We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean, reasonable price for the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Embassy Inn Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Embassy Inn Motel
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very clean, reasonable price for the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is a small family-run motel. It is an older property, but appears to have been updated relatively recently, and, given that the owners actually live on the property, seems to be well-cared for (the parking lot was recently resurfaced, etc.). Some reviews have been critical about the price (we paid $99/night plus tax for 1 queen bed), but this motel is very reasonable compared with other hotels in the Ithaca area. We only stayed one night while picking our daughter up from a summer program at Cornell University. When we dropped her off at the beginning of her program, we stayed at a Days Inn in Cortland, but that was about 30 minutes from Ithaca and we wanted to be closer to campus on the return trip. We saw this place and decided we would stay here on the way back after stopping in to inquire about the rates. It's true that it is nothing fancy, but it was more than adequate and very clean, which I am particular about. There was free breakfast in the office area which consisted of muffins, bananas, cereal and coffee/juice. Some have criticized that the muffins were pre-packaged, but I thought they were fine. I can guarantee you that any hotel offering free breakfast is not baking the muffins from scratch, so I think that criticism is a little harsh. We had no issues with hearing other guests through the walls. The bathroom was a little small, but there were just two of us so we managed. The owners are pleasant, and I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The property has two sections - one part is just one level, while the other part has two levels. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    23
    37
    3
    8
See reviews for
27
27
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Decided at the last minute to spend a weekend in Ithaca. Most of the big hotels were booked and the others were very expensive so based on the reviews I booked this one. We paid $136 for this motel which was I would say was on the higher side for this motel. However, the rooms were decent and bathroom was clean. Free-wifi and so called free breakfast. No seating area for the breakfast but the fare was good. Around 6-7 miles away from Ithaca downtown.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room No. 1 and it was quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pr0d1gy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Ithaca is a pricy place to stay, so we stayed here trying to be frugal. This motel is one you might be able to tolerate, but not enjoy. Price was $95 per night before tax. If you can afford better, you'll probably appreciate spending more for a better place. On the positives: place is very close drive to Cornell, is in a pretty, very green rural setting, and is very close to a nice restaurant, The Antlers. Room is clean, but musty and outdated, like out of the 70's. Room had a kitchenette in the corner, which includes a refrigerator and two burners on a square of linoleum. It looked like the owners hadn't wanted to rip it out, but didn't want to go to the expense of updating it and making it more practical (like adding a microwave). As such it was useless. How many people are going to cook on burners with no pots, pans, or dishes supplied?

There were only two units rented the second night we were here (probably about 5 the first night), yet the owners placed the second renters directly next to us (maybe these were the nicest units?). The renters next door were talking in normal speaking voices - not loud. Yet we could hear them right through the walls.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elbaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ithaca hotels

Tucson, AZ USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Everyone may have different expectations of a motel costing over $100 (including tax). This place smells, the rooms are in disrepair and filled with mold. Opening the windows is precluded because the window screens have large holes for the insects to stream in at night. The breakfast area doesn't have anyplace to sit. The milk offered for breakfast is in a days old plastic gallon jug that anyone can use or abuse. Oh, and did I mention the owners are arrogant. If you are not destitute, stay somewhere else

Room Tip: Don't stay in room #22 the other could be better, or worse
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dkalster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

A regular budget motel, basic furniture, small bathroom, basic construction. But everything works, everything clean, owner is helpful. Breakfast doesn't reach the basic level, but it is there.
Ithaca is expensive, as others say, and you are hit with an extra tax for their tourism development.... better to stay in Cortland.
Be careful in reserving on the EmbassyInn site: the "reservation engine" charges you a secret fee of $8 separately, and the cryptic note says no cancellation within 3 days. Better to phone or use Expedia etc..

Room Tip: Two sizes of rooms, the larger ones have the kitchenette, regular ones just a small fridge. (They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Old, musty, mildew smell to room. Paper thin walls can hear other people in neighboring rooms snore. Heard dog barking all night although they don't allow pets. Bathroom was tiny, shower stall had mold spores. Bedding worn with holes, towels thin with stains. Not worth it for location. Move out a few miles and get something much better. Was quoted $115, then charged $138 for that I could do much better. No kitchenettes or refrig or restaurant on site, who checks these facts? My child kept asking which room Mrs. Bates and Norman lived in!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katrina12547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Decided at the last minute to spend a weekend in Ithaca. All the big hotels were booked so based on the reviews I booked this one. Prices in Ithaca are expensive. I paid $115 a night for this motel which is a little ridiculous. It is a motel with a motel vibe. Sounds and odors travel. However, the rooms are clean, the showers are strong and hot, the wifi and TV work perfectly, and there is free coffee in the office in the morning. The motel is convenient to Cornell, and easy enough to get to all parts of Ithaca.

Room Tip: Some rooms have rooms below or above them. I imagine they are noisier as there is more traffic to de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn
3.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#14 of 22 in Ithaca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Ithaca
Hampton Inn Ithaca
#4 of 22 in Ithaca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Inn Motel

Property: Embassy Inn Motel
Address: 1083 Dryden Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-8738
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Embassy Inn Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Embassy Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Hotel Ithaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing