breakfast were in great spirits too and we shared many laughs. The Spiced Plum Jam was so good we had to buy a jar.

The room was perfect. The provincial feel and modern amenities meshed in perfect complement. It felt like a fairytale.

Given the means I would take a room there full time. It could not have been a better time, highest recommendation!



Jim & Rachel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Geographer" room. It was quaint and cozy. You really could not need mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The 1668 circa Home Along The Esopus River Is A Vintage Delight-Nicely Appointed with Antique Furnishings-The Quiet Ambiance is Engaging as are the Wonderful Hosts Sam and Nadia.We Thoroughly Enjoyed our stay-Liked the Convenient Location -Near Woodstock-Rhinbeck and Historical Sites.Enjoyed The Creative Breakfasts and Conversations with Interesting Guests. Carmen & Diane.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carmen d s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanfordville
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This 1600's Dutch stone house has been lovingly restored by its owners. It overlooks the Esopus River and is within easy distance of several quaint shopping areas, historic Kingston NY and beautiful hiking.The setting is rural and peaceful yet a wide range of restaurants is within a 10 minute drive in several directions. The rooms are named after well known paintings. We stayed in the spacious Girl with a Pearl Room and enjoyed the canopy bed, jacuzzi and flat screen tv. The breakfast is delicious varying from day to day with natural ingredients. We found the hosts most gracious and accommodating during our six night stay.
Although many local tourist attractions are closed at this time of year there is still plenty to do and see, especially outdoor activities at all levels.

Room Tip: Read about each room on their website to be sure you get the amenities you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurley
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
875 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Beekman Arms and Delamater Inn
3.6 mi away
A Kingston Bed & Breakfast
4.6 mi away
1850 House Inn & Tavern
1850 House Inn & Tavern
#1 of 2 in Rosendale
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stone House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stone House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Stone House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 476 Old Route 209, Hurley, NY 12443-5926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hurley
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hurley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Stone House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an award winning B&B located in a 300 year old house built by Dutch settlers in the 1700s, overlooking the Esopus Valley and situated between the Catskill and Shawangunk mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Stone House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing