We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place--highly highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Stone House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hurley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
aab023
1 review
“A wonderful place--highly highly recommended”
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We had a wonderful stay at this B&B. The house itself was gorgeous and the grounds were very pretty, with a creek running behind the house. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. The breakfasts were FABULOUS--delicious, filling and beautifully presented. The service was warm and gracious. Sam & Nadia went above and beyond to make sure that our stay was comfortable, to tell us about local sights, and to share the history of the house with us. We will definitely return and recommend this B&B highly!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aab023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
66
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2009

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend in early December. The Stone House is beautifully cared for and feels both historic and modern. It is meticulously clean, tidy, and filled with interesting antiques. Yet it is completely uncluttered and feels open and fresh. Sam is very knowledgeable about the house and its history as well as the surrounding area. He'll even take you on a tour of the attic and other unrenovated areas, which is fascinating.
We stayed in the room called Girl with a Pearl Earring. It was spacious and lovingly decorated in the spare style of the rest of the house. The bathroom had modern fixtures, which somehow blended seamlessly into the overall design. The jacuzzi seemed like a relaxing way to end the evening, but it was so loud that I quickly decided on a regular bath instead. The provided toiletries were first-class.
The bed was comfortable, but not very firm, and the linens felt wonderfully luxurious. We heard noise from the hallway from late-arriving guests; sound seems to travel more than you would expect, so bring earplugs if you think this will bother you.
And now we come to breakfast. Wow. Nadia is not anywhere near as social as Sam, but she is a really fine cook. The meal comes in three courses. The first course is granola so delicious I would eat it every day. The second course is something hot and hearty: The first day was waffle with maple syrup and honey-thyme sauce that all the guests enthused about; the second day we had vegetable frittatas. The last course is sweet: The first day we had scones with excellent homemade preserves and/or clotted cream; the second day was orange-flavored flan. Plus juice and coffee/tea. If you like good food, you will be very satisfied.
The Stone House is gracious and low-key. It's very romantic but not cloying or obnoxious. It's a quiet, calm place that is a part of American history so old most of us are not even aware of it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyceditrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

WONDERFUL! Spacious immaculate accommodations in a historic beautifully restored stone house. Spectacular view from our Lacemaker Room. Peaceful and quiet. The perfect getaway for our 25th anniversary. Delicious breakfast especially the french toast with maple syrup tapped from their own maple trees on the grounds. (You have to tap 50 gallons worth to make just one gallon of maple syrup!) Nadia and Sam are accommodating hosts, warm and friendly. Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller10021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed at The Stone House for one night at the end of our trip to America. We chose it because of it's rural location and easy access to Newark airport, from where we were flying home the next day.
We knew the B & B was still a work in progress and as Nadia showed us around we were able to view the rooms still under renovation. The rooms that have been renovated are lovely each with their individual character, comfortable and stylish.
Nadia and Sam were very open, warm and welcoming and we immediately felt relaxed.
The thing that made this B & B different was the incredible history that the house had, and was still, revealing to Nadia and Sam. Much of the history is on view in the living room in various forms!
Nadia booked a table for us at a marvellous restaurant a short drive a way. After a lovely meal we returned and ,over a bottle of wine, we quized Sam further about the history.
Breakfast the next day was lovely, which included Nadia's homemade granola, toast, buttermilk pancakes and bacon and a sweet french flan ( the name of which escapes me), all delicious.
It would be so interesting to return to The Stone House in a few years to see the further renovations and changes. We wish Sam & Nadia good luck, keep up the hard work it will be worth it as the house is gorgeous. We really enjoyed our brief but very interesting stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

My husband and I just spent one night at a new B&B in Hurley, the Stone House Inn. Owners Nadia and Sam just opened their inn in April and it is the first B&B in the picturesque, cobblestoned village of Hurley. Our trip was a last minute decision and we were grateful for the accommodation. We recommend this wonderful B&B to anyone looking for a quiet and romantic stay in the Woodstock area. Although it’s a 15 minute drive to Woodstock, the historic house is in a lovely setting on the Old Route 209 with the Eposus creek running past the property down the hill. The location is great for anyone looking to check out the surrounding area of Ulster County with its rolling green hills and farmhouses at the foothills of the Catskill Mts. Although you are only a few minutes off I-87 (NYS Thruway), you feel as though you are in old Dutch colonial home. All the rooms are named after Vermeer paintings. Our room, Girl with the Pearl Earring, was spacious and delightful with 18th century inspired period furniture, with a modern ensuite bathroom with jacuzzi tub that brings you back to the modern age. The breakfast was a delicious, home cooked, three course feast in the lovely main room, with antique furnishings. We are already planning on next trip back to visit the towns on the Hudson (Kingston, Rhinebeck)!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetset718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hurley
9.0 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Rondout Inn
Rondout Inn
#3 of 8 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
4.8 mi away
Church des Artistes Guest House
4.9 mi away
The Forsyth B&B
The Forsyth B&B
#1 of 8 in Kingston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stone House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stone House Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Stone House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 476 Old Route 209, Hurley, NY 12443-5926
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hurley
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hurley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Stone House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an award winning B&B located in a 300 year old house built by Dutch settlers in the 1700s, overlooking the Esopus Valley and situated between the Catskill and Shawangunk mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Stone House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing