We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Adirondack Gem”
Review of The Woods Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woods Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Inlet
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Adirondack Gem”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Check out the guide tents at the Woods Inn in Inlet, New York where our sleep was disturbed only by peepers, birds, and the gentle lapping of waves on the shore of Fourth Lake within a short stroll of quaint “downtown” Inlet, New York. A gentle rain in the morning added to the charm of the surroundings.

Innkeepers Jay and Joedda go to great lengths to assure the comfort of their guests where the size of the tents are so generous they easily accommodate a queen size bed, Adirondack chair, footstool, armoire, desk, trunk, and end tables. Electric heaters and fans are included.
Adjacent to the tent’s front porch (two more Adirondack chairs) was the privy which is constructed by sturdy rough logs and had a two headed shower, benches, and granite counter tops!

After enjoying a drink in the Inn’s tavern, I recommend that you take advantage of dinner at the Woods Inn. And, don’t miss the $6 buffet breakfast in the dining room or on the back porch with its terrific view of Fourth Lake.

This old inn’s expansive lawn is filled with more Adirondack chairs and spills down to the lake and its boat dock that attacks happy hour and dinner guests as well as fisherpeople who wish to try their luck with rod and reel. If interested in something more venturesome, rent a kayak or canoe from the Frisky Otter (on premises) where Connie will properly outfit you with all the right gear and equipment.

Pass on the guide tent if you prefer smaller accommodations and the more traditional feel of an inn. But, seriously consider a guide tent if you want a delightful change of pace that is in the spirit of the history of the Adirondacks and without the inconvenience of roughing it.

Room Tip: There are only three guide tents at the Woods Inn, so make a reservation well in advance of your tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    37
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
46
73
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here over Valentine's Day weekend in February. The food was excellent for breakfast and dinner. Our first night we arrived quite late, but the owner held a place for us for dinner when I called ahead and said we would be getting in late. I thought that was considerate. The waitresses were very pleasant. The owners were very nice as well. The location is as optimal as you can get in the Adirondacks - right on the eastern edge of Fourth Lake. It was centrally located to all the hikes we had planned. There is certainly plenty to do there to keep busy. With that being said, our room did not look like the pictures, apart from the fact that there is a whirlpool tub in it. Some cleaning would be in order. The bathrooms and dining areas were very clean, but most of the hallways and our room were quite musty. There was dog feces outside our door in the hallway the second morning when we left. We thought it was more funny than gross, but that's something that shouldn't happen. The upstairs floors are quite slanted to the point of noticing it when you lie down on a bed, but the building must be 100+ years old and the Adirondack winters wreak havoc on the settling of buildings.The bartender downstairs was very nasty to me for no reason. She scowled at me when I asked for two Blue Lights. I had no idea why. Maybe it was because we were the youngest people there by 15 years and she thought we were under age? However, after we produced ids , the scowling persisted. Either way, her demeanor was unacceptable to me. Staying anywhere in the Adirondacks is expensive so you get what you pay for. My girlfriend and I had a lot of fun on our weekend trip, I would probably go back again - but we will not being going to the bar. Service would get 5 stars from me if it weren't for the bartender. The service apart was her was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adkinnkeeper, Guest Relations Manager at The Woods Inn, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Robert,

I'm glad to hear that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay at The Woods Inn. We are passionate about the Adirondack setting and ensuring that our Inn continues to provide the most comfortable, enjoyable, relaxing, and fun stay people could want in the Adirondacks. We encourage you to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dansville, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I stayed three nights in this wonderful old inn. The owners and staff made us feel like we had known them for years. We wanted a place to stay to take advantage of snowshoeing on some of our favorite trails, and this was perfect. I loved the fact that they kept it looking like turn of the century with the decor, and added some nice modern touches to the rooms. The morning breakfast was a one price buffet, and it was just what we needed to hike for the morning. We ate in the tavern one evening and shared lobster mac and cheese and a panini. Very tasty! We look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: The top two floors with the rooms facing the lake were fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have come to this wonderful home away from home for a number of years to go snowmobiling with my friends. Each and everytime we are welcomed like we were just there yesterday. Beyond the great historic restoration and rooms that are always ready and clean, the food is some of the best I have ever had, and that view is shared by everyone I have been there with me. I dont write reviews much, but this is far and beyond the best experience and well worth the trip for a couple or a group. This year we were with 8 others and the owners were very able to accomodate all of us, and really made for a great trip. We are all trying to get back later this year, and I wont stay anywhere else. Freindly and Fantastic!

Room Tip: quieter on south side if you go in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregMan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Found this place on trip advisor after snowmobiling all day went on all the good reviews and found it to be excellent the owners were very nice nice atmosphere easy to get there on snowmobile .i had lamb shank was very good .friend had chicken pot pie he said same thing .will go back in a few weeks

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank outside1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inlet, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We could not have imagined having a more amazing wedding than the one hosted by The Woods Inn in August of 2013. As a former event planner, I have an eye for detail and have a difficult time letting go; I did, with my daughters insistence, and can honestly say that our experience was wonderful beyond our greatest expectations. Joedda and Jay, the owners, and their staff, were attentive to our every need: the rooms were immaculate with generous amenities; the food was exceptional, the setting, absolutely charming, historical and elegantly rustic.
My daughter had the wedding of her dreams, thanks to The Woods Inn. I will be forever grateful for their hospitality and graciousness. I would recommend The Woods Inn Inn to if you if you MUST have it all, like we did, and everything MUST be perfect, priced reasonably; in addition, be given the assurance that you and your guests will be treated like royalty; we couldn't be happier.

Room Tip: You will find many amazing rooms, in various areas of the INN; we particularly like the ones upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commack
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We just came back from a Columbus Day weekend at the Woods Inn. Yes it is an older building but it is also warm, cozy and homey. It has a lovely restaurant with good food. The tavern was lively with great music. Their living room has a cable TV. They also have a game room with a foosball and pool table. Next door was an independent boat rental facility if you wanted to get out on the lake. There are lots of hiking trails nearby. The best is the porch, lawn and new boat dock overlooking beautiful 4th lake. The innkeepers were friendly and accommodating. The Woods Inn in Inlet, NY is a great meeting place in the middle of the Adirondacks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1lfc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inlet
3.2 mi away
Great Pines
Great Pines
#4 of 12 in Old Forge
90 reviews
10.5 mi away
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
Adirondack Lodge Old Forge
#8 of 12 in Old Forge
182 reviews
6.0 mi away
Big Moose Inn
Big Moose Inn
#1 of 1 in Eagle Bay
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#1 of 6 in Inlet
153 reviews
9.2 mi away
Clark's Beach Motel
Clark's Beach Motel
#10 of 12 in Old Forge
97 reviews
9.3 mi away
Pine Knoll Lodge & Cabins Inc
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woods Inn

Property: The Woods Inn
Address: 148 Rte. 28, Inlet, NY 13360
Region: United States > New York > Inlet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Inlet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored turn of the century inn with tavern and restaurant. Situated on Fourth Lake in Inlet with amazing Adirondack views. This is an award - winning historic property we designed to be a true Adirondack experience. The decor is meant to be campy shabby - chic. While we have added the modern conveniences that we think were lacking in the past century, we have tried to create a less stressful mountain environment that brings back another time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Woods Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woods Hotel Inlet
Woods Hotel Inlet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing