We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Warm, Cozy, Comfortable Stay”
Review of Nelson's Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inlet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nelson's Cottages
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Inlet
Certificate of Excellence
Acra, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Warm, Cozy, Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I spent many a summer, in my childhood, on Fourth Lake. My family used to vacation there, so in the last 4 years I've been bringing my wife up there to show her what I loved so much about it. Normally we camp in Old Forge, but this year I decided it was time to stay in a cabin right on the lake. So we booked at Nelson's Cottages for 3 nights.

While my family stayed elsewhere on the Lake, I wanted to give something new a try and we were glad we did. We ended up staying in Kentucky, and the cabin was much more than we were expecting. We ended up with a full kitchen, that had everything you needed in it to cook a meal, a decent sized living room, a separate bedroom with a double bed. The cabin was spotless and very well kept.

The over all stay was one of the most relaxing times I've had up in the Adirondacks. The other guests as well as Ken, Linda, and Julie were all warm and inviting. Sunsets at the lake are breath taking. And over all, I see this as a place that I would want to take my kids (when we finally have some).

It's definitely worth the stay, and My wife and I plan on staying again. Hopefully sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: Kentucky and Ohio seem to be the two best cabins for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    18
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
40
38
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at the Nelson's for a week and had a great time. There is plenty to do in Old Forge and Inlet. The Nelson's have a canoe and kayaks we used to explore the lake and do some fishing. The cabins are clean and comfortable. Ours had a kitchen that was well stocked with dishes, glasses and utensils. At night we would have a campfire by the lake and make smores while telling stories and listening to the loone's call each other. My family will definitely be making the trip to the Nelson's cottages again next year.Skip

Room Tip: We stayed in Kentucky and it was the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilion, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Can not ask for a more inviting famly than the Nelson's!! They go out of there way to make sure you have a best stay when you are in the adirondack mts!! The propery is so well kept. They are always there to answer any questions about where to go and what to do. Restaurants, hikes, attractions, you name it they know about it! We look forward to seeing them every year and are always sad to leave! Thank you Nelson family for being so good to us!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2013

had one of the best fourth of july.the nelson family treats you great.the cottages are one of the best of adk experiences,the lake is just steps away and the sunsets are breath taking. inlet is a five minute walk away.to linda,ken,julie thank you for making a family memory i will never forget.Jeff

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff14525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellenburg, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were looking last minute for a room near old forge and found Nelson's. We could not have been more pleased. The staff was friendly and welcoming. It felt as though she knew us for years yet we just met. The cabin was very clean and larger than expected. They have a swing set, slide, ping pong table, basketball hoop all near our cabin the kids could play while we relaxed on our furnished porch. The lake is breath taking at sunset and again kid friendly with a roped in swim area. We look forward to the next time to use the kayak and canoes thy offer. The fireplace had wood available. We met a family who has been going every year for 24 years. We can see why! My family has already talked about going back. Thank you Nelson's for being our needle in a haystack this weekend. What an amazing find!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We were not able to stay at Nelson's Cottages, but stopped in looking for a last minute place to stay with a dog. The Innkeeper invited us in her home (dinner time) to use her phone (cell phone service is sketchy) and assisted me in finding a place in the area with a vacancy and that allows dogs. She was truly passionate about Inlet, the Adirondacks and excited to assist others in enjoying such an amazing place! Thank you! We will definitely include this in our places to stay when we are in the area without our dog (cute cottages, great location). Although we couldn't stay with our dog (with the set up, it is absolutely understandable), the Innkeeper was very "pet-friendly" and people-friendly!

Room Tip: talk with The Innkeeper - she is happy to assist you in making the most of your stay in Inlet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolwernerlmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
474 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Haven't been to the ADK mountains for over 40 years, but plan on another trip next year and the only place to stay in my mind, is Nelson's Cottages. The owners, Linda and Ken go WAY out of their way to make sure guests have what they need rain or shine!

The views from the dock are spectacular and the resort feels like a "home away from home" with a kitchen in the cabin. Loved the fact that the full size refrigerator had room for everything we had with us, plus lots of room for wine! The front porch of the cottages provide a great gathering spot for guests and entertainment watching the darling chipmonks.

Our weather was a bit colder than planned and definitely more rain than we were expecting, but the Nelson's warmed our hearts with their Adirondack hospitality! We're looking forward to returning. Pat & Rich Chicago, IL

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mom98wmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inlet
3.2 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
6.0 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
9.3 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
10.6 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelson's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelson's Cottages

Property: Nelson's Cottages
Address: 128 Route 28, PO Box 357, Inlet, NY 13360-1604
Region: United States > New York > Inlet
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Inlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring the area's most sensational sunsets. Come vacation at Nelson's Cottages, a family-oriented vacation resort in the beautiful Adirondack Mountains! We're located on scenic Fourth Lake, within walking distance of the small Adirondack community of Inlet, located just 10 miles north of Old Forge. Stay in immaculate comfortable housekeeping cottages which have full kitchens and bathrooms with showers. Or you can stay for a weekend or overnight trip in one of our motel units. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nelsons Hotel Inlet
Nelsons Resort Inlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing