We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK as a budget motel, watch out reservation fee” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Inn Motel
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OK as a budget motel, watch out reservation fee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

A regular budget motel, basic furniture, small bathroom, basic construction. But everything works, everything clean, owner is helpful. Breakfast doesn't reach the basic level, but it is there.
Ithaca is expensive, as others say, and you are hit with an extra tax for their tourism development.... better to stay in Cortland.
Be careful in reserving on the EmbassyInn site: the "reservation engine" charges you a secret fee of $8 separately, and the cryptic note says no cancellation within 3 days. Better to phone or use Expedia etc..

Room Tip: Two sizes of rooms, the larger ones have the kitchenette, regular ones just a small fridge. (They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    23
    37
    3
    8
See reviews for
27
27
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Old, musty, mildew smell to room. Paper thin walls can hear other people in neighboring rooms snore. Heard dog barking all night although they don't allow pets. Bathroom was tiny, shower stall had mold spores. Bedding worn with holes, towels thin with stains. Not worth it for location. Move out a few miles and get something much better. Was quoted $115, then charged $138 for that I could do much better. No kitchenettes or refrig or restaurant on site, who checks these facts? My child kept asking which room Mrs. Bates and Norman lived in!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katrina12547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ithaca hotels

Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Decided at the last minute to spend a weekend in Ithaca. All the big hotels were booked so based on the reviews I booked this one. Prices in Ithaca are expensive. I paid $115 a night for this motel which is a little ridiculous. It is a motel with a motel vibe. Sounds and odors travel. However, the rooms are clean, the showers are strong and hot, the wifi and TV work perfectly, and there is free coffee in the office in the morning. The motel is convenient to Cornell, and easy enough to get to all parts of Ithaca.

Room Tip: Some rooms have rooms below or above them. I imagine they are noisier as there is more traffic to de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

At the last minute we decided to spend the night in Ithaca and picked Embassy because it was cheap and had the best reviews relative to the other 2 star hotels. The staff of what I am assuming is a family owned business were nice. The rooms and decor are dated but overall the pace was clean. The base board heating system appeared to be coming off of the wall-however, the room temperature was fine. Minimal soundproofing-could hear plumbing in the next room. Breakfast of coffee, prepackaged muffins, cereal and some fruit was included in the price. This is not a Hilton but you are not paying Hilton prices.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnterprisingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

I called on Wednesday to cancel a reservation for Saturday and was told I would still be charged $85 due to a 3 day cancellation policy. Wednesday, Thursday, Friday.......isn't that 3 days? The cancellation policy also isn't spelled out on their website. Consumers beware!!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank HR Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Our experience here could have been better. Only two rooms were rented the night we stayed yet they put us next to the other rented room. It gave us the chance to realize the soundproofing was not the best. I could hear him snoring and could hear her sneeze occasionally. Fortunately, they were not noisy otherwise it could have been a bad stay. There was no ice machine and being granted an ice bucket of ice seemed like a chore. The continental breakfast was passable. Bottom line -- when we are in Ithaca next spring, we will try someplace else.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jxw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We were making a quick stop in Ithaca to visit some friends. We were pleased with the accomodations at the Embassy Inn. The room was very clean and comfortable and suited our needs perfectly. The staff was quite friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaJ59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Ithaca Airport/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn Motel

Property: Embassy Inn Motel
Address: 1083 Dryden Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-8738
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Embassy Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing