We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant way to spend a few hours”

Cayuga Nature Center
Ranked #24 of 62 things to do in Ithaca
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Cayuga Nature Center, a public education venue of the Paleontological Research Institution (PRI), provides an opportunity for nature enthusiasts of all ages to learn about environmental and outdoor education in a fun and engaging way.Exhibits at Cayuga Nature Center enhance the amazing educational resources the outdoor world provides; since merging with PRI in 2011, renovated indoor and outdoor exhibits have transform the Nature Center into an engaging, dynamic center for nature, science, and recreation. Our visitors will use all of their senses to learn about the complexity of our environment, participate in preserving and protecting Earth’s resources, and more fully understand their roles in our world.
Markham, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pleasant way to spend a few hours”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stopped by to visit on our way to a state park. We all enjoyed the exhibits that the centre has to offer. The highlight was the treehouse and playing hide and seek in it (with the parents). There weren't too many butterflies, but the ones we observed were fun to watch.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MaddyMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    12
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Union City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun for kids”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Fun for kids and relaxing for adults. Had fun in the treetops structure and all the hands on exhibits inside. Didn't see any butterflies but it was a rainy day when we went.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindenhurst, New York
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Really only for very young children”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Stopped by with my teenaged sons. Thank goodness it was only $2 each because we only spent about 20 minutes. Only saw one butterfly in the butterfly exhibit. The other animals are in amateurish enclosures. Nothing special about it. Very young children would have fun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank singlemomoftwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewing, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An interesting way to spend an hour or two..”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

While in town for a wedding, we were looking for something to do with my niece and nephew (3 and 8 years old) and decided to try this. Entry fee was $3 per person and we got to see some pretty impressive taxidermy, walk some trails, see some live birds and reptiles, and visit a HUGE tree house they have on the property. It's not going to blow anyone away, but it is a nice, wholesome way to kill an hour or two!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeSap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nature Lover's Must Stop”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The Cayuga Nature Center is a great place to hike trails and get close to nature. The center has many displays and is a wonderful place to hold birthday parties for youngsters. Naturalists will bring in unique live animals to learn about and touch - lots of fun for kids and adults.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cayuga Nature Center also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Cayuga Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing