We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ithaca
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Private Hotel + Pure Food Villa
Ranked #2 of 18 Ithaca B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2014

There is not much left to say after reading some of the other rave reviews. Michael runs a quality show! He and his staff are so friendly and helpful in every way. He even got us help when we had car trouble. As others have mentioned, he has led an interesting life and there are stories to go with all of the wonderful furnishings and decorations. Michael is a kind and generous man and his peaceful spirit runs through the Private Hotel +Pure Food. It would be very difficult to be there and not feel good about life.

Room Tip: Our family had two rooms in the Gables House and it was perfect, a bit of common area with kitchen f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 544Carla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

It's hard to imagine that a place so close to so many things can make you feel so removed and peaceful. Fancy without the fluff, sophisticated without the snob, earthy without being rustic..... The Private Hotel & Pure Food is all of this and much more. Along with the amazing accommodations, where there lies a story in every corner, comes the polite and quietly professional staff as well as Michael, the owner, who is absolutely delightful to sit and chat with. The common dining room allowed us to linger over a delicious breakfast and talk with another family that was also staying at the Hotel. Our few short days seemed as though they were meant to be.
We even opted out of going out to dinner one night (and picked up quick takeout) just so we could spend more time sitting on the patio and taking in all the property had to offer.
We will definitely plan a return visit!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. Call Michael, the owner for room recommendations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgscpa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Michael and staff were wonderful and accommodating, the Gables suite was a perfect match to our taste and desired comfort level, our bed was amazing, and breakfast was delicious from the fresh brewed coffee, fresh berries, the fresh squeezed orange juice to the best eggs benedict I've ever experienced. The fitness center consisted of 100+ acres of beautiful land that you can explore. We chose the Private Hotel + Pure Food B&B due to its excellent ratings and are happy to add another "excellent" to Michaels list. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The Gables room is spacious and very comfortable. We will try the Blue Room next time as it seems to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sqcgrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were looking to get out of nyc for a quiet getaway. This was the perfect place for us to slow down, relax and spend some time together. Michael went out of his way to accommodate us, from vegan breakfasts consisting of fresh-pressed green juice and live oats to recommendations for hikes around the property and things to do in Ithaca (which is only a short drive away for easy dinners in town). Great room, very comfortable, loved everything about it. We only wished we could have stayed longer. Thank you, Michael!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmf34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My friends and I just spent a wonderful weekend at the Private Hotel + Pure Food. This is truly a unique hotel/b&b. The log buildings are set in a beautiful location a short drive outside of Ithaca, NY. Michael Casper, the owner/chef, and his staff go out of their way to be sure that every guest is well served and pleased. In addition to our delicious made-to-order breakfasts, our group enjoyed dinner Saturday night at the hotel/b&b. We had requested this special meal and planned our own menu. Michael Casper provided a wonderful meal, serving exactly the dishes we had requested and enhancing the menu by adding his own special touches. His flexibility and his desire to serve and please his guests are exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdworldPittsburgh_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Michael was a delightful host and great chef! The property was beautiful, eclectic and welcoming. All Yogi's could certainly appreciate the history and beautiful sanctuary Michael crafted with boulders, crystals, and sacred statues. Was a fun off the map experience! Loved the space and staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The most enjoyable and unique hotel/bed and breakfast I have ever had the good fortune of staying at . It is blend of large log cabin the inside of which is sparse appearing and still has all the modern world comforts .The decor is 'Eclectic' and in places very fascinating .
The whole property is like wilderness garden and still within a few minutes of wherever one needs to go in Ithaca .
Michael adds to the appeal and charm of this place . Each day he made an excellent breakfast of our choice , the like of which one will be hard pressed to get even in five star Hotels .His vegetarian Omelettes were awesome ,and once we jokingly asked him to make Flatbread filled with Cauliflower and spices (Gobhi Parantha) , and he made it for us the next day and enjoyed learning from the process .
The daily conversation with him during breakfast was both educational and very interesting on wide range of topics .
thank you Michael for making our trip memorable .


If you get a chance to

Room Tip: you cannot go wrong with any of them , we had 3 rooms and we all enjoyed our stay very much
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manoj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ithaca hotels
10.3 mi away
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
Econo Lodge - Ithaca
#18 of 22 in Ithaca
92 reviews
7.4 mi away
Argos Inn
Argos Inn
#13 of 22 in Ithaca
71 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Statler Hotel at Cornell University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Inn on Columbia
Inn on Columbia
#3 of 18 in Ithaca
124 reviews
16.1 mi away
Cayuga Lake Front Inn
Cayuga Lake Front Inn
#6 of 18 in Ithaca
84 reviews
4.7 mi away
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Private Hotel + Pure Food Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Private Hotel + Pure Food Villa

Address: 429 Bostwick Rd, Ithaca, NY 14850-9352
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Ithaca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ithaca
Price Range: £150 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michael Casper, an entrepreneurial hotelier and restaurateur, recently opened Private Hotel and Pure Food. This unique, small boutique hotel, with chef's private kitchen, is tucked away in the countryside just outside downtown Ithaca. Fusing post, beam, pole, log and contemporary architecture, the newly opened hotel has received rave reviews for its sensitive and sophisticated style. The common areas are comfortable and homey, accented by Michael’s sense of whimsy. A chef in his own right, Michael creates and prepares a unique menu comprised of organic and vegan ingredients that are primarily locally grown and harvested. An ecclectic combination of rustic and refined, sophisticated and casual, modern yet remote, Private Hotel and Pure Food appeals to the discerning individual who desires high end appointments, the finest in bedding and linen, and the world’s freshest and healthiest food ... all provided in a serene, tranquil environment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing