We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem in the Finger Lakes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fineline Bistro - CLOSED

Fineline Bistro
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Gem in the Finger Lakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Fineline Bistro is an excellent restaurant in Ithaca, NY. The chef is adventurous and inventive and both seem to work. The service is attentive without being bothersome. The wine list is a bit weak, but the local wines are usually quite good. I highly recommend trying out Fineline Bistro.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank G0BigRed22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    21
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Place..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I've had dinner here on several occasions; always OK! I like to sit at the Chef's open kitchen bar and watch the action.. Very competent, somewhat arrogant Chef, however it's quite a nice circus act and the food is mostly good to excellant...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsted, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food in casual atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is one of those restaurants you visit and wish it was in your town. Especially for date night. In summary the food was exceptional, had some layers of sophistication yet was bundled in a semi casual atmosphere with fair prices.
The atmosphere is excellent with a cook counter and bar counter and tables between but the noise levels, even when it filled up, never reached a point where my fiance and I could not have a quite intimate conversation.
The lemon cucumbers were fun and neat way to start the meal.
We had the chipotle mussels, cooked perfect although they were a bit on the small side for a mussel there was plenty for the price. And the waiter was excellent in suggesting another round of bread to "mop up" the rest of the sauce. Definitiely something we would recommend.
We had Rack of lamb (FANTASTIC) and Flank steak both perfectly cooked. The potatoes with the rack of lamb were great.
The bread pudding was spot on! The accompaning coffee was so so but not bad.
One thing I will say about the service is the waiter was very frendly and set a real nice tone for the evenning. He began attentive but once the night progressed and they became busier he seemed very distracted and in the end we felt neglected. Others came in after us and left before. He was not over tasked as the table to waiter ratio was very very low.
All in all this place was excellent! Definitely worth a shot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Two out of three is pretty bad!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I've rarely been disappointed when visiting a restaurant based on TA reviews. This was the exception. Three of us ordered dinners of Marlin, pork tenderloin and rib eye. Both the Marlin and the pork tenderloin were overcooked and dry. When the waiter came by and asked how everything was I pointed out the overcooked food. He said he would mention it to the kitchen and we never heard from him again about it. I found it strange that no one addressed two overcooked meals, let alone an apology or offer to order another meal. I usually give restaurants at least a second try if something is not right. This time I will not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FSolofood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not quite up to par.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had a warm welcome at this restaurant. The "lemon" cucumbers (a light summer pickle) were an unusual and tasty treat offered by our server upon arrival. The atmosphere was very pleasant--not too noisy, with some interest provided by the working kitchen, which is highly visible in the front left portion of the dining room. For starters we ordered both a seasonal salad featuring beets and pomme frittes. The salad was great, but the fries were nothing special. Main courses involved fish in some form for everyone in our party. While paired with some inventive sides (pureed celariac), the fish itself was disappointing. A "blackened" catfish dish was more like a catfish fillet with some cajun seasonings--no blackening in evidence whatsoever. A grilled marlin dish was overcooked and dried out. We came away thinking we might try the restaurant again, but would avoid the fish entrees.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NellT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fineline Bistro also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing