We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Unique and lovely yurt nestled in a discovery garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Unique and lovely yurt nestled in a discovery garden
Living room with pull out full sized futon. Pellet stove keeps the yurt cozy all winter Full kitchen stocked with cooking supplies and table service
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Unique and lovely yurt nestled in a discovery garden
Living room with pull out full sized futon. Pellet stove keeps the yurt cozy all winter
Full kitchen stocked with cooking supplies and table service
Master bedroom w/full size memory foam bed and DVD player
Sleeping loft with 2 twin beds
Elsa found twirly carrots! What will you harvest from the garden?
The garden is surrounded by roses
Children can help with planting and harvesting!
Waterfalls within hiking distance, Treman and Buttermilk State Parks only 5 minutes drive away!
Tea party hideaway
Climbing Vine Cottage signs welcomes you!
Garden pond with gold fish and frogs
The yurt stays cozy all winter!
Private stone patio w/ grill, table and fire pit
Bathroom with shower, sink and toilet
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ithaca, Finger Lakes, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Seema R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed the stay very much. This is the first time we have stayed in yurt. The location is perfect for visiting the close by State parks. Everything in the yurt was well maintained and above my expectations. The owner was very courteous and allowed us to try fruits and vegetables in her garden. We enjoyed the fresh berries from her garden everyday. The surroundings of the yurt are very serene and after the whole day of hiking we had good timing relaxing in garden or playing badminton. We would definitely go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2017
I'm so happy you loved it here! Thank you so much for coming and enjoying the yurt and the bounty of the garden! I hope you and your family come again!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne P
Urmston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing, peaceful location with a river in the back garden!”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Climbing Vine Cottage was the perfect place to relax in the middle of our road trip around North East. The setting is beautiful with a private wood leading down to a river. The garden of the yurt is full of veg which Michelle, the owner, grows and is available to eat. The yurt is in a great location for the Buttermilk Falls and Robert Treman national parks as well. Michelle was a lovely "landlady" and provided us with lots of suggestions for trips. The children (14, 16 and 20) especially loved the river walk. Highly recommended and hopefully we can visit again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henri293
Paris, France
1 review
“beautiful and restful”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

we spent 6 days in the yurt in the middle of the summer with our two boys (8 and 10). the yurt is very cosy and confortable. surrounded by a beautiful garden we enjoyed the peacefullness of the place. we lived three years in Ithaca before and we think it is an excellent place to stay for discovering the region.

henri and corinne

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
606shyama...
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A most enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderfully different experience. We enjoyed staying in the yurt, the fresh eggs that George helped us get for breakfast, the remarkably peaceful environment and the privacy. A friendly dog, a fish pond and beautiful flowers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDelMonte
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If I Could Live in this Yurt I Absolutely Would.”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
5
people found this review helpful

I cannot say enough positive things about this amazing experience. Michelle and her family are just incredible. I'm sure some of you might be wondering if it's strange or awkward to be staying in a Yurt in someone's backyard. The answer is absolutely not. It's wonderful. Michelle is extremely nice and very informative about her grounds and gardens. The fresh vegetables every day were incredible! It truly was a unique and special trip. My friends and I cannot wait to stay here again!!! We're already trying to plan out another trip! I can't stop talking about how amazing Yurt Life was.

On to some important details: The Yurt is impeccable. Surprisingly spacious! We had 6 people staying there and we never felt cramped or crowded. The full kitchen was spotless and allowed us to cook every day. We harvested vegetables from the garden and used them to make breakfast, lunch and dinner. The sleeping arrangement was very comfortable. The bathroom was surprisingly large as well. It's a genius use of space, really. There were board games, books, movies and all sorts of things for us to do on our one rainy afternoon. We went hiking in the back woods, found a lovely gorge and walked through the water. We had a campfire at night. It truly was a little piece of paradise. By the time out two nights were over we were so sad and were already planning out our next trip!

The Yurt is also very conveniently located just 10 minutes down the road from Wegmans and only about 15 minutes (if even) from the Ithaca Commons. It's also just down the road from Ithaca Brewing Company.

Moral of the story: book it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything.
Liked least: The fact that we only booked it for 2 nights!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexk11
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful, clean and welcoming”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Climbing Vine Cottage is just a lovely place to stay. It's spotlessly clean, well equipped, and in a stunning and very quiet location. Michelle who owns and runs it is friendly and very helpful.

The location is very peaceful (behind the owner's house off a quiet road), and backs onto woodland. The garden in front of the yurt is really lovely, the beds are comfortable... Have stayed there twice and would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Lack of washing machine (though there is a laundromat a few miles away, so this wasn't a problem)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa_i...
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved staying in a yurt!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our family loves new experiences. Rather than staying in a nondescript motel, we were thrilled to be in the countryside in such a unique setting. It was surprisingly roomy inside. The yurt is well equipped with a beautiful bathroom and a very nice kitchen.Despite a large selection of restaurants in Ithaca, we opted to spend our 2nd night cooking so we could just hang out together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing