We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour”

Experience! The Finger Lakes Tours
Ranked #1 of 8 Food & Drink in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Specializing in high-quality, personalized, and guided tours in the Finger Lakes. Our experiences include wine tours, gorge and waterfall tours, boat cruising, and history tours of the area.Our goal is to have you experience the region as the locals do, appreciating its regional bounty, natural beauty, cultural opportunities and historical significance.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift
Lisbon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We had walking constraints and Elizabeth customized the tour for us! We had a great view of the gorgeous!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CAOS_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    20
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best way to experience the Finger Lakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I found a list of tours on a Google search and USA Today article popped up. After reviewing a few of the websites, this company seemed like the best bet. I signed up for the tour just 4 days before it. I signed up for the $115 Culinary Wine Tour on Cayuga, which seemed like the best bet also I know nothing about wine pairings so this seemed like a good way to learn. We promptly got picked up at the holiday inn in downtown ithaca. There were people from as far away as Ohio.

We loaded up into the van once we all signed the waiver. I was pleasantly surprised to find snacks and filled up water bottles which we got to keep. Our tour guide for the day, Chris, was really awesome and knowledgeable about the areas and each of the wineieries we went to.

We went to three wineieries during the day: Sheldrake winery for the first course, Cayuga Ridge Estate for lunch, and Americana Wines for our dessert. I probably tried close to 20 wines over the course of the day. Everything was delicious. I ended up buy 6 bottles over the course of the day and my boyfriend bought 7 bottles. Chris was awesome and carried and stored our bottles for us for each location. Chris was really awesome and took us to see Takawanda Falls in Ithaca on our way back.

We even got a framed picture which was taken at our first wine stop. Learned so much about wine that I haven't been able to get just from going to wine festivals which are always packed with people. I loved the wine tour at the 2nd location where they showed us how they make the wines. Price seems steep to most but definitely worth the money and its the best way to travel around the Finger Lakes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceFL, Owner at Experience! The Finger Lakes Tours, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you Jane, for taking the time to write this detailed review! You really captured the essence of our tour and how we try to deliver an experience that is above and beyond anything else available in the area. We really appreciate it, and look forward to your return!

One note to readers: The falls we visit at the end of this tour is Taughannock Falls, our fabulous 215 ft waterfall, just outside of Ithaca. A must see!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“6+ Hours, 4 Wineries, Countless Wines to Sample”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Cayuga Wine Trail West "Taste & Learn" tour took us to the Cayuga Ridge, Hosmer, Goose Watch, and Sheldrake Point Wineries. Each offered something a little different, all offered many, many samples. Among the advantages of going on a tour like this is that you're with a small group, everyone's friendly, the tour guide (the effervescent and engaging Stephanie was ours) has all sorts of information about the Ithaca area, and at the wineries you're typically shown around and/or served by one of the owners. There are small food samples to go with the wine (it might be cheese chunks, or cheese and jam, or even chocolate), and Steph offered us chips and other snacks, but this is mainly a wine tour, so don't expect a full meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Devorah33851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, NY
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our tour guide, Elizabeth was great. She was very interesting and a wealth of information. She really gave us a great idea of what the Finger Lakes Region is all about

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael & Linds... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagleville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Tour of Fabulous Falls Above Cayuga”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Elizabeth gave an amazing tour of the area, and she was a really nice person! We were in Ithaca to visit Cornell as prospective college students, and this helped us get a feel for the area!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Experience! The Finger Lakes Tours also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 
Pittsford, Finger Lakes
Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Experience! The Finger Lakes Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing