We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another favorite”
Review of Hard Times Cafe - CLOSED

Hard Times Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Rocky Point
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another favorite”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We've been coming to Eagle Bay for 12 years, and always thought that the Hard Times was a bar. It's got an awesome front porch, but beer signs that are deceiving. The inside is ADORABLE. Little bears, and moose, and deer. It's so quaint and charming. The food is good, with good choices, but can miss on a steak. If you get a decent waitress you'll have a great visit, but they will "sometimes" have newer ones, who don't seem particularly well trained before taking a table. That being said, we are really fairly easygoing, so as long as a place is friendly and our food isn't burned or something, we will enjoy a time out. And this place has a friendly staff, cheap food, good menu options, and it close and adorable. We'll always go back,

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    7
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food...lackluster service.”
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

The breakfast was pretty good, nothing spectacular...just a good, quick breakfast. Only one waitress working, so she was in a less than pleasant mood.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joeyFatone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopedale, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My husband and I stopped here for lunch and had a wonderful meal. I had a cheese burger and fries. The burger was cooked perfectly and the fries were delicious. My husband had the tuna melt and it was delightful. The restaurant was clean and the wait staff was very busy, a tentative and friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kateerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bartenders here are the best!”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Great place for locals and visitors! This truly made our Adirondack experience!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston Spa, New York
Level Contributor
227 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Value, great linch!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My sister and I stopped here for lunch on our way to a weekend of geocaching events in Long Lake. We definitely felt that it is a winner! We both selected the soup and (whole) sandwich special--we had a choice of 3 diffrent types of sandwiches and 5 !!! interesting kinds of homemade soups for only $4.95. Sis pronounced her tuna sandwich (not too much mayo) and bean soup yummy. I also enjoyed my grilled cheese sandwich and New England seafood chowder.

We enjoyed the casual but clean ambience--loved the kiddie drawings!--and the good service. (nice ladies room too!). In fact we liked the place well enough to stop for lunch on the way home on Sunday. Service was a little slower that day. Sis went again for (different) soup and sandwich but I tried the chili cheese burrito--again we weren't disappointed. We'll be back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nwk_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing