We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad”
Review of Trip Hotel Ithaca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trip Hotel Ithaca
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at this Clarion the night of February 8, 2013. It is not as bad as some of the reviews indicate. It is in need of upgrading, especially the lobby and hallways. The room was fine, clean and everything worked. Some reviews were concerned about safety of the location. I didn't see a problem. It is off I-81 in a commercial location. Strip malls nearby, an Appleby's, Friendly's and McDonald's not far away. Nothing made us feel unsafe. it has a decent free breakfast. Certainly not a place to go for a vacation, but if you need someplace to sleep overnight it is fine. it was well worth the Hotwire price of $68.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank govin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
There are newer reviews for Trip Hotel Ithaca
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

To be honest I have not even stayed at this place yet but judging by the look of it I won't be staying there. Hotwire calls this place a 3 star, same rating a Holiday Inn and Hampton Inn. So when I booked through Hotwire I thought it would be one of the previously mentioned hotels downtown. When this place came up I looked it up on Trip Advisor and low and behold it is ranked 18 out of 18 in Ithaca and the pictures don't lie.
I called Hotwire to complain but the were completely unhelpful.
Thanks Hotwire you just stole $150 from me!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Canuk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This is an awful hotel; outdated, scary, and in a horrible location. I felt extremely unsafe staying here. The first room they gave me was littered with grime, dirt, and renovation materials. The second, on the lower level next to the parking lot, was located down a dark, dingy hallway that I felt I'd be attacked from at any second. After multiple, unsatisfactory calls to Hotwire to express my concerns, I checked out. The front desk clerk didn't even bat an eye when I left, as she was smoking out front with friends, and by every indication from her, this kind of thing is a common occurrence. How this place is still operating, I've no idea.

Hotwire should be ashamed that they are offering this hotel at a 3 star rating. What a joke. Please use caution and stay away from this place. I've never written a review of a hotel on a site like this before but my disgust and concern from my brief stay here inspired me to do so.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. Period.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank starwatcher9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

If you didn't know that this was the hotel your booking was at, you'd think it was deserted. The outside is in shambles, and if you had a low-profile car, you wouldn't be able to drive through the parking lot because it is so awful and full of pot holes. The room was not much better, with wallpaper pealing, drywall starting to come off in the corners, even the floor was lumpy. The shower head leaked and only 1 of the settings worked. The ONLY bright spots were the front desk girl, Emily, was was extremely helpful and check-in and getting a fax sent, and the mattress was actually pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicelynicely02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

At first sight, curb appeal was the first warning to me that this place was not up to my standards. The outside was not cared for. The siding and style was reminiscent of the 1950's and looked like it hadn't been cared for since then. Lobby was fine and inviting enough. When we were directed to our room, I became a bit more wary. We entered in the " CourtYard " area to get to the room. Hallways were a nauseating pink color and the ceilings were stained from obvious water leaks. After settling in, we wanted to check out the pool, Upon opening the door, there was an obvious musty mildewy smell. To top that off, The roof was leaking right into the pool. My only thought was what kind bacteria from the roof, was dripping into the pool. ( bird droppings, etc. ) I wouldn't advise anyone to swim in it. I felt like contacting the Department of Public Health. Additionally, I found that the Sheets had an overwhelming bleach smell. I know, working in the health field that bleach can irritate people's skin. Please be careful about this. Breakfast presentation was ok. The Hot food was on the cool side. Please consider my review before booking at this hotel.

Room Tip: Should be a $50 a nite place. Not worth the cost
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dillershe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I was not really inpressed with the hotel but at 02:30 a.m. when I attempted to pack the safe woudn't open. The Front Desk(She) first gave me a lecture on how to open the safe and after explaining I travel often and never had this problem, she explains to me she never had this problem and I would have to wait for her relief at 7 a.m. for help. After finally falling asleep, at 0551 she shows up with a handyman that could not open the safe. He finally comes back alone, opens it then wants to explain what he would have to do after I left to fix it. Luckily for me I did not have an early flight to catch. No one ever apologized!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arnaldo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I was a little apprehensive about staying here given all the bad reviews but it was the only place we could get for a price that wasn't out of sight. We stayed there one night in August 2012 on Cornell's dormitory move-in day. Most of the hotels wanted you to stay 3 nights and they wanted way too much.

The Clarion looks aweful from the outside, primarily because the parking lot is in desparate need of repaving. We were given a room in the back building on the second floor. It had a King Bed and was one of the cleanest, most comfortable rooms I've ever stayed in. It was very well furnished. We were not able to stay for breakfast as we had other plans, but we popped into the breakfast area before we left just to see what they had. It was a full buffet and looked surprisingly good. We noted that the hote has an indoor pool also. It's close to a mall and a few eateries and is also just a couple of miles from Cornell's North Campus. If they could just fix the parking lot and maybe put up a fence it would look a whole lot nicer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterMVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
#16 of 22 in Ithaca
85 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
219 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Hotel Ithaca
The Hotel Ithaca
#14 of 22 in Ithaca
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
3.0 mi away
Best Western University Inn
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Ithaca Airport/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trip Hotel Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trip Hotel Ithaca

Address: One Sheraton Drive, Ithaca, NY 14850
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Price Range: £71 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trip Hotel Ithaca 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home and discover gorgeous Ithaca NY and Trip Hotel.Conveniently located near Tompkins Regional Airport, just down the street from Cornell University and within walking distance to Triphammer Market and the Shoppes at Ithaca Mall. Trip Hotel serves as a great home base from which to explore all that Ithaca has to offer.Nearbyareas include Cayuga Lake, Greek Peak Ski Mountain, Historic Downtown Ithaca with the Ithaca Commons, Ithaca College, The State Theater,Cayuga Wine Trail, Taughannock Falls, Buttermilk Falls State Park, Cornell Lab of Ornithology, comfortably appointed guest rooms, Trip Hotel offers affordable accommodations with attentive service.Whether your visit with us is for business or pleasure you can enjoy free wireless high speed internet access All Trip Hotel guest rooms feature plush triple-sheeted pillowtop sleep sets with coffee maker, iron with ironing board, hair dryer, refrigerator, 32” flat panel television and a safe . Pool is closed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Trip Hotel Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel University Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel University Ithaca
Clarion Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing