We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was like something out of "The Shining".”
Review of Trip Hotel Ithaca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trip Hotel Ithaca
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel one night as we visited my hometown which I have been away from for twenty years. It seemed like we were the only guests there; we never saw anyone else in the hotel other than the staff during our stay. The lobby and first floor had a musty smell, and the hallways were decorated a very old and worn shade of pastels that may have been nice in the late seventies. We found numerous ants in our bathroom. For $100 a night, you would have expected better. We almost checked out and switched to another hotel, but we were tired from driving numerous hours from NYC. Ithaca is a beautiful college town and a must see while in upstate NY, but there are better choices to stay while visiting.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Let's be honest. It's nice to have great amenities, big lovely atria, modern furnishings, and spectacular rooms, but a nice room is a must. The Trip (previously the Clarion-but they likely pulled out) is old and run down but they are trying to upgrade, probably as time and finances permit. Here's the bad stuff: The outside -- the parking lot is potholed, unmarked and looks awful almost foreboding. The building is drab, poorly maintained, poorly painted, large and boring. So far, you need to keep your eyes closed or have someone pushing you to go through the unmarked front entrance. All other entrances, most of which are unlocked by the way, are much worse with unfinished concrete floors and unpainted sections of wall. This is actually an improvement over previous years when the entrance hallways were often used to semi-permanently store old mattresses and other junk that they were clearly planning to throw away. The inside common areas are less bad but only a little. The lobby is a pleasant surprise being small and a bit old-fashioned and drab but clean and friendly as are the young people they hire for the front desk, who always have more sunshine in their voices, attitude and smiles than the place seems to deserve. They have closed the kitchen, thank god, but still have a little breakfast area at one side of the lobby where you can have "safe" food like yoghurt, cereals, fruit, coffee and tea, assorted breakfast sandwiches that can be heated in the microwave, and waffles. They have a large, very plain converted room to the left of the lobby with really boring and weirdly ballroom like seating for eating breakfast. The coffee is so-so and being coffee snobs, and wanting a few more options for breakfast food, we preferred the very close Ithaca Bakery and Ithaca Coffee Company (best coffee award). The pool was clean looking but smelled a bit oddly medicated and under-filtered. I did not want to stay in the large pool room and would be worried about swimming. The hallway carpets were old and worn, and in some areas stained and unpleasant looking, but all the sections with holes have been replaced. The single, slow elevator is way to small for a hotel of this size, but since there were so few people staying there, it was not too bad. The stairways were faster but a bit dark and unpleasant. Now having gotten this far with trepidation, or being led by a brave partner while keeping your eyes closed, you arrive at your room. Huge change, especially on the 3rd floor where they have newly redone rooms where the carpets have been removed in favor of faux wood flooring, which is easy to keep clean. The beds, which we have checked each year for the last 5 years for "bugs" were clean again. The beds are comfortable with nice linens, the TVs are updated with good cable selections, there is art on the inexpertly but nonetheless newly painted walls, the furniture is adequate quality with a slight art deco touch, the WiFi is fast, easy and reliable, the bathrooms are clean with updated showers and fairly nice products (soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion), and there are a few surprising amenities like a small fridge, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and a room safe. Best of all, they have eliminated smoking from the entire hotel, and although there is a lingering smell of smoke in the 1st floor area where it was allowed for years, the 2nd and third floor were "smoke smell" free. We had a brief problem with ants, which almost all old buildings have during wet, delayed springtimes, but they got an exterminator service on the problem right away and the ants disappeared immediately. The only ice machine is on the first floor and does not work. The front desk people had access to an ice machine in the old kitchen area and were always pleasantly agreeable to going to the kitchen for ice whenever we asked. The hotel is way too big for them to manage so I can see why some areas are in very bad repair, but the new rooms signify that they may be making an effort. They have a long way to go. Only make a reservation if they can guarantee you a new room , especially on the 3rd floor, with no carpet. Their rates are excessive for their value, but the rates are lower than the rest of the equally poorly maintained and over-priced Ithaca hotels. Why the hotels in an area with one of the most important Hotel Management schools in the country are such a mess is a continuing mystery.

Room Tip: Insist on a new 3rd floor room with no carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveW43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here as part of a tour group - goodness knows why they decided to pick this hotel. We happened to be there after graduation, so Cornell and Ithaca were much quieter than they probably usually are.The hotel itself is isolated and the outside of it is not inviting. The decor is very old fashioned and really needs updating. The pool is uninviting. Many of the common areas are not clean. The room itself was ok but very basic. It was on the ground floor facing a fairly desolate car park, and the outside grill of the window was broken. The outside windows were dirty and there were handprints on the outside of our window, it was just very creepy. There were no other workers there other than one lady at reception who was friendly. In the morning we saw another man who was cold towards us. The breakfast was terrible. Some weird sandwiches in the fridge, a few yoghurts and a cup of tea. There was no waffle batter for the waffle machine even (not that I normally eat waffles for breakfast but I was hungry!). The dining room was bare and tired. We looked around some of the rooms upstairs - we were told they hold wedding receptions in the ballroom. When we looked there, the ballroom was this huge room but freezing cold because of the unnecessary AC. Not very environmentally friendly. We were very happy to leave.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misbeehayve1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a little isolated, and looks a little tired and run down from the outside.

The rooms where clean, and pleasant. The beds were comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was basic but average for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art L, General Manager at Trip Hotel Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We all thank you for taking the time to share the information concerning your recent stay at the Trip Hotel Ithaca. Our Staff and TripAdvisor are glad to hear that we provided you with a room that was "clean and pleasant." We are working very hard to improve our levels of customer service and in addition there are exciting plans in the works to improve the Property. We hope that you will return in the near future to witness our progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Payed a great amount for a one night stay at this hotel. The pool was NOT good. There were things floating in it. Not sure what but they looked skummy. Breakfast was not well organized at all.
There was a line for the one microwave to heat up the sausage sandwiches. The "Hot water" was not hot. Had to heat that up in the microwave also. The guest room was ok but our toilet ran all night long. The hotel exterior is not inviting and the inside was not much better. Not a good experience and I feel the price of the room was raised up as it was Ithaca College's graduation weekend. I feel a partial refund would be helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mojo1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art L, General Manager at Trip Hotel Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

First let me sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations and for the issues you encountered during your stay. We check our pool on a regular basis and I will find out why the situation you mentioned occurred and ensure that it does not repeat itself. Depending on what time you use it, the Breakfast Area can be busy. We are constantly striving to improve our breakfast service for our Guests, and will use your comments to help us do this. I wish you would of notified us of the toilet issue in your room, as we could have had our Maintenance Staff fix. In the Ithaca area just like every other area, Hotel prices vary depending on special events that are occurring. This Hotel however strives to always be a "good value" in our market place. I would welcome the opportunity to further discuss this matter with you please feel free to email at triphotel.gm@aol.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We fortunately only stayed for 1 night.
Breakfast was supposed to be included. Attached you will find some photos of the really terrible Hotel!!!!
Question guest: Don't you serve any rolls?
Comment of the servant: I cannot see any......
Guest: One of your guests told me that there were rolls early in the week!
Servant: We had a busy week,.....

Terrible condition of rooms!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank 2205Susanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art L, Manager at Trip Hotel Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Please accept our sincere apologizes for not providing you with a satisfactory stay. We are currently working very hard to correct the type of issues you mentioned in your TripAdvisor review. We have increased our Maintenance Staff, changed our breakfast items, and worked on our Staff's communication skills. We hope that in the near future you will return to give us another chance and to see our improvements in action. In closing I again apologize for our short comings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I travel a lot for my job and thought I'd seen it all until I came upon this gem. I had to make a last minute trip to Cornell University and due to several events happening on campus, a room at the Trip Hotel was the only one available. I honestly don't know how they charge $150/night for this place. Here's the outline of my experience:
- The building and parking lot are dark - no light - very creepy and felt unsafe
- Fixtures, furniture, drapery, wall paper, lighting, carpeting - all old, all dirty
- My room was 55 degrees when I walked in and it took a few hours for the heater to warm it up to 69. I had blankets wrapped around me as I was trying to get work done on my computer
- The hallways smelled like smoke and mildew
- I stayed on the 3rd floor where previous meeting rooms are converted to storage rooms - there was furniture, rolled-up rugs and other misc. all over the hallway. Maintenance was being done on the floor when I arrived - workers would yell to each other down the hall to communicate - people on one of my conference calls heard this.
- The soap provided in the bathroom felt like it contained shards of glass - this is supposed to be exfoliating - it literally scratched up my skin in the shower - I finished bathing with the shampoo.
- Pool area was dingy and there was a restaurant that had once been open that was shuttered inside the same building as the hotel. Such a shame, it was in shambles.
- Breakfast - Served in the lobby and consisted of packaged donuts, muffins, cereal and waffles. With waffle iron and microwave going at once, it blew a fuse and there was nobody around to fix it.
- The next morning as I was waiting for my pick-up I overheard the girl at the front desk - she must have been new - stated she spent the whole night not knowing what to do or how to use the computer. She didn't know how to help guests and admitted to screwing up check-in/check-out procedures. The morning manager was frazzled upon hearing this, the fuse in the breakfast area when out at the same time and everything turned chaotic.

Word to the wise - If you're in Ithaca to attend an event at Cornell, book early at the Statler. AVOID TRIP HOTEL AT ALL COSTS!!

Room Tip: Any other place but here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nataliemo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Art L, General Manager at Trip Hotel Ithaca, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

We all thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your recent visit to our Hotel. We certainly know that there are areas that need improvements and steps are being taken to correct them. We have increased staffing, made management changes, and started our room renovations. There is "work in progress" occuring throughout the Property and we all are working very hard to get us where we need to go. We all hope that you will stop by in the near future so that you can see first hand our progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
#16 of 22 in Ithaca
88 reviews
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
225 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Hotel Ithaca
The Hotel Ithaca
#14 of 22 in Ithaca
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Best Western University Inn
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trip Hotel Ithaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trip Hotel Ithaca

Address: 1 Sheraton Dr, Ithaca, NY 14850-1666
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Price Range: £57 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trip Hotel Ithaca 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home and discover gorgeous Ithaca NY and Trip Hotel.Conveniently located near Tompkins Regional Airport, just down the street from Cornell University and within walking distance to Triphammer Market and the Shoppes at Ithaca Mall. Trip Hotel serves as a great home base from which to explore all that Ithaca has to offer.Nearbyareas include Cayuga Lake, Greek Peak Ski Mountain, Historic Downtown Ithaca with the Ithaca Commons, Ithaca College, The State Theater,Cayuga Wine Trail, Taughannock Falls, Buttermilk Falls State Park, Cornell Lab of Ornithology, comfortably appointed guest rooms, Trip Hotel offers affordable accommodations with attentive service.Whether your visit with us is for business or pleasure you can enjoy free wireless high speed internet access All Trip Hotel guest rooms feature plush triple-sheeted pillowtop sleep sets with coffee maker, iron with ironing board, hair dryer, refrigerator, 32” flat panel television and a safe . Pool is closed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Trip Hotel Ithaca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel University Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel University Ithaca
Clarion Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing