We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Whimsical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cayuga Lake Front Inn
Ranked #6 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were fortunate to be able to stay at Diane's B & B due to a last minute change in plans. We found the rooms very charming and Diane was delightful. Our room had a private porch where we had a beautiful view of the lake. Breakfast was on the outside desk and was wonderful. It was very peaceful. Diane had added many special touches throughout the property. She was also very helpful on restaurant recommendations. We would definitely stay there again if we find ourselves back that direction.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjmclellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

I went to this b&b (the inn has two sites, and we stayed in the newer inn) with my parents and we loved it! Diane was a wonderful, delightful hostess. The inn was full during our visit and this made our stay more enjoyable as we got to meet different people. The rooms are lovely and tastefully done. As we made our reservation rather late, the only room that was left for us was the back hall on the top floor which had limited view. I saw the other rooms though, and they were beautiful. Diane and her assistant, Courtney prepared a very delicious breakfast for us on our last day. The inn is conveniently located to local attractions. I would definitely recommend this inn.

Room Tip: book in advance, specify that you want a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rossmd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Prepare for a real treat. We enjoyed every minute of our stay here. Warm friendly hostess, beautiful surroundings, comfy quiet sleeping quarters, and a spectacular view (especially at night). What more could anyone want. Well how about an outstanding breakfast of waffles drenched in scrumptious sauce, freshly squeezed orange juice and fruit. Beautifully prepared and almost too pretty to eat! Diane's engaging personality and her little touches throughout the B & B rate this A+ in our book. One more thing... Diane's appetizers are so much better than Moosewood's! This would be the perfect place for a girlfriend's weekend too. Fun and relaxing. If you can't afford Europe, come here - it's the next best thing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nationalparkPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Loved this B&B. We stayed in the fireplace room. It was beyond spectacular. From the wood burning real fireplace, to the skylights over our bed and the amazing hammock nestled in the middle of our living room, this provided the ultimate romance and peacefulness we were striving for. The bathroom was so modern yet quaint and the staff was phenomenal. I loved how we have our morning breakfast delivered to our room. It's a great location to all yest tucked away from everything else

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzieQtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

diane has two B&B's now, two places to relax and take a vacation. we have been here many times over six years and have enjoyed every visit. we can during christmas to stay the week and try can catch the water falls in their frozen state. Diane makes inventive creative delicious breakfasts for us each morning. the new inn is modern the first inn is more eclectic and, now there is a choice for guests.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nyc000888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I went as a gift from our son for my birthday. The cottage is tucked away from the main route and overlooks Lake Cayuga. This a bed and breakfast, whimsical and quiet. Our bedroom was on the top floor, with a balcony overlooking treetops and Lake Cayuga, Very peaceful. The bedroom is filled with natural light from all the windows. The bed was unbelievably comfortable. Our breakfast which was made by Christy was Delicious!
This is NOT a Ramada or Sleep Inn. Not made for kids. It is a very simple place in a comfortable setting. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: I would get the top room again, although the 2nd floor is quite pretty as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

BEST: Upon our arrival, we checked out our room on the "Balcony" level. We called Diane (owner) as requested and she directed us to Courtney who cleans the rooms. Courtney was in the "Overlook" room when we found her and we remarked on the beautiful views and lovely room. She called Diane who promptly contacted us to ask if we wanted to switch rooms...which we did and were thrilled with the flexibility to do so.

The rooms were very clean and the breakfasts were wonderful wtih a gourmet flair (thanks Mindy and Tony). Coffee and mint or cucumber water are always available. We had open access to the kitchen.

The lake "views" were beautiful. A short 15 minute hike through the overgrown vegetation and woods took us down to the lake. The hot tub was available and well maintained. The balconies were well furnished and comfortable. There are plenty of brochures of area attractions available for guests. There are no TV's in any of the rooms or common areas.

The decor is shabby chic...some liked it and appreciated the artistry.....some did not and saw only clutter. Regardless of your preference, it's evident that Daine put alot of time into decorating.

CAN USE IMPROVEMENT: There is no security. Some outside doors lock but not all. Our room had a small hand lock which made for a restless first night. The entire B&B is wide open day and night. The shabby chic decor resulted in all available surfaces being covered with pictures, books and trinkets. All closets were filled with material and decorations. We found it difficult to find enough places to put our belongings.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sanmuffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
8.1 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
8.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
8.3 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#11 of 22 in Ithaca
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#3 of 22 in Ithaca
696 reviews
9.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayuga Lake Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayuga Lake Front Inn

Address: Cayuga Lake East Shore, Ithaca, NY 14882
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range: £129 - £840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cayuga Lake Front Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Front Inns are three beautiful properties on the east shore of Cayuga Lake near Ithaca, NY. Properties include a bed and breakfast as well as private Villa houses for small groups. Accomadations include a gourmet breakfast, high speed internet, hot tub and a serene atmosphere. We currently have three artists in(n) residence on our property, and guests are welcome to visit their studios upon appointment. Set in the heart of the Finger Lakes, Lake Front Inn is Ithaca's hotel alternative. We also have room for event space rentals, including dinner parties and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cayuga Lake Front Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Cayuga Lakefront Bed And Breakfast
a Cayuga Lakefront Hotel Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing