We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice museum if you love fossils.”

Museum of the Earth
Ranked #15 of 62 things to do in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: PRI's Museum of the Earth was established in 2003 to provide visitors with a unique opportunity to explore our world through a mix of natural history displays, interactive science features, and art exhibitions. The museum's 8,000-square-foot permanent exhibition takes visitors on a journey through 4.5 billion years of history, from the Earth's origin to the present day. Through hands-on, visual exhibitions and outreach, the Museum of the Earth encourages critical thinking about life on Earth in the past and today, and how our species is affecting the natural world.
Victor, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice museum if you love fossils.”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stopped in for a quick visit. The museum is nicely laid out with some good exhibits. Would be nice for a school class visit. Interesting and educational.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsBarbara079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    49
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We've visited this museum several times . Located in Ithaca, NY, on Cayuga Lake, there are gorges, waterfalls and many parks nearby. This is a nice trip to combine with other local sights, shopping or restaurants. Buildings near the museum's entrance make you feel like you're going to a mysterious place in old England, but the museum itself is modern. There are fossils, skeletons of several types of dinosaurs and a whale, and many hands-on exhibits. Kids can touch and dig fossils, and there are lots of educational opportunities. There is also a lab where you can observe paleontologists at work. There's a great series of art tiles that lead down to the below-ground floor that houses the exhibits; fitting for a museum of the earth. (You're literally in it.) No restaurant; just a soda machine and basic gift shop. Worth a look.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel48713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Words cannot describe this place....must see”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The brochure said to allow at least 2 hrs to see exhibits. Let me tell you this.....it took us over 3 hrs. and still had to hurry through some of it. This is not a "dislike" because we had the time of our life and enjoyed learning so much from here. Every staff member was so helpful and added to the wonderful experience that we had. We even were able to search through some boxes of shale fossils to pick out one each for us to take home. Very educational because the staff member labeled and described the various fossils found on each of our shale pieces that we chose. We also enjoyed seeing the Hyde Park Mastodon on display.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not quite AMNH...”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

OK for the kids but I was not impressed with the place. I have come here several time over the past 18 years and think they could have spent their money in much better ways. Not well organized and very shabby if you are familiar with fossils and the like..

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmira, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun and Educational”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We love going to the Museum of the Earth and recently purchased a membership as they have temporary displays quarterly. Staff are always pleasant, friendly and helpful, the museum is always clean and exploring the evolution of the Earth is done in a fun way that provides education to children and adults. My son is 13, the first time we went he was 8. There are activities for much younger children and most of the exhibits are touchable, there are signs in areas when you cannot touch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kchi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of the Earth also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the Earth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing