We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view and guest service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cayuga Lake Front Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cayuga Lake Front Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great view and guest service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Debbie remembered our chat on the phone many months ago which is quite a pleasant surprise. The room was decorated beautifully and very comfortable. Would highly recommend for the convenient location and the view as well. Food was wonderful. I only had breakfast. Wish I could have their 7 course dinner. Several couples dined with the chef 3 nights in a row.

Overall, great value and wonderful experience. I'll be back....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brooks518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    15
    5
    6
    9
See reviews for
18
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarks Summit, PA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

I just stayed at Diane's B&B this past weekend with my mom for a weekend of volunteering at Habitat for Humanity and some wine tasting. Upon entering the building I was shocked by the warmth and beauty of the place--the attention to detail, the use of color, and the Italian/French inspired design created a dreamlike environment. The view of the lake was beautiful from our bed and the deck just off our room had tables with umbrellas to sit and have a drink. Just after we arrived, Diane was sweet enough to make us a snack and a glass of wine to settle in. There were fresh towels, robes, and lotions in the room. She took us through a great tour of the entire B&B and let us explore her other location on the water (which were completely different but both maintained a similar aesthetic style). Not only is Diane's B&B beautifully and tastefully decorated, but her welcoming and lively spirit make the stay so comfortable and social. At night, there is complete silence making for a peaceful evening to read, sit in the hot tub have a cigar, or look at the sky full of stars.The place overall had an earthy/spiritual/openness to it that I personally appreciated, with books to read everywhere and games like Scrabble out in the open to play. The food was beautifully presented and tasted delicious, and honestly made with the freshest produce and bread (French toast one morning and quiche the next). Diane provided great directions and suggestions to certain sites around Cayuga, too. Upon leaving, she gave us a gift and offered fresh flowers for us to take home. If you aren't a laid-back, adventurous person with an appreciation for creative detail and "hippie" nature, this place may not be for you. But in my opinion, you won't regret staying here and this B&B might open your mind to an entire new way of spending a vacation. And I didn't feel the environment was cluttered at all. The spaces were diverse and had a character that transcended all the sterile, banal hotels I've stayed at.

Room Tip: rooms at the top obviously have a better view of the lake but every room in the B&B was lovely a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

This B&B is a well kept property with beautiful views of the lake. Breakfast was okay. The bed was comfortable enough but it may be time for new pillows - they were pretty flattened.

Diane was gracious and friendly and so was her assistant that cooked breakfast and made up the rooms for guests.

However, the "whimsical" decor or at least that's what I think the owner was going for, verges on hoarding.

There was so much clutter in our room that there was very little space to put our personal belongings. Our room was filled to the brim with nik-naks, books, and non-functional decorative furniture. Bows made of metallic ribbons hung in every nook and cranny. A small room felt even smaller and claustrophobic.

The common area was decorated much the same with books propped up on seating areas and random quotes printed on strips of paper littered throughout the sitting area and dinning room. Stacks of magazine pages, piles of beads, notes, photos with and without frames and other "treasures" littered every surface. And the cherry on top? A hammock hangs just inside the front door. You have to walk around it to get to the living room/dinning room.

There is a big patio/balcony on the second floor accessible from the living/dining area. The weather was nice enough that we ate breakfast outside on our second morning but several bumble bees disturbed what should have been a serene meal with a beautiful view. It looks like the bees have made homes in the wood beams of the balcony, so they are constantly buzzing about. If they could be re-located, it would go a long way in making the balcony more enjoyable.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor of the house have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Dianne and Chris, the hostess and host, were very accommodating to my needs. My mother and I came on very short notice but we were given a great room. The breakfast was was delicious and artfully presented. My mother and I had a spectacular room with a great view of the water. In the house there is a wide balcony just outside the common room. Dianne has placed games and books around the house for guest use. There was also a Jacuzzi. The lake was stunning. There was several wineries and a bistro nearby that were fun to visit. It is a quiet and relaxing place to be.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EliseRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a very relaxing, enjoyable and memorable stay at the Cayuga Lake Inn where we got to enjoy dinner and breakfast over a breathtaking view of the lake and surrounding landscape (just like it shows in their website's pictures). We had originally planned a night out on the town, but once we arrived and saw our room and private balcony,we didn't want to leave!! It was extremely peaceful and quiet, lots of privacy and just so relaxing--we immensely enjoyed the Jacuzzi in the suite's master bathroom. Service was also very accommodating and wonderful! We were taken very good care of and Diana made us feel right at home! Breakfast in bed was also awesome and very delicious! We will definitely come back to visit here again!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanbradyneryn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Breathtaking view of Cayuga Lake from our room, deck and dining area of this very clean (spotless) and beautiful B&B. Exactly like in the photos on the website but better in person. Waking up in the morning to a sweeping view was so peaceful and just gorgeous. We had a two room suite and both rooms and an exterior sitting area had beautiful furnishings decorated in Tuscany style with lots of great books around. Beds were very comfortable and cozy. The hostess Diana was welcoming and accommodating of our late arrival and request for an early breakfast. We brought our daughter to look at Ithaca College and if she ends up at Ithaca, we know we will have a home away from home at A Cayuga Lakefront B&B. Thank you Diana for helping us turn a college visit trip into the perfect weekend retreat! We will be back!

Room Tip: The Tuscany was simply wonderful. We loved the sweeping views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieMorgantown_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royersford, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was our first time to the finger lakes and also our first experience staying at a B&B. Our room was on the first floor and our French doors opened to our own space that had padded lounge chairs that we could read or have wiine and relax. The decor was beautiful and she did not skimp on the sheets or the comforter, the bed was very comfortable. The view of the lake is seen from every room. At night the lights on the lake are gorgeous. When we woke in the morning we had waffles with custard and fruit which was very good. The dining area was so beautiful. Skylights and wall to wall screen doors that opened to a huge deck which again you could see the lake. The inn is located about 20 minutes to the falls and wineries which we loved because we were close enough to everything but far enough away to enjoy the the comfort of the inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marybraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
4.1 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#10 of 22 in Ithaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
6.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayuga Lake Front Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayuga Lake Front Inn

Property: Cayuga Lake Front Inn
Address: Cayuga Lake East Shore, Ithaca, NY 14882
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cayuga Lake Front Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Front Inns are three beautiful properties on the east shore of Cayuga Lake near Ithaca, NY. Properties include a bed and breakfast as well as private Villa houses for small groups. Accomadations include a gourmet breakfast, high speed internet, hot tub and a serene atmosphere. We currently have three artists in(n) residence on our property, and guests are welcome to visit their studios upon appointment. Set in the heart of the Finger Lakes, Lake Front Inn is Ithaca's hotel alternative. We also have room for event space rentals, including dinner parties and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cayuga Lake Front Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Cayuga Lakefront Hotel Ithaca
a Cayuga Lakefront Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing