We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best craft beer”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Ithaca Beer Co.

Ithaca Beer Co.
Ranked #13 of 59 things to do in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not the best craft beer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Someone should take away the hops from the brewmaster. There's no finesse here at all. I've been to plenty of breweries around the world and never usually walked away disappointed but here I did. This really is a money spinning brewpub with bad beer. I can't comment on the food, it looked fine and the place certainly was busy but my year round selection of beers was poor, I actually left some which is unheard of. The apricot wheat beer may not have had the excess hops of the others in the flight but it had an unpleasant soapy aftertaste that had nothing to do with glass cleaners. It didn't help that it was watery with no body at all. Perhaps the other beers might have been better but I wasn't sticking around to spend good money and find out, besides, I'd already noticed a trend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank carranj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    50
    9
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun brewery tour and great beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

I highly recommend the (free!) brewery tour. It was really interesting, and the group host was SO funny. We had 2 samples at the end - Flower Power IPA and Nut Brown. The only reason I gave it 4 stars was because the restaurant menu was somewhat small with few options. The variety of beers available and the merchandise make up for it though. I will definitely be coming back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cupcakelover4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merced, California
1 review
“Great selection of beers as well as reasonable pricing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

There's nothing better than getting a growler of your favorite local beer, freshly made. Their selection of beers can also be found at the brewhouse bar and grill in the commons.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DM1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely check this out if you like beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stongly recommend the brewery tour, it was a lot of fun, quick, and out host was funny. Good beer, and good food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ontharoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Was in Ithaca helping my granddaughter move into Ithaca College dorm. Went to Ithaca Beer Co. A truly wonderful experience. Service great! Beer -- 11 on a 10 point scale! You gotta go. One caveat -- they renamed the streets recently so if you can't find it on your GPS, just call them and they will give you directions. Well worth the effort!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ithaca Beer Co. also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Ithaca Beer Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing