We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay that I'll never forget!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The William Henry Miller Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Very cosy and homely house that just invites you to sit down, curl up, make yourself comfortable in the couches and the chairs. Our room was in the carriage house and it was comfortable with a huge bathroom. There was always iced tea to help cool us down in the afternoons, various kinds of pies, cookies, and other desserts in the evenings. Breakfast was a fabulous affair with a different starter and main each morning, each exquisitely prepared. Our host Lynette didn't let us get away with not socializing with the other guests in the morning, and it was a good thing she didn't because we really enjoyed chatting and lingering over breakfast with the other guests as well. Really really loved our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnYeoHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millerinn, Owner at The William Henry Miller Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We are thrilled that you not only enjoyed your stay but found the house to be comfortable and inviting! That's just what I have always aimed for --- no stuffy furniture here!
And we are so glad that you didn't mind sitting with the other guests! It was such an interesting conversation that it would have been a shame to not participate! We do have guests who request a separate table so that they don't have to converse and we're always happy to comply. But it was so wonderful to meet you (and you did come the furthest!!)
We sure hope you'll come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay at the William Henry Miller Inn. My sister and her husband stayed in the Gardner Suite and we were in the Sanctuary. The rooms were spacious and clean with wonderful jacuzzi tubs. The real gem of this place, though, is Lynette, who makes you feel at home and well taken care of. My husband must be on a gluten free diet, and Lynette concocted the most delicious treats for him. She is hilarious to boot! The coffee is strong and available at all times, the homemade desserts are to die for, and the breakfasts are inventive. Come prepared to eat. Already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: Book a room with a two-person jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quirklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lefty303, Owner at The William Henry Miller Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We are soooo glad that you enjoyed your stay! We loved having you here!
Thank you for your kind words but I have to give lots of credit to our incredible staff. Katie, Kate and Dave do so much of the food prep that they deserve lots of credit.
While I did do much of the baking, most of the credit goes to them!
We will so look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Visited the William Henry Miller House for the second time, and already looking forward to another visit. A great location walking distance to shops, dining and so much more. The property is a fantastic nineteenth century brick beauty that has been updated to offer guests both extraordinary comfort and service. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the "all night" desert buffet was worth the trip.

Lynnette Scofield, the owner, is a breathe of fresh air for a frequent traveler and she knows Ithaca inside out from the university to the lake and back. Her Innkeeper, Katie is a smiling example of what service is all about. Kate (not to be confused with Katie) checked us in late in the day and she could easily have been the owner, knowledgeable, efficient and friendly all at once.

We can only say thank you for confirming our suspicion that great Inns are the way to travel!

Room Tip: Loved the 2nd floor Sanctuary, king with elegant spacious whirlpool spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 02631travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millerinn, Owner at The William Henry Miller Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Not only are we delighted that you returned to The Miller Inn but that you so enjoyed your stay!
And, thanks so much for mentioning our terrific employees.
Katie and Kate both exemplify what innkeeping should be---caring, detail oriented, and such fun to work with.
We are making lots of changes in the Inn and do hope that you'll return to see the improvements!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I've stayed at the William Henry Miller Inn five times. Each time was perfect. The rooms are charming and unique, with amenities such as mouth wash and make-up remover in addition to regular items such as shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. One of the king rooms has a large bathroom with jacuzzi. A special treat: each night the Inn features a variety of delicious baked goods --for free. Breakfasts are multi-course and, again, delicious. The owner and staff are welcoming, cheerful, and accommodating. They go the extra-mile to make sure that your stay is relaxing in every way. This Inn feels like home -- but better.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j7768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lefty303, Owner at The William Henry Miller Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

We are so happy that you return to the Inn and enjoy your stays!
Our goal is to be sure we have everything possible that our guests need! We appreciate your comment about the amenities that are found in the rooms. But we always have little things tucked away too---like a yoga mats or sunscreen!
Thanks for your kind words about the desserts. Katie and Kate are two wonderful bakers who manage to amaze me daily (Espresso Meringues??? Who would've thought???)
Thank you again. We appreciate you as a guest and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Lynette was a very gracious and informative hostess. The home is gorgeous and large with two living rooms for relaxation! Breakfast is leisurely and delicious! The Inn is close to many wonderful restaurants and downtown!

Thank abby58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Lynette is a knowledgeable and very friendly hostess. She makes you feel welcome and relaxed the minute you enter! Coffee and tea are always available 24/7, and a mid-evening freshly made dessert sits nearby tempting the palette! Two living room/dens are open downstairs for enjoyment and conversation and just sipping coffee!

Room Tip: Ask for Dane's Room. It is spacious, at the top of the stairs, and very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abby58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lefty303, Owner at The William Henry Miller Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

We so appreciate your kind review!
I am delighted that you are happy with the twenty-four hour coffee and tea selection. We try to have as many options as possible with syrups; assortment of teas and even homemade marshmallows for the hot chocolate.
My personal love is a good cup of coffee and our guests can always find that and some sort of goodie (especially on the dessert buffet at night).
Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Lynette Scofield's William Henry Miller's Inn this past week. We were travelling with our two Lakeland Terriers. Lynette is a wonderful host, genuinely kind-hearted and attentive. Our rooms (we stayed in the Suite in the carriage house) were extremely comfortable and warm.The breakfasts were imaginative and scrumptious. We want to go back to this Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lefty303, Owner at The William Henry Miller Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thanks so much for your review!
We love dogs and we sure did love yours! Millie (our resident rescue) and Eduardo The Cat (he really does love dogs too) are thrilled that you visited.
And so glad that you enjoyed breakfasts! It is such a fun part of our job to come up with fun and delicious ideas for our guests.
Thanks again and from Millie, "woof"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
0.8 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
0.2 mi away
Ithaca Marriott Downtown on the Commons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#11 of 22 in Ithaca
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Ithaca
The Hotel Ithaca
#14 of 22 in Ithaca
514 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The William Henry Miller Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William Henry Miller Inn

Address: 303 N Aurora St, Ithaca, NY 14850-4201
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range: £118 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning William Henry Miller Inn is located in the heart of downtown Ithaca. Built by Cornell University's first architecture student, the details are stunning--chestnut woodwork, Tiffany stained glass, original shutters. Our full breakfast features all homemade breads, homemade English Muffins and bagels accompanied by homemade jams. Our evening dessert buffet is the perfect way to end the day. We are happy to accommodate dietary requests. Within walking distance of fifty restaurants, Cornell University, Cascadilla Gorge and just a short hop to Ithaca College, we are really central to everything. Providing concierge service and a business center, parking is right on site. Parking and wireless are included in the rate. Proud to be a member of Select Registry and Lynnette Scofield received the Innkeeper of the Year Award by Select Registry. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing