We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update on Rosebarb Farm”
Review of Rosebarb Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rosebarb Farm
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Update on Rosebarb Farm”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our second time round, and not much to say, other than: simply wonderful! Don & Rita are the most gracious hosts imaginable, with generous attention to detail. This summer visit allowed us to use the fantastic solar-heated pool and beautiful gazebo right outside of the cottage. Daughter had a blast with the animals, and harvesting the fresh, delicious produce. Lovely, clean, comfortable accommodations with another superb breakfast and Rita's awesome zucchini bread helped make this one of our favourite vacations ever, and one we definitely want to take again and again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We truly enjoyed our 3 nights stay. What a wonderful experience for my two kids - 5 & 12. Little guy was very excited to find out where an egg comes from . My daughter liked the horses. I loved picking up raspberries ( what ever left over for a season), and my husband liked reading in little gazebo in the evenings. Pool was great and warm. We had awesome breakfast with Rita - zucchini bread, egg & sausage casserole, and fruit salad. My son , who usually afraid of dogs, even a small ones, fell in love with Rubia. They already asking when we are gong back to the farm. We would like to visit again sometime soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NjGirl08820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the end of July for a couple of nights and our kids loved the experience. Rita greeted us from the moment we arrived and the kids warmed up to her right away. They helped pick eggs for he next morning's breakfast. She showed us the beautiful horses and told the kids that Don would take them for a ride in the morning. The farm is located off of 79 a littler further away from town than Six Mile Creek winery and has a cottage with two stories. The downstairs is the living room and kitchen with a full bath and upstairs is the bedroom with another full bath. It is a great place to stay with kids because we had room to spread out and when they walk out of the cottage they can pick berries to eat for a snack, pick apples to feed horses, look at baby turkeys, and pick eggs. The cottage has some little toys which was surprisingly nice for the kids. The big pool right outside of the cottage is just for us and has kiddy floaties which was nice. The cottage was generally clean, but the bathroom cleanliness didn't quite meet our expectations. There was hair in the shower and the toilets were a little stained. i tried to ignore it because it isn't something I would point out if I were staying at a friend's house and staying at the cottage kind of felt like that - staying at a friend's house. Certain areas of the house was a little dusty. All of that could be overlooked but the standard of cleanliness isn't quite the same as a hotel. There was so much more to this place though! Don and Rita were some welcoming, they let not just our kids but our friends' kids ride Bryn -a first for our kids. They let the kids feed the horses -another first. They cooked such a huge delicious breakfast for us (casserole, fruits salad, muffins, juice, coffee)...and the kids got to try kiwi-another first. These experiences can't be obtained elsewhere and we are thankful of the two nights we stayed there. We enjoyed the experience a lot and would recommend people to stay here for the experience:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove City, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

RoseBarb Farm is one of the most unique lodging experiences our family has ever had! It's been a week since our family (two kids - 9 and 6) stayed three nights there and the kids are still talking about all the great stuff they did on the farm. It was definitely the highlight of their trip where we visited the Finger Lakes, Niagara, Niagara-on-the-Lake and Toronto - staying at a mixture of bed and breakfasts and hotels.

There are so many things that made RoseBarb Farm so memorable. First of all, they only have the one cottage which is huge and extremely clean. This allows for maximum privacy as you know the only other people on the property are the owners (Rita and Don). Since you have the place to yourself, you have full use of the pool which is right outside the cottage.

If you want to take part in some of the farming chores, Rita and Don seem more than happy to show you the ropes (there are some exceptions -- those tasks that are quite dangerous are only handled by the professionals). Our family took part in gathering eggs, "herding" baby turkeys, fixing the turkey cage, feeding the hens and picking vegetables from the garden. I cannot stress enough how excited the kids were to be able to do all this!

Breakfast (which is only served your first morning) was spectacular! Our family sat with Rita and Don in their kitchen as we all shared stories. For those that might think it is strange to eat with the "innkeepers", fear not, Rita and Don know how to make you comfortable and are more than willing to answer pretty much any question you might have about their history, the farm and farming. These two are quite possibly the most hospitable people I have ever met!

Oh and it doesn't stop there, Rita and Don gave the kids dog treats for each day to give to their most adorable dog, Rubia! I'm not a dog person, but Rubia seemed to have converted me for the three days.

On our last evening, Don was gracious enough (after a long day in the fields) to allow the kids to ride Bryn the horse around the property (with Don guiding Bryn, of course). After riding Bryn, Don pulled out a bunch of apples from his pocket and let the kids feed Bryn. The kids loved every minute of it!

The location is a few miles outside of downtown Ithaca, so the farm is not really convenient to stores and such; however, the charm of the place greatly out-weighs this slight negative (which some could easily consider a positive). The whole area has so much to do in terms of hiking, biking, seeing the numerous waterfalls and (one of our new favorite things) letterboxing!

RoseBarb Farm is highly recommended for families with children. More farms should copy what Rita and Don have done as it truly is an experience and could easily be considered a destination!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToadNumber3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

It had been 16 years since my last visit to the Finger Lakes Region. I wanted to be in a comfortable setting surrounded by beauty and under the care of thoughtful hosts. Rose Barb Farm, Rita and Don provided all of that, and more. My only regret is that I live 1,200 miles away, but any time I am back in Ithaca, Rose Barb Farm will be my "home away from home." A memorable experience for anyone looking to taste life in it's purest form (e.g., organic gardens, fresh farm eggs, rhubarb muffins, farm animals and two warm, genuine hosts), absolutely splendid!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganton, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My sister, granddaughter and I were off for our annual "girls vacation". After searching the Ithaca tour book and the internet, I found RoseBarb Farm. And what a find it was. Rita and Don are the most gracious hosts, very interesting to spend time with and a good source of adventures in the area. Even though we only had one day of sun and warm temperatures, we were able to explore Ithaca and Cayuga Lake with much success. Rita was great with my diet restrictions due to diabetes. We had a wonderful egg and asparagus casserole with strawberry rhubarb muffins and fresh fruit. YUM! Of course, and this really goes without saying, Rubia stole the show. She is a beautiful white Great Pyrenees. My granddaughter (age 21) played and rolled around with Rubia like they had been best buds for years. Rubia is like a big white teddy bear. I would recommend RoseBarb Farm for your next get away be it for one night or hopefully longer. You will find it hard to leave. We did.
Jan, Pam and Beka

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Our family stayed at the Rosebarb farm recently and had an absolutely wonderful experience. Courtesy of Rita and Don, our sons were able to have a memorable pony ride, eat an awesome french toast breakfast (one of the best french toast breakfasts we have ever had), feed the horses, pet and play with Rubia (a very friendly dog), and get the eggs from the chicken roost each day we were there.

Don and Rita were great and their cottage is spacious, clean and quiet. Next time we are in Ithaca, we know where we will be staying!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank larry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
6.0 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
6.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
7.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ithaca
6.2 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#12 of 22 in Ithaca
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosebarb Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosebarb Farm

Property: Rosebarb Farm
Address: 108 Landon Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-9821
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Ithaca
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A farm vacation near Ithaca, NY, in the heart of the beautiful Finger Lakes, Cornell, Ithaca College, dozens of vineyards, boating, antique shops, with a peaceful farm cottage on a working farm as a relaxing base. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing