We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mira Mediterranean Bistro - CLOSED

Mira Mediterranean Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ithaca, New York
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

My girlfriend and I had a nice time at Mira. The atmosphere is romantic and inviting. Our waitress was attentive.

For appetizers we shared the dips and a salad. The dips were great. I especially liked the hummus. It was velvety and flavored with just the right amount of lemon and garlic. The salad was a basic salad: greens, tomato, and cucumbers but the dressing was amazing. It was a vinaigrette bursting with herbs and flavor. I literally wanted to drink it.

For dinner, I had the pork chop and my girlfriend had the seafood stew. The pork chop was the best thing I've ever eaten and it was huge! It was cooked to perfection and topped with a Gorgonzola butter. It was served with sautéed veggies and potatoes; both of which were delicious. My girlfriend said her stew was awesome. A large serving of seafood (clams, mussels, calamari, shrimp, and salmon) in a delicate curry broth. She ate the whole thing!

Even though we were full after dinner, we decided to get dessert because everything on the dessert menu sounded so good. We shared the butterscotch and chocolate bread pudding and chocolate chili creme brûlée. They were both amazing!!!

In all, we had a wonderful time. We loved everything we got! If you haven't been yet to this restaurant, get there ASAP!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AG3776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, NY and Toronto, Ont.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I have to think Jane Jacobs would have loved "Mira"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

I went to "Mira Mediterranean Bistro" with family on a Saturday night in September: we shared the falafel and the charcuterie plate of meats and cheeses, and all three of us chose one of the two specials, the za'atar-encrusted pan-seared tuna, served with a carrot-ginger couscous. These decisions came after much debate: a beet salad almost won out amongst the appetizers (not on the online menu), while the second special (a vegetable tagine), a lamb dish, the salmon and the kebabs all competed for entrees. We loved the falafel and the thinly shaved cheeses of the charcuterie plate (the goat cheese, too), and the superb tuna. The couscous came across as the poor sibling beside its more charming others. We shared two desserts, one a dessert from the daily specials, a traditional Lebanese dessert with a mild, sweet syrup; we shared, too, a spicy chocolate creme brulée. The wine list is eclectic and reasonable; we had a fine Sicilian white from Donna Fugata.

Jane Jacobs would have welcomed and recognized "Mira," I think, as a sign of a neighbourhood where new investment is taking root. Nearby is the Farmers' Market, the superb Red Feet Wine store, and the Piggery, and the bistro itself (in the former location pioneered by the very good "Dijon") shares a plain strip mall with the Department of Motor Vehicles and a couple of other shops, on a street with working class townhouses and a couple of over-sized parking lots. It's integration, it's growth, it's a place testing out a place where it ought not to work. There are aspects of the interior which still signal "strip mall," but the service was friendly, prompt and attentive, and there are lots of other aspects of the interior which work. I hope "Mira" has a long and prosperous presence in the Northside.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryMacI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice on the inside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Cute and small, with a great atmosphere. The location ruined the ambiance from the outside, but once you get inside, you are taken away into your dining experience. Fresh Mediterranean food and fast service!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa_Rodanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OK Minus”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

A pleasant spot on a busy street with outdoor tables which are the first to fill up on nice days. Some of the Mediterranean dishes were very flavorful (hummus) while others were bland (foul madamas). Two serving staff overwhelmed with number of customers made worse by a new, inexperienced server. Meals slow in arriving but OK because we were not in a hurry.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Eh...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

The atmosphere is nice, the ingredients are fresh, the food is well prepared, and yet... Somehow the food manages to have almost no flavor to it. Which is really sad, since Mediterranean food should be bursting with flavor. I have several friends who've been and had the same response.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank BigBlueBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mira Mediterranean Bistro also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing