We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take it from these first-time Timberlockers - BEST VACATION EVER!!!!!!”
Review of Timberlock

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Indian Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Timberlock
Reviewed 3 September 2011

When I told my husband that I wanted to take our summer vacation at Timberlock, he thought I was joking. No electric lights? No cell phone, television or internet connectivity? Sleep in a cabin??? Yet, we did it and I am so happy we did! Like many other folks we met at Timberlock, we will be going every year from now on. We met many people who had been going for years and many of the staffers were those who came to Timberlock as children.

Our experience at Timberlock was unparalleled. Upon our evening arrival, Holly and her friendly dogs greeted us like we were guests at her home. She led us on a short tour, gave us warm cake and milk and the staff assisted us with our bags. Our cabin was no frills, as described - a comfortable bed, a porch, gas lights, a small sofa, a wood stove and a bathroom. It became our little home at camp and we grew to love it! But what we loved even more were the activities. A stay at Timberlock is like being at sleep-away summer camp, except you get to choose all your activities! We sailed, swam, bounced on the lake trampoline, used the rope swing, waterskied, hiked, played soccer, kayaked, canoed, used the archery field, horseback rode and more. There was also plenty of down-time to sit in front of the lodge fireplace or on the porch overlooking the lake and mountains to read a book and relax. We are a thirty-something couple, but everyone there was having fun - from the little kids to the seventy-year old campers! Bruce and Holly are wonderful hosts and very accommodating. The food was awesome. The staff was amazing. We loved the nighttime singalong (Timber Tunes) and the paper plate award ceremony. The other campers were so friendly and laid-back. When we arrived home, the telephone conversation with my mom was reminiscent of a much younger time: "Oh my gosh, mom, camp was so fun! Jon scored TWO goals in soccer and he got up waterskiing on his very first try! We hiked two mountains and caught some fish! The horse I rode was so friendly. We made some great friends! I can't wait to go back next year!!"

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank thehappycouple6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2011

We've been doing family vacations at Timberlock for decades. It suits us very well. Rustic cabins, a beautiful setting, good family-style food, more activities than you could ever utilize fully (but we've tried!), friendly staff and owners. It is not, however, for everyone, something that is made clear when one initially calls for information. Talk to Bruce, Holly, Dick or Barb about what it's really like when you call ahead and you can make an informed choice. Can't wait for the summer...our kids, at Christmas, used to say, "only 6 more months until Timberlock again!".

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank xml167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I took my extended family, 14 of us ranging from 14 months to 80 years and we all had such a wonderful time that I am already booking for 2011. Small, rustic, no electricity, great food, a million things to do for every age, but no pressure to "do" anything, and a warm friendly, kind and fun atmosphere that is unmatched. If you want an Adirondack adventure, a trip back to a less electronic age, the gift of nature, interesting people, and great food - don't hesitate, book today !

Marge Karowe, Schenectady NY

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mkarowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We loved our stay. The camp is rustic...it's a camp! We loved the atmosphere- casual and relaxed. Indian lake is beautiful. The staff were entertaining and fun. Food was delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Indian Lake
9.2 mi away
Garnet Hill Lodge
Garnet Hill Lodge
#1 of 1 in North River
69 reviews
15.3 mi away
Gore Mountain Lodge
Gore Mountain Lodge
#1 of 4 in North Creek
125 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Alpine Lodge
The Alpine Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Creek
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
Pine Tree Motel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Chestertown
59 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Fern Lodge
The Fern Lodge
#1 of 8 in Chestertown
217 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Copperfield Inn Resort
The Copperfield Inn Resort
#3 of 4 in North Creek
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberlock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberlock

Address: Sabael Rd., Indian Lake, NY
Region: United States > New York > Indian Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Indian Lake
Price Range: £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Timberlock Hotel Indian Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing