We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great hotel, but I miss the eggs and potatoes for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hudson Valley, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Still a great hotel, but I miss the eggs and potatoes for breakfast”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have reviewed this hotel before. I would still give it 5 stars. The staff are nice, the suites are fantastic and roomy. I had some trouble sleeping, and it was great that I could sit and read in the living room area, without disturbing my husband, who was sleeping. The only thing that disappointed me this time, was the shortage of protein choices in the breakfast area. The only hot items we saw that day were these pre-made breakfast sandwiches (Jimmy Dean, I think?), or make-your-own waffles. I don't eat pork, so the sandwiches did not work for me (they contained bacon, I think, or was it sausage?). I like to eat some protein with my breakfast, instead of just carbs, so I was disappointed in the choices, personally. Otherwise, this hotel continues to be lovely, and we expect to be back.
Also, as an aside, this time we took time to see the nearby Buttermilk Falls, which were very impressive!

Room Tip: I've noticed that some rooms have more noise from the nearby road, than other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianasgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
There baaacccckkkkk! thanks for your feedback. We are now serving scrambled eggs and meat every day in addition to a daily rotating hot item. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    162
    51
    26
    22
See reviews for
264
91
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, New York
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip for Ithaca college. Staff was pleasant. Rooms were awesome. Hotel is a great place to stay. Great coffee! The hotel is right near the center of town about 1 mile away. Just a couoke of blocks from the college. Very quiet. Great place.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DarrenHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Your group was well behaved, polite and a joy to serve. We look forward to seeing you all again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somers Point, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I had a reservation at a horrible hotel in downtown Ithaca. The entire city was sold out. I stopped in to see if the hotel could accomodate me and explained my situation. The nighttime desk agent was awesome and found a room for me. The hotel is clean, comfortable and breakfast was included in the morning. I asked for a to go breakfast and was immediately accomodated. Love this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passivepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
I'm so glad we were able to help you last minute. I'm so happy to hear when this works out! Please do keep us in mind for your first choice when coming to Ithaca again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

We requested a jacuzzi suite and were told we had one, just to find out we were given a queen suite and charged the same price AND didn't ask if we were okay with it. Asked for a receipt and were told no. Loud and noisy dog near us barked for four hours.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballygally18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your honesty after your visit. It is important that there are 2 sides to every story. You were very pleased the night you were staying with us when we offered private usage of our pool and jacuzzi after hours to make up for the fact we did not have the jacuzzi room you requested. You enjoyed that benefit and thanked us. After our property and the corporate office offered you compensation for a future visit with us or another property you are still not happy...Sounds like there is something more you want.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Out of fairness, my reason for writing another review is because the last time we loved everything about it but the hallway smells. That has most definitely been fixed!!! It smelled fresh and clean everywhere ! The rooms are comfortable and breakfast is good so this is a great value in our opinion. Its close enough to Cornell and easy to get there!! Totally will be back!!! Thank you for listening to the consumer and correcting things!! Loved it!! P.S. they are dog friendly!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
I'm so happy you noticed the improvement. We do listen to our guests and strive for perfection everytime. When we don't, we work hard to get back to the top. Thanks for staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Excellent location if you're visiting Ithaca college campus. Our room was nice and large with two queen sized beds and a separate lounge area with a fold out sofa bed, fridge, microwave, coffee maker and large screen TV. Overall, a very spacious and comfortable suite that wouldn't be out of place in a higher grade hotel. The free internet access was reliable and very quick. Complimentary coffee and cookies were on offer in the lobby. The breakfast buffet was respectable for this class of hotel and the hotel also has very good facilities (small pool and gym).

Above all, every one of the staff, from those manning the front desk down to the cleaning staff were really friendly, helpful and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Great job guys! Keep up the good standards!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
I'm so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. It means a lot that not only did you recognize the good quality facilities we have but also the wonderful staff. We all strive to give our best everyday. We love happy guests and hope to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

For $100 you are on the road as the college. Free breakfast with make your own Belgium waffles. The indoor pool was nice and warm. The hot tub was nice. The gym had three treadmills and two other machines but were new. No one was on them. Had a queen suite on the end so we could park right outside. Very quiet. Suite had 2 beds, 2 tvs, a separate room with roll out bed, microwave and fridge. Included 2 really comfy white robes. Decor was modern and updated. Hotel was extremely clean. Complimentary coffee, tea, cocoa and papers at all times. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denisekv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmibobroff, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thanks for your great feedback. I think you got us to a "T". We strive hard to provide fabulous service and a clean property and it sounds like we have done that. Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
5.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ithaca
3.0 mi away
Best Western University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
Address: 1100 Danby Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-9404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ithaca
#4 Green Hotel in Ithaca
#5 Family Hotel in Ithaca
#6 Business Hotel in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Ithaca
Country Inn & Suites Ithaca Hotel Ithaca
Country Inn Ithaca
Ithaca Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing