We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inconsistent take-out pizza” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scale House Brewery

Scale House Brewery
Ranked #142 of 260 Restaurants in Ithaca
Cuisines: American, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
A TripAdvisor Member
“Inconsistent take-out pizza”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Northeast Pizza in the Scale House is our closest non-franchise pizza purveyor, and we've ordered dozens of pizzas from them since they opened.

I'm not terribly picky about pizza, but lately I've been so incredibly disappointed that I'm giving up. Every now and again you'll get a tasty pizza with sauce that has good flavor, cheese (or other toppings) distributed reasonably well, and a crust that is cooked through. But lately, getting a good pizza there has become the equivalent of winning the lottery--it's a rare event. More often than not, we end up with a soggy, tasteless mess.

In an effort to ensure that the pizza is well enough baked that we can at least get it out of the box using a spatula, we've asked for it "well done." (This is a sure sign of desperation, is it not?)

No luck.

Our last order was so undercooked in the center that I couldn't even scoop it out with a pancake turner--and the parts that were baked enough to be eaten turned out to be tasteless. (I honestly think the "sauce" was uncooked, unadulterated tomato sauce.)

Ordering pizza for take-out shouldn't be the dining equivalent of playing roulette, so we'll be trying elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Second time is not a charm”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I recently ate here for the second time, the first time being a couple of months ago. Both the quality of the food and the service where down from the first time. My calzone didn't have much taste to it. The pizza was ok, but nothing spectacular. After the food arrived, we never heard from the server until the check arrived.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pghphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Pizza Beer and Live Music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Excellent Pizza and Service. They brew their own beer in small batches. The night we went, they were out of IPA's, but had a good bottled selection...went with a local brew from Ithaca Beer Co. (Also listed in Trip Advisors). My wife on the other hand, had no problem with her beer selection. There was live music from local talent, which may be so-so, but its a crap shoot at a place like this. Would definitely go again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gordon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good spot for a beer and a casual bite to eat.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

We were staying in a nearby hotel and found this place. Their house microbrews were very good. Food is standard pub fare. Average. It was kareoke night, so that was good for a laugh.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerNJ201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

In reading the other reviews, I see that they go back a ways. Unfortunately, this was the most disappointing Ithaca restaurant we've eaten in for years. The low point? My wife's turkey club sandwich. And as she put it: "How can you ruin a turkey club sandwich?" The turkey was cheap pressed meat. And I, being a big fan of microbreweries was equally disappointed. My burger was done to order, but griddle fried and lacking in flavor. The only bright spot was the new and genuine restaurant manager. I hope he can manage to turn things around.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robertsonj55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scale House Brewery also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Scale House Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing