We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brewery for the whole family!”
Review of Ithaca Beer Co.

Ithaca Beer Co.
Ranked #12 of 61 things to do in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Quinby, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brewery for the whole family!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stopped here on a family vacation those of us old enough did the tasting and we all enjoyed it. The ones who weren't old enough enjoyed the root and ginger beer. Haven't found any Rootbeer as good since, we're ruined LOL

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank VAYankee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    53
    10
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
earlville, ny
Level Contributor
207 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“go for the tour and stay to have one”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

call ahead and sign up for tour, takes an hour, informative and get to try beers. a really funky bar, and pizza joint. spanking clean! huge! can easily fit a group. They let you sample beers and they are great at describing and helping you pick.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lorri p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Smooth brews, tasty food, quality conversation”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This review represents the most recent visit of repeat visitors to Ithaca Beer Co. The staff is always pleasant and informative. The atmosphere is divine for either grabbing a beer after work or, when the weather permits, enjoying dinner outside with friends.

After opening the new venue, Ithaca Beer Co. continues to excel. The menu is fantastic and compliments the region and craft beer well.

Regardless of the season, make Ithaca Beer Co. a stop on your tour of the Finger Lakes.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SnowBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beer Flites, Anyone?”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We live only a dozen miles from Ithaca Beer Co. and we had been drinking the beer for years, but this was our 1st visit to the year old brewery pub. It's more than a pub, with a nicely landscaped outdoor area which included a bocci court, fire pit sitting area, and other well-placed table groupings.
The inside has 2 large seating areas and an expansive bar.
It was lunchtime and the joint was jumping with beer tours, college students, parents and seasoned citizens like us! We each ordered a different flite of beer, along with an appetizer sized order of fries with an aioli dipping sauce.
Even though it was crowded, the service was prompt and upbeat. The fries were delicious.
We will definitely go back for a proper meal, and more excellent beer. My favorite is still the Ithaca Beer Apricot Wheat!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not the best craft beer”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Someone should take away the hops from the brewmaster. There's no finesse here at all. I've been to plenty of breweries around the world and never usually walked away disappointed but here I did. This really is a money spinning brewpub with bad beer. I can't comment on the food, it looked fine and the place certainly was busy but my year round selection of beers was poor, I actually left some which is unheard of. The apricot wheat beer may not have had the excess hops of the others in the flight but it had an unpleasant soapy aftertaste that had nothing to do with glass cleaners. It didn't help that it was watery with no body at all. Perhaps the other beers might have been better but I wasn't sticking around to spend good money and find out, besides, I'd already noticed a trend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank carranj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ithaca Beer Co. also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Ithaca Beer Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing