We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still in bad shape”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Trip Hotel Ithaca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trip Hotel Ithaca
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Still in bad shape”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed this past weekend. Thought by now the renovations would be completed. They're not! Hotel is still in terrible shambles. Heater barely worked. Sheets looked slept in. Carpets ripped up in the hallways. Carpet in the room wasn't much better. Breakfast was a joke. Orange juice was basic water. Wouldn't recommend this place to my worse enemy. Stay away!!

Room Tip: As far as I can tell it's there's nothing good about this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art L, General Manager at Trip Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
First let me express my sincere apologizies for your unsatisfactory stay at our Hotel. We are currently working very hard to correct all the issues you mentioned and have started our renovation projects. Although I cannot change the past, I hope that I can convince you to return here to give us a chance to show you our many improvements. If you contact me directly at triphotel.gm@aol.com I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    15
    32
    32
    87
See reviews for
74
31
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taghkanic
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Every staff member we encountered was extremely helpful and nice. Bed was very comfortable - requested extra blankets - but the heater was controllable and quiet - much better than another hotel we visited a month before in the Owego area.

Coffee was good in the morning - though we didn't stay for breakfast. Quiet location and friendly. We will stay again.

Yes, the parking lot is a mess and there are spots in the common areas that need to be spruced up. But that was not important to us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halfmilehills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew C, General Manager at Trip Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Halfmilehills,

I would like to thank you for providing your feedback from your stay in November 2013. Our staff really tries to ensure that each guest is satisfied with their stay. I will make sure to pass along the kind words regarding the staff, it is greatly appreciated!

I would also like to apologize for the current condition of the parking lot and lobby. The Trip Hotel (formally the Clarion University Hotel ) went independent in September 2013. We are in the beginning stages of a major renovation of the property and it should start to take shape in the coming months.

Thanks again, and we look forward to having you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Drew Clare, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We appreciated the proximity of the hotel to Cornell's North Campus. The front desk folks were helpful, but the hotel needs a lot of work. The parking lot is full of craters and the exterior lighting is bad. The hallway carpet was torn up. A roll of new carpet was there but not installed. Wallpaper was peeling in lots of spots. The room itself was comfortable and not that bad. Breakfast wasn't bad. At first I was pretty freaked out by the property, but got used to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainegirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew C, General Manager at Trip Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Mainegirl_9,

I would like to thank you for providing feedback from your stay back in August, 2013. Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff I will make sure to pass it along!

I would like to apologize for the condition of the property during your stay. The hotel went independent in September 2013. We are in the early stages of a major renovations which will give the hotel a major face lift!

We would look forward in having you back in the future!

Sincerely,

Drew Clare, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ithaca hotels

Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Don't get me wrong, first impressions count and this hotel did not look good from the outside but for $89 you cant go wrong. We stayed here on our last night of a trek america tour. The front desk staff were quick, courteous and always helpful when given requests.

The exterior and public areas of the hotel look creepy, that is a fact and this wasn't helped by us believing we were the only guests in this hotel. However that aside the rooms we were given were excellent 2 comfy queen beds, clean bathroom, soft pillows, linens and towels, free WiFi and included breakfast.

We also took advantage of the large indoor pool which was nice but im not sure it was "heated"

The hotel isn't near the center so requires a cab ride of about $20 however there are a few stores just a short walk away.

If your not that fussy on looks, book this hotel you will be surprised. I just hope that at some point they will upgrade the public areas as that's all that stands from it being a great hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank googlejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew C, General Manager at Trip Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Googlejoe,

I would like to thank you for providing feedback from your stay in September 2013. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the beds, pool, breakfast and the WiFi! We really appreciate the kinds words.

The the hotel recently went independent in September 2013. We are in the early stages of a major renovation which will bring the upgrades that the hotel needs.

Next time that you are in Ithaca, NY please keep us i mind when making your room accommodations!

Sincerely,

Drew Clare, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield, mo
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The outside of this hotel and the hallways are creepy, like a bad horror movie. The rooms are ok as is the lobby and breakfast area but you can't shake the creepy feeling. I thought I'd be attacked by zombies. The hotel is near Cornell so they probably don't put much effort in since they'll get parents coming regardless of the condition of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saratogasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew C, General Manager at Trip Hotel Ithaca, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear saratogasue,

Thank you for providing feedback from your stay in August 2013. I apologize that the condition of the hotel did not meet your expectations. We value our guests feedback and we hope to be able to make the appropriate changes in order to ensure that our guests are satisfied.

The hotel went independent in September 2013 and we are in the beginning stages of major renovations.

P.S. I can assure you that you will not be attacked by Zombies, if you choose to stay with us again!!

Sincerely,

Drew Clare, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I was a little bit concerned about the negative reviews, but in all honesty it wasn't really that bad. My daughter and I traveled from nyc to Ithaca via greyhound to visit cornell university and Ithaca college. The shuttle Clarion provides (shares with Ramada) was awesome. It picked us up from the bus station and brought us to all of our destinations over the course of 3 days. hotel to cornell, cornell to hotel, hotel to Ithaca, Ithaca to cornell, cornell to hotel, hotel to bus station. Saved a ton of money that would've been spent on taxis. The breakfast was fairly decent. no complaints there. The one thing I must say is the stench of the carpet in the hallway was quite unbearable. It can't be shampooed out, it must be replaced and needs a complete overhaul. But how much time are you really spending in a hotel hallway?? The room was clean and quiet. Housekeeping is ridiculously slow and took a very long time to bring an iron (the room was missing one) but besides that, I must say, it was ok and served my purpose. Also the hotel was about a 15 minute walk from a mall (Sears, Best Buy, Target, etc) and there is a pizza hut and friendlys close by

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicki e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were quite concerned about all the reviews we read and never would have stayed here if we did not book over Hotwire. From the reviews, we were not surprised at the parking lot and dimly lit lobby and corridors. The room we received was passable. There were fruit flies in the washroom, stains on the ceiling and the wall and carpet could have been cleaner. The breakfast was passable - waffles were good, but items did not get refilled unless asked (tea, coffee, hot chocolate). The pool was cool (temperature). Overall, the hotel needs to either be called a motel or receive a facelift. In addition, the staff, while pleasant, seem to just be putting in time until something better comes along. The price was reasonable for what we got as we got an additional discount, but would we go out of our way to stay here? NO WAY!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddyMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Ithaca Airport/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Hotel Ithaca
The Hotel Ithaca
#17 of 22 in Ithaca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 22 in Ithaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trip Hotel Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trip Hotel Ithaca

Property: Trip Hotel Ithaca
Address: 1 Sheraton Dr, Ithaca, NY 14850-1666
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Trip Hotel Ithaca 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home and discover gorgeous Ithaca NY and Trip Hotel.Conveniently located near Tompkins Regional Airport, just down the street from Cornell University and within walking distance to Triphammer Market and the Shoppes at Ithaca Mall. Trip Hotel serves as a great home base from which to explore all that Ithaca has to offer.Known as the “Little Apple”, Ithaca is rich with a variety of cultural attractions, events, and restaurants for visitors of all ages.Nearby recreational and entertainment areas include Cayuga Lake, Greek Peak Ski Mountain, Watkins Glen International Raceway, Historic Downtown Ithaca with the Ithaca Commons, Ithaca College, The State Theater, The Hanger Theater, Cayuga Wine Trail, Taughannock Falls, Buttermilk Falls State Park, The Science Center, Cornell Lab of Ornithology, Johnson Art Museum, The Museum of the Earth, The Cayuga Nature Center, Rockwell Museum of Art, Corning Glass Center, Mackenzie Childs Studio, Tompkins Cortland Community College, and SUNY Cortland, .With 106 comfortably appointed guest rooms, Trip Hotel offers affordable accommodations with attentive service.At Trip Hotel our guests can enjoy our fitness room featuring PreCor Cardio equipment, our large heated indoor pool, lobby lounge featuring a wide range of local food offerings, our express “build your own breakfast” bar Monday – Friday and complimentary transportation to the airport, Cornell University , Cornell Business Park and The Shoppes at Ithaca Mall.Whether your visit with us is for business or pleasure you can stay productive in one of our business class guestrooms and take advantage of our free wireless high speed internet access and our 24 hour business center with free copy service.All Trip Hotel guest rooms feature plush triple-sheeted pillowtop sleep sets and are equipped with coffee maker, iron with full sized ironing board, hair dryer, refrigerator, high speed wireless internet access, 32” flat panel television and a safe large enough to accommodate a personal computer. Rooms with microwave are available based on availability.With over 7500 square feet of flexible meeting space, Trip Hotel is an excellent venue for hosting many events from a small board meeting and retreats to large conferences and elegant weddings. Trip Hotel’s Grand Ballroom can accommodate up to 375 people banquet style. To ensure a seamless business or social function, the hotel’s professional staff will arrange and follow through with every detail of your event from set up and menu selection to decorations and audio visual needs.Come stay with us to discover and explore Ithaca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trip Hotel Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel University Ithaca
Clarion Hotel University Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing