We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure”

Glenwood Pines Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 261 Restaurants in Ithaca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours
Mariaville Lake, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

While out to the Ithaca Antique Mall we decided to try and find a place to eat lunch. Using Google Maps we found a diner listed a few miles away. Traveling through farm country and down curvy roads we came to the Glenwood Pines Restaurant. The view from the parking lot to the lake down below was beautiful. Walking in we found a rustic bar with seating in the back looking out at the lake. We ordered the fresh bison burger. It came tasting as if it had been cooked over an open fire. A fresh hard roll bun held the burger and fresh tomato and lettuce and delicious cheddar cheese. The French fries were cooked to perfection. And on top of it all, it was inexpensive. Definitely a place to stop and enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    68
    32
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stuffed potatoes”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Visiting Ithaca to move our son in at Cornell, we were looking for a good casual restaurant which was less likely to be crowded. We didn't have to wait for a table, but Glenwood Pines was filled early with local residents who were clearly regulars. The old arcade games and pool table in the room where we sat were a little distracting -- next time I would wait for a table in the dining room, which has lovely views of the lake. Burgers were very good, chicken tenders were average, but the stuffed potatoes were outstanding.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheektowaga, NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Better than your average bar food”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We drove by this nondescript bar/restaurant several times on our vacation. The parking lot was always packed. (A great sign that this is a good restaurant.)

You enter through the bar area and wait to be seated. As many prior reviewers noted, you will wait to be seated...even if there are plenty of tables available. Be patient. Our group of four were seated in the back near a wall full of windows overlooking the lake. Absolutely lovely. However, the table we were seated at was in definite need of a good cleaning. Sticky and tacky are the two words that come to mind.

Our wonderful waitress took our orders in no time at all and our drinks and a basket of bread and butter were on the table in the blink of an eye. All of the food was very tasty and plentiful...and we finished every last bite. I had the vegetarian burger (yummy) while my counterparts opted for shrimp, chicken tenders and a Pinesburger. Our only complaint was with our garden salads. They were absolutely swimming in dressing. If you're ordering a salad, ask for dressing on the side to alleviate this issue.

They have an extensive menu with very reasonable prices for a bar/restaurant. Two of my companions wanted the fish sandwiches that guests at a table next to ours had ordered. Huge doesn't quite describe their size. We would have loved to have ordered desserts (they looked delicious), but we were too full to eat another bite. This restaurant also has a children's menu section which has selections including spaghetti and chicken tenders. The bar area also has several games that will occupy your children during the wait to be seated.

If you are wheelchair-bound or handicapped, it is easy to enter into the restaurant. The bathrooms are very clean and maintained although they may be difficult to enter if you are in a wheelchair.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimber1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It just wouldn't be Ithaca without the Pines”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We can't visit Ithaca without a stop at the Pines. Nothing hits the spot better than a cup of soup, Tully burger and onion rings, finished off with a warm slice of Kentucky Derby pie. This place is great for kids and if you need a break from them, just give them a handful of quarters and send them to play the antique bowling machine or one of the other arcade games.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestview Hills, Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice little stop.”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Just pulled in after driving most of the afternoon. Parking lot was full, so we just sat and waited (not more than 4 mins.). Wait staff flew by frequently and kept asking "how many". It was about a 30 minute wait, but the beer was cold and the burger was good. Most items on menu are battered and/or deep fried, so I wish there was a light, fresh alternative. But it was a nice stop for 2 hungry travelers. And views were pleasant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2maryann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glenwood Pines Restaurant also viewed

 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
Ithaca, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Glenwood Pines Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing