We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting Museum, great view - Free” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johnson Museum of Art

Johnson Museum of Art
Ranked #8 of 59 things to do in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Cornell University's Herbert F. Johnson Museum of Art in Ithaca, NY, houses more than 35,000 works of art in a historic I. M. Pei building.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
South Salem, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum, great view - Free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The comments from other reviewers are “spot-on”

Parking - Very limited don’t expect to get one of the few parking spots. There are about five right in front and a few more on the other side of the road. We found this common all over the campus. The staff at the desk was very helpful and provided change for the parking meters.

Security - Somebody wrote “Security is tight, watching like a hawk and even following you around to make sure you don't touch or take pictures of anything not allowed.” That was my experience too.

Photos - Some exhibits on the 2nd and 5th floor allow for pictures without flash. Unlike most museums the signs regarding cameras are very discrete.

The Museum - The Building itself is a piece of art and the views are great. I found the exhibition of Asian art to be especially interesting.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank grump51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    46
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best view in Ithaca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Ok-we went for the art museum but were totally blown away by the views. Parking can be a hassle here. There are meters in front of the museum that are free on weekends,once you register at the inside desk, but they are few maybe five? We were lucky to find one open. Admission was free with a box on the wall if you'd like to make a donation. Security is tight, watching like a hawk and even following you around to make sure you don't touch or take pictures of anything not allowed. Some exhibits are allowed for pictures without flash so do bring a camera. When we went in May 2014 there were various exhibits featuring the earth (reinforcing some of what we saw previous at Museum of the Earth). Our favorite involved picking up clear tablets/slates with white gloves and holding them over a projection that then focused showing endangered/extinct animals called what is missing? They had another exhibit focused on food and water that had famous quotes from George Orwell to the Koran. Really getting the audience thinking about conservation. More traditional exhibits featured ancient coins, textiles, sculptures etc. There is an outdoor patio with lights on the ceiling that flash in different configurations that I wish we could have see at night. The view from there is great and you can get some great pictures of the Cornell campus/hills. But the fifth floor view is just breathtaking. You can even see Cayuga lake!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wrightbros360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, MA
Level Contributor
500 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Interesting Art Museum on Cornell Campus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

The Johnson Museum is not only a wonderful piece of architecture but is also filled with some wonderful art. There is an excellent exhibition of Asian art and some excellent modern pieces. Definitely worth a visit if you are in Ithaca.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeb1Falmouth_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
187 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Free Art Museum ....Need I say More?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This museum is free and theres no pressure to give a donation if you would like to. Its right in the heart of the campus and easy to find. :However, parking is terrible..theres very few spots in front of the museum; so you might have to walk a distance to get to the museum. There are two building that you can visit. I only went into the main one which consisted of several floors of different types of art work. It took about 1 hour to see it all...it is worth seeing if your on campus. There are different types of art media and also aritifacts from earlier time periods and from around the world which was very interesting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank geminigirlNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
263 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Small but tranquil beauty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Come for the art and artifacts but stay for the incredible view from the top floor. The views of the lake, town and campus are unrivaled.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dkazooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnson Museum of Art also viewed

Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Johnson Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing