We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frogs Way Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 September 2013

An idyllic place to stay. Ecovillage is a group of houses amid beautiful fields and gardens. The room was comfortable for two adults and a little one on an air mattress. Each morning we enjoyed breakfast of bagels, fresh local fruits (for example, grapes right off the vines outside), yogurt, and juice at one of the garden picnic tables. The house had a fantastic library of books on ecology and sustainability and lots of games for our little one. A perfect home base for exploring the richness of the Finger Lakes region (just 30 minutes from Watkins Glen, 10 minutes from downtown Ithaca).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed for three nights late July. The property is beautiful! My daughter and I took advantage of the trails to hike and she ran early morning. Her boyfriend loved the pond and the kayak. The vegetable garden was incredible. It was so much fun just walking outside and picking our own berries. Elan and family could not have been more accommodating. Our daughter and her boyfriend really enjoyed using the hot tub late at night. Although this is not a place everyone would love, if you like nature and are in for an adventure I would encourage you to try the place out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The location was lovely and serene. The rooms are in a basement and it's nicely decorated, lots of books for reading the subject is nature and the environment. The kitchen area is small and the bathroom sink doubles as a kitchen sink. The kitchen table only seats 2 and even that's tight. The fridge is stocked with bagels, fruits and granola's and all were very good. It's not air conditioned and it was a very warm evening and a bit uncomfortable for sleeping, fans were provided. The grounds are fun to walk and if you plan on hanging out in the area for a couple of days this is a nice home base. If you are just using it to spend a night and then move on a motel or hotel is easier. I found a hotel for equal value with a continental breakfast with air and wifi because our particular goal was sightseeing and sleeping and moving on. But again if you plan on relaxing in the gardens for afternoons and taking walks along the grounds this will be very nice. Bring lawn chairs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renee g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

There's no doubt that Ithaca is gorge(ous). At Frog's Way in Ithaca's Ecovillage we had the opportunity to re-experience Ithaca in a whole, new way! Nestled in the midst of meadows and tall trees, Ecovillage in Ithaca enables one to experience living in harmony with nature. The surroundings are quiet and sounds of nature abound. Yet, the B&B is located at a comfortable distance from Cornell Campus and downtown Ithaca (if you are driving). TCAT buses run in the area, but are probably not as frequent.

At Frog's Way, it was a pleasure to meet the owner, Elan and his family. Upon entering the common area of the B&B, we were greeted by fresh-cut flowers from the garden. Elan went out of his way to ensure that we were comfortable, and even helped set up an extra bed for our son, complete with colorful quilts! The room itself is lively, with huge windows overlooking the meadows and a valley. The window lets in plenty of sunlight during the day, and you can enjoy watching the stars at night!

On the day we arrived at Frog's Way, we were running a little late and could not join in for the community dinner as originally planned. Elan saved a healthy dinner for us so we had some waiting for us when we arrived :) Likewise, the D.I.Y. breakfast options were nutritious and enjoyable (homemade granola with yoghurt, cereal, fruits, bagel with spreads, etc.). As indicated in some other reviews, there are quite a few organic products to be experienced at Frog's Way. Plus, there are plenty of interesting books, travel information and board games that guests have access to.

Overall, our stay at Frog's Way was refreshing, nurturing and we are very grateful for the wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Ecovillage is developed based on sustainability principles, so as far as indoor spaces are concerned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TO_Trio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Lavender Room for two nights and three days in early June 2013. It’s a lovely room with a nice, peaceful view. The kitchen was well stocked with healthy coffee, tea, juices, breakfast items, and snacks. We didn’t need to ask for a thing while staying there. Everything was clean and welcoming! And bonus: eco-living!

Please note that is a quiet, respectful area. The B&B is in the basement of the owner’s house. The land is gorgeous to walk around and explore. It was an extremely relaxing stay. Everyone we encountered in the EcoVillage was very friendly. We were not bothered by anyone and never felt like we were intruding when we encountered others. Also, the owner of the Frog’s Way went out of his way to give suggestions about local attractions, places to eat, things to do, etc.

The only con was that when a family of three stayed in the Peach Room next to us, it got a little crowded because there were now five people sharing a small kitchen and one bathroom. But we made it work!

The Village of Song were Frog's Way is located was a quick drive from The Commons and other local attratctions in Ithaca. We found it very easy to get around with the help of guidebooks and the GPS on my iPhone.

I would stay here again and would recommend to friends and family who like a casual, intimate B&B atmosphere!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HDCinema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

A friend and I recently stayed at Frog's Way while travelling through the Finger Lakes. The place was bright and airy, and it's location within EcoVillage Ithaca made it a fascinating place to stay. We walked around the village and found everyone very friendly. Owner Elan is friendly and gracious. There was ample food for breakfast, all organic and local. It's a select and make your own affair from the refrigerator--with ample and interesting choices. There is a great notebook with information about local sights and resources, as well as information about EcoVillage. We could have joined a community dinner that night at EcoVillage, but had prior plans to eat at Moosewood Restaurant. I'd highly recommend Frog's Way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RushTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Staying at Frog's Way has been an economical and convenient bed and breakfast the two times I have visited Cornell University in the last 6 months. The proprietor Elan is a pleasant and straight forward gentleman, making the stay in his home comfortable and enjoyable. If you are sharing space with other guests expect that you must accommodate others for use of kitchen/bathroom area. If you are flexible enough to do this, your stay should be enjoyable. Also, EcoVillage is a marvel for those who are curious about sustainable living and intentional communities.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
2.6 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#11 of 22 in Ithaca
70 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
4.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
#16 of 22 in Ithaca
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 22 in Ithaca
223 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frogs Way Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frogs Way Bed and Breakfast

Address: 211 Rachel Carson Way, Ithaca, NY 14850
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range: £61 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bright, peaceful, "green" inn has spectacular views, miles of trails, a clear swimmable pond, children’s playgrounds, and hot tub, on 175 acres, 2 miles from downtown Ithaca. It’s part of an inspiring co-housing neighborhood, with a car-free commons, at Ecovillage at Ithaca. Our kitchen is stocked with a healthful breakfast of local, seasonal, homemade organic foods. You can bring and prepare food as well. Our whole house (6 bdr) or parts is available for special occasions. You will come away nurtured and inspired. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing