We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing place.”

Robert Treman State Park
Ranked #1 of 59 things to do in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“What an amazing place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This place will blow your mind, best swimming hole in the US, you gotta try this place.
Stunning & beautiful

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TruthRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    180
    20
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Plenty of Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I went to Robert Treman State Park because we heard of Enfield Falls which has a diving board. You can dive about 30 feet down into a deep pool at the bottom the waterfall. When we went the water the pasture was 61 degrees Fahrenheit. The falls are about 5 miles from Ithaca, so it is not a long drive from Ithaca. They have changing rooms and bathrooms by the entrance to the falls pool. If you go to Ithaca go to Enfield Falls in Robert Treman State Park.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NWS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Plenty of Natural Recreation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We recently visited Robert Tremen State park to enjoy the waterfalls. There is a $7 parking fee which once paid will allow you to visit any of the state parks that day or to exit and re-enter the park without paying again.

Because we are travelling with some young children, we limited the lengths of our hikes to the waterfalls. First, we parked in the upper lot by the Old Mill. From here there is access to a trail that will lead to beautiful vistas of Lucifer falls. We did not complete the trail, because of work that was being done, but we were able to see the falls. It was about a mile hike...in and out.

We then went to the lower lot to enjoy the swimming area near the lower falls. Since we had already paid, there was no fee for entry. There are changing rooms and bathrooms available here, so it is easy to get ready for some swimming. The lifeguarded area also includes a diving board to jump off of. Although the water was chilly at 69 degrees, it was refreshing on a 90 degree day. The falls were running pretty full that day due to recent rain. Many people swim up to the falls and stand under the falling water. The current was strong pushing against us that day, but my 9 year old really enjoyed standing under the falls.

Bring a picnic lunch and a blanket to sit on. Or you can exit and take the short drive into Ithaca for lunch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank TaraM_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauppauge, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Awesome hike, beautiful waterfalls, great swimming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My family and I came to the Ithaca area to hike and see all the waterfalls and Robert Treman was probably our most favorite (and then Buttermilk:). We hiked the Gorge Trail which was a great workout. The trail is very step in some sections with lots of steps, so definitely have water! The Gorge trail runs along the water for most of the way so we did stop and take a few dips. As others mentioned there is a swimming hole at the bottom with a life guard and diving board. It was kind of crowded but once you get on the trails it is very secluded and you feel as if you have the entire park to yourself which we loved!! Enjoy!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank soccermom40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Awesome hiking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great hike at Robert Treman State Park. One side of the trail up the gorge hugs the water, the other side is woodsier.

It's about 7.5 miles round trip if you hike up and down from the main lower parking area to the top and back down. Moderately strenuous in sections.

When we were over Memorial Day weekend 2014, there were a few sections of trail along the gorge that were closed for repairs.

Make sure you bring drinking water as none is available in the park.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robert Treman State Park also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Robert Treman State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing