We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True hospitality”

Mia Tapas Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 261 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Mia restaurant features fine cuisine from many Asian countries in a unique and beautiful atmosphere. At Mia we offer an eclectic menu and when available we pride ourselves in using local produce, sustainably harvested seafood, and hormone & antibiotic free meats for our Slow Food Pan-Asian cuisine.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True hospitality”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Exquisitely delicious and inventive food! The smoked salmon samosas were wonderful in that Thai red curry sauce that I still dream about! Staff was so friendly and accommodating even though we were there so late and lost all track of time!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Taraleecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    56
    18
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance, some really good dishes”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Same guy who opened Just a Taste (among many other Ithaca restaurants). An Asia fusion restaurant that has an ambitious menu. Great ambiance (I can definitely see it as a great date night option). The dahl dish was phenomenal. Skip the green papaya salad. So much on the menu to keep it interesting. Definitely worth a repeat.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank StuckOnTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
192 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Lots of choices with tapas”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A great thing about tapas is that you can try lots of different things at one sitting. We shared six dishes and they were all very good. The drinks were very good. I enjoyed a flight of 3 different sakes, all tasty.
A scallop dish in a wonton wrap was my favorite.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fauxqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“disappointed”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I've been to Ithaca six times in eight mos. First trip I ate at Mia two nites in a row - 2nd becoz it was their "tasting dinner". On previous visits I would have given five stars on all accounts. Tonight, I was disappointed (I volunteer to come to Ithaca for work, just to eat dinner). The service was "crap" - primarily because the waiter was inattentive to the point of being rude. I judge waiters to some extent based on how full my wine glass is - if it goes empty, it's a problem; tonight I had to call the waiter back as he wondered off past me. When I responded to the ? how was my dinner, I stated it was dry but generally okay - I received NO response whatsoever. I ordered from the tapas menu, which I have not previouisly done. While the beet salad was very good (particular the candied ginger), the quail tandoori was horribly dry and the pork tenderloin satay dry and over spiced. I've three more dinners in Ithaca - I wont be back to Mia this week and will question going back during the next visit; if I do, I will likely not pick from the tapas menu and, hopefully, a more pleasant/attentive waiter will await me.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tapastraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good family meal”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The food is outstanding and the drinks are hand made. Expensive , hmmmmm, maybe , but worth it. The shrimp entree and the tom yum jia soup is off the hook.

Helpful?
Thank JLewisUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mia Tapas Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Mia Tapas Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing