We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Stone House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hurley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ham Lake
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and charming”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was just what we were looking for after a trip to NYC! The peace was most welcomed! The inn is charming and warm and the sheets on the bed are to die for! Sam & Nadia made us feel at home and helped us familiarize ourselves with the area and things to see. Breakfast was delicious and well presented. We'd visit again (but leave out the NYC part)!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
66
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Highland, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Sam and Nadia were wonderful hosts. We stayed in the Girl With a Pearl Earring room (complete with DVD of said), with an amazing canopy bed and extra large jacuzzi-type bathtub; it was super romantic. The room was clean, simply and pleasingly decorated, and had beautiful natural light. There were cookies, Pellegrino, oatmeal soaps... so many nice touches adding up to a feeling of welcoming and warmth.

Sam brought breakfast each morning and was a really interesting person to converse with. Sam's contemporary artwork is displayed throughout and so we got to dwell with some gorgeous fine art as well. Nadia gave us a great tour when we arrived.

We can't think of anything negative to say. The Stone House B&B was gracious but not precious. An air of informality and calm and kindness prevailed. We were able to fully relax. We would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We loved our large Girl with the Pearl Earring Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I just got back from my Second visit to The Stone House Bed and Breakfast. We stayed in December while looking for a home up in the area, and when I went back this week I immediately called up the proprietors because this house is a wonderful place to stay.

I feel like I must respond to "Lindabutti's "Disappointing" review, not because I'm friends with the owners but simply because I believe what she wrote is inaccurate. The Inn is wonderfully decorated in the old dutch style - simple, uncluttered, extremely clean and warm. I've been staying at B&B's for years now, and what I like most about this place is probably all the reasons Linda doesn't like it. It's Clean, Historically accurate, perfectly appointed,very convenient and feels like a home. I believe what Lindabutti is looking for is a gaudy, overly-cluttered 'european' experience: which if she has ever visited a true dutch home - she won't find it.

The reason we like to stay here is the total silence, the beautiful views of the Esopus river, the spotless and beautiful rooms and kind service. Breakfast is spot on - it will keep you full all day: Freshly baked breads, granola and a full on egg/pancake/meat option. And most of all, the proprietors are wonderful; friendly, helpful and they don't hover like some Inn owners.

To recap - Great location for Ulster County visits, Great Service, Clean and Beautiful rooms, Historically accurate with modern day accruements, and friendly owners: we will be back!

Room Tip: IF you can choose a room that faces the river - it's a wonderful way to wake up in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staten island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My husband and I were totally unprepared for this B&B.....we expected a warm, decorated, lush, beautiful room with a European experience, as was advertised, but we found the place to be very average. First of all, they advertised a fireplace; great idea, it's winter! There was a fireplace, but it didnt work, it had only candles in it. The house had nice features, but they were not brought out as much as they could be; the decor was sparse and not not nicely decorated. Our room was a great disappointment; although it had a canopy bed, it was barely decorated and felt uninviting and cold. The bed was very comfortable, the tub was excellent, the food very good, but that was it....For the expensive price, it should have been more carefully thought about and more inviting. It was not.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lindabutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We spent a couple of nights at the Stone House while visiting the Hudson Valley area. The location was perfect for exploring the area and was actually surprisingly close to Woodstock as well. The B&B was extremely charming with both historic appeal and modern amenities. Sam and Nadia provided great assistance in planning for both day hikes and sight-seeing. They offered fantastic breakfast options with wonderful artisan style breads! The room was well appointed, comfortable, and spotless. We did not have a television in our room which actually made for a more relaxing/quiet stay. We will definitely return during our next Hudson visit.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are appointed with televisions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This was our first bed and breakfast experience, and it couldn't have been any better. The owners are so polite and helpful, and great cooks. Breakfast was eggs Benedict, homemade bread, homemade granola, and they even gave us a celebratory muffin for our anniversary! The house is remarkable and beautiful, historical yet modern. The room we stayed in was the Geographer, which had a whirlpool. Everything was so clean and immaculate. It is close to Rhinebeck and Hyde Park (20 minutes), if you want to visit the Vanderbilt Mansion or FDR's home.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheeba V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We spent a lovely two nights at this elegant bed and breakfast inn, full of art and antiques. The rooms (with air-conditioning!) and beds were very comfortable and complete in all particulars. The hosts were kind and attentive, and breakfast was excellent, the waffles feather-light, the best I've ever eaten. The inn is well located near Uptown Kingston and a 20-minute drive to Woodstock or Saugerties. An excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rm_bronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurley
9.0 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Rondout Inn
Rondout Inn
#3 of 8 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
4.8 mi away
Church des Artistes Guest House
4.9 mi away
The Forsyth B&B
The Forsyth B&B
#1 of 8 in Kingston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stone House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stone House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Stone House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 476 Old Route 209, Hurley, NY 12443-5926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hurley
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hurley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Stone House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an award winning B&B located in a 300 year old house built by Dutch settlers in the 1700s, overlooking the Esopus Valley and situated between the Catskill and Shawangunk mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Stone House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing