We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Private Hotel + Pure Food Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Private Hotel + Pure Food Villa
Ranked #1 of 17 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Michael was a delightful host and great chef! The property was beautiful, eclectic and welcoming. All Yogi's could certainly appreciate the history and beautiful sanctuary Michael crafted with boulders, crystals, and sacred statues. Was a fun off the map experience! Loved the space and staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
84
163
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The most enjoyable and unique hotel/bed and breakfast I have ever had the good fortune of staying at . It is blend of large log cabin the inside of which is sparse appearing and still has all the modern world comforts .The decor is 'Eclectic' and in places very fascinating .
The whole property is like wilderness garden and still within a few minutes of wherever one needs to go in Ithaca .
Michael adds to the appeal and charm of this place . Each day he made an excellent breakfast of our choice , the like of which one will be hard pressed to get even in five star Hotels .His vegetarian Omelettes were awesome ,and once we jokingly asked him to make Flatbread filled with Cauliflower and spices (Gobhi Parantha) , and he made it for us the next day and enjoyed learning from the process .
The daily conversation with him during breakfast was both educational and very interesting on wide range of topics .
thank you Michael for making our trip memorable .


If you get a chance to

Room Tip: you cannot go wrong with any of them , we had 3 rooms and we all enjoyed our stay very much
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manoj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Michael greeted me upon arrival...friendly detailed not wanting me to miss a thing. The place was so peaceful and relaxing...just beautiful.....the food preparation outstanding....definitely a must see and stay getaway if you are anywhere near Ithaca...only wish I could of stayed longer...Michael is a tremendous host...Be great for couples as a romantic getaway and perfect if you are solo and looking to enjoy peace, tranquility and bliss with great amenities...I would highly recommend it...Jeff K

Room Tip: The log cabin was super
See more room tips
Green Features: Hosts go out of there way to make sure you have everything and are comfortable
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Michael was such a gracious and relaxed host who anticipated our every need before we even thought to ask. Michael's place, the grounds, the room and the food were all so decadent while still being wild and earthy at heart. Thank you for making our stay so wonderful Michael! We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kikokaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

It’s a rarity when one place offers all the necessary ingredients for an idyllic, comfortable, and hospitable stay. The expansive property delivers respite, a terrific setting for relaxation, and immaculate accommodations without the fuss—tasteful and warm. It’s evident much love was poured into Private Hotel and the host, Michael, is keen on ensuring all needs are met. Given his background as a chef, it’s a given that breakfast will delight. He’s incredibly thoughtful and always a step ahead. There’s much ground to cover and plenty of opportunities for seclusion and reflection. The icing on the cake is proximity to downtown Ithaca and area attractions. While I have not personally experienced other accommodations in the area, I wouldn’t consider staying elsewhere when in the neighborhood again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EscapistNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had three requirements: Quiet, Beautiful Setting and Clean Food, and were delighted on all fronts. The Barn House is spectacular and overlooks beautiful woods and a pond. Some potential negatives: no TV (turned out to be a blessing!), you may have to spend 10 minutes telling our overly solicitous host what you want (but then you get to eat it just the way you want it), showers in two our our three rooms were funky (but we had a cool, huge tub), air conditioner was loud (but we mostly didn't need it), and one room had the toilet in the room. All told, we were very well taken care of and will probably go back - which is saying something, since we rarely go anywhere.

Room Tip: I think it's called the Blue Room. Just ask Michael Casper what's the best room on the Barn...
See more room tips
Green Features: High. They compost, which is nice. For some reason, I have to write 50 words about this?! Think again, Trip Advisor.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillWeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed one weekend at Private Hotel, and it was my cup of tea! The location is gorgeous, very peaceful and quiet, pastoral with pond. The room was all panelled and floored in beautiful wood, very bright with a pond view. The breakfast is sumptuous with fruit and juice and coffee and a hot entree--delicious. The owner is kind, warm, thoughtful and so hospitable. Michael will take care of you--I was very comfortable there. It is very safe. I was completely at ease. Michael is an amazing person and he is on top of everything at the hotel. This is where I will always stay in Ithaca. I have never stayed at such a rustic but elegant inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
7.3 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#10 of 22 in Ithaca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ithaca
10.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ithaca
4.7 mi away
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Private Hotel + Pure Food Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Private Hotel + Pure Food Villa

Property: Private Hotel + Pure Food Villa
Address: 429 Bostwick Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-9352
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael Casper, an entrepreneurial hotelier and restaurateur, recently opened Private Hotel and Pure Food. This unique, small boutique hotel, with chef's private kitchen, is tucked away in the countryside just outside downtown Ithaca. Fusing post, beam, pole, log and contemporary architecture, the newly opened hotel has received rave reviews for its sensitive and sophisticated style. The common areas are comfortable and homey, accented by Michael’s sense of whimsy. A chef in his own right, Michael creates and prepares a unique menu comprised of organic and vegan ingredients that are primarily locally grown and harvested. An ecclectic combination of rustic and refined, sophisticated and casual, modern yet remote, Private Hotel and Pure Food appeals to the discerning individual who desires high end appointments, the finest in bedding and linen, and the world’s freshest and healthiest food ... all provided in a serene, tranquil environment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing