We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families”

Lively Run Goat Dairy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Lively Run Goat Dairy is one of the longest operating commercial goat dairies in the country, beginning production in New York State in 1982 and pioneering goat cheese in the American marketplace. The entire Messmer family works to continue the mission of bringing to the Finger Lakes region healthy, sustainable and delicious goat cheese. Come visit the farm, get a tour, see our baby goats in the spring, eat some cheese cake, and most importantly - try our cheese!
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We visited with a four-year-old for the weekday 2pm tour of the barn, which cost $5 per person/all ages. The intern was very friendly and nothing was rushed. A small kid was released into the barn so the children could casually pet her while the intern gave more detailed information to the adults. If you're feeling adventurous, they'll let you milk one of the goats.
The weekday tour didn't include a tour of the cheese-making works or a view of mechanized milking. You'll need to visit on Saturday for the cheese tour.

After the tour, the cheese tasting portion gave us an excellent overview of the offerings and really helped us decide on which cheeses met our preference before purchasing.

There is only a port-o-potty for public use, so not great for little ones.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crowski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    30
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh & delish”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Friendly intern served us both goat & cow's milk cheese. We were visiting at closing time but she accommodated our family reunion group with hospitality & a knowledgable presentation about the cheeses. Everyone bought some fresh chèvre & thoroughly enjoyed the visit. Thanks much & keep up the great work

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lchall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Kids, Nannies and Fun Gourmet Goat Farm”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had a great day at the farm as my grandaughter was allowed to feed a baby goat a bottle of milk. The farmers are extremely kind, knowledgable, and professional. The tour of the cheesemaking area was very interesting and the little store had great samples and cheesecake!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
564 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Kids galore!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were early in the season and the store wasn't quite ready but we were welcomed anyway and got to see the goats and a dozen or more young kids. Fun to see, and great cheese. Worth a visit and some cheese to take home!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cands2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinby, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Doesn't get much better than this”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stopped at Lively Run on the cheese tour. I had only had store bought goat cheese before stopping here and WOW was I surprised. I think we left with one of each. Doesn't get much better than spreading some on real NY Bagel or right off the spoon!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank VAYankee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lively Run Goat Dairy also viewed

Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Lively Run Goat Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing